May the light and the colour be!

In ART, CULTURE, EXHIBITION, PERSONALITY
English English French French

Detail of Seville, Brian Clarke, The Art of Light, at the Sainsbury Center, organized in association with HENI. Photo © Matthias Kirchberger.

Brian Clarke is the rock star of stained glass. His creations, where a punk aesthetic mixes with humanistic thought, find themselves enshrined in buildings all over the world. The Abbey of the Fille Dieu, in Romontis bathed in the light that runs through his work. A spectacular exhibition is dedicated to him in London. - Jo Phillips, London.

Brian Clarke is a dangerous man. Well, ok, not really dangerous but he has a cheeky glow in his eyes. And why not ... He is the most famous stained glass artist in the world, and especially the most rock and roll. He has a unique way of working with this medium that he has radically reinvented.

An aesthetics from punk directs his work, although nuanced by some deep and soft notes. He uses sexy, lively colours, and perhaps it would be more accurate to say that he is more of a new romantic. New Romantic, was a trend that closely followed the punk movement, which was born in London art schools and also made its way to the clubs that saw the birth of Boy Georges, amongst others. Personalities who grew up with punk, but took a new path forward, the hard edge angry thrill of punk against a softer, more sensual side. So where punks are all skulls, New romantics would add the flowers! If the punks like the skulls, the New Romantics never forget to put a flower.

This feels so evident in the work of this artist, who is currently having a spectacular exhibition at the Sainsbury Centre in .">Norwich. which just happens to be celebrating its 40th year anniversary at the moment. The building itself is perfect for hosting this exhibition for many reasons. Designed by the architectSir Norman Fosterit is a magnificent example of an experimental structure; an architecture made of prefabricated modules, embedded around a steel frame. Huge glass panels open the building at each end, and let cascades of light flow throughout the structure. An ideal place fora painter of light. After all, the exhibition is called Brian Clarke; The art of light.

So what of the work? Thirty huge stained glass windows are distributed from the mezzanine to the end of the building. And among some historical pieces, alongside some that belong to historical works, form the Sainsbury collections. Sainsbury.

The pieces depict just about everything from anger to love, loss and money; from flowers, taut, anguished outlines of faces to stock exchange numbers listed in glass like tense, anxious faces, to the numbers of the stock markets. Apart from these themes, we also discover stained glass windows representing images made with lead. In some creations, Brian Clarke completely eliminated the lead, while to make others, he only used this material. The fact of having succeeded in creating lead-free stained glass windows magnifies his work, as does the light; the luminous flux passing through the glass panels reinforces the power of the colors of which they are composed. For the teacher For Paul Greenhalgh, director of the center, this work "explores through a pure emotion, all that means to be a human, from the joy, to the loss and the pain".

The artist was born in Oldham and was raised in a spiritual environment. He does not necessarily want to talk about religion when he talks about his work. When one thinks of stained glass, one thinks irrevocably of church, but it is not there that it draws its inspiration. On the other hand, he evokes the work of Marc Chagall (of which we can discover the stained glasses in the cathedral of Rheims, ed), of Sir Basil Spence or even John Piper.

When he was still a young artist of 21, Brian Clarke left for a long journey in Europe and the United States, looking for modern buildings and stained glass, trying to get in touch with the different architects and artists who were the originators of these works. There was no other way, at the time, to learn this type of work. Brian Clarke talks of his bus journeys to small towns in search of contemporary stained glass. What interested him was avant-garde artists and architects. At the time, there was no reference book on this subject, and Instagram did not exist. Architecture is at the center of his universe. In his eyes, this exhibition has "a wonderful circularity," he says, recalling the drawing of the building that his great friend Norman Foster had drawn on a napkin.

Brian Clarke has very often collaborated with Zaha Hadid, Renzo Piano and of course Sir Norman Foster. His work is extensive and includes the stained glass windows of Pfizer building in New York, from the Holocaust Memorial to Darmstadt, Victoria Quarter à Leeds, Linkoping Cathedral in Sweden, THE 'Abbaye de la Fille Dieu, in Romont, Switzerland, or the group lobby Apax at Jermyn Street, in London. He even worked for the pope!

Most of his work concerns his stained glass windows, but sometimes he is asked for works made with other mediums: painted canvases, sculpture, mosaic or tapestry.

To quote Brian Clarke again, the "wonderful circularity" of which he speaks, is not limited to the curl that time does by leading him to exhibit in a building he knew before he was erected. There is a real familiarity of spirit between his work, of a visceral modernity, and this building, which belongs to the same movement of thought. Punk? New Romantic? It does not matter ... This work needs no label. He is simply fabulous.

Brian Clarke, The Art of Light, Sainsbury Center, London, exhibition until October 14.

Jo Phillips is the director of the online magazine Cent. www.centmagazine.co.uk

Chill Out Detail, Brian Clarke: The Art of Light at the Sainsbury Center, organized in association with HENI. Photo © Chris Gascoigne.

Brian Clarke's Grief Detail: The Art of Light at the Sainsbury Center, organized in association with HENI. Photo © Matthias Kirchberger.

Recent Posts

Leave a Comment

Que la lumière et la couleur soient!

 In ART, CULTURE, EXPOSITION, PERSONNALITÉ
English English French French

Detail de Seville, Brian Clarke, The Art of Light, au Sainsbury Centre, organisé en association avec HENI. Photo ©Matthias Kirchberger.

 

Brian Clarke est la rock star du vitrail. Ses créations, où se mêlent une esthétique punk à une pensée humaniste, se retrouvent enchâssés dans des bâtiments du monde entier. L’Abbaye de la Fille Dieu, à Romont, est baignée par la lumière qui traverse son œuvre. Une exposition spectaculaire lui est consacrée à Londres. – Jo Phillips, Londres.

 

Brian Clarke est un homme dangereux. Bon, ok, pas véritablement dangereux mais il a une lueur insolente dans le regard. Et pourquoi pas… Il est l’artiste vitrailliste le plus connu au monde, et surtout le plus rock and roll. Il a une manière unique de travailler avec ce medium qu’il a radicalement réinventé.

Une esthétique punk dirige son travail, bien que nuancée par quelques notes profondes et douces. Il utilise des couleurs sexy, vivantes, et peut-être serait-il plus juste de dire qu’il est un émule des New Romantics, ce courant qui a suivi de près le mouvement punk, qui est né, lui aussi, dans les écoles d’art londoniennes et qui a fait son chemin jusque dans les clubs qui ont vu naître Boy Georges, entre autres. Des personnalités nées avec le punk, mais qui ont choisi un autre chemin, laissant de côté celui de la colère pour aborder un rivage plus sensuel et doux. Si les punks aiment les têtes de mort, les New Romantics n’oublient jamais d’y déposer une fleur.

Tout cela relève de l’évidence quand on est confronté à l’œuvre de cet artiste exposée de manière spectaculaire au Sainsbury Centre, à Norwich. Un lieu qui fête ses 40 ans par ailleurs. Le bâtiment lui-même est parfait pour accueillir cette exposition. Et ce pour plusieurs raisons. Conçu par l’architecte Sir Norman Foster, il s’agit d’un magnifique example de structure expérimentale; une architecture faite de modules préfabriqués, encastrés autour d’une charpente d’acier. D’immenses panneaux de verre ouvrent le bâtiment à chaque extrémité, et laissent couler des cascades de lumière dans l’entier de l’ouvrage. Un lieu idéal pour un peintre de la lumière. D’ailleurs l’exposition s’appelle Brian Clarke; The art of light, l’art de la lumière.

Qu’en est-il de son œuvre exposée justement? Trente immenses vitraux sont répartis depuis la mezzanine jusqu’à l’extrémité du building. Et parmi quelques pièces historiques, on en découvre également certaines qui appartiennent aux collections Sainsbury.

Les pièces dépeignent à peu près tout, de la colère à l’amour, de la perte, à l’argent, des fleurs, comme des visages tendus, angoissés, jusqu’aux chiffres des marchés boursiers.  En dehors de ces thématiques, on découvre également des vitraux représentant des images réalisées au fil de plomb. Dans certaines créations, Brian Clarke a totalement éliminé le plomb, alors que pour en réaliser d’autres, il n’a utilisé que ce matériau. Le fait d’avoir réussi à créer des vitraux sans plomb, magnifie son travail, de même que la lumière; les flux lumineux qui traversent les panneaux de verre renforcent le pouvoir des couleurs dont ils sont composés. Pour le professeur Paul Greenhalgh, directeur du centre, ce travail  “explore à travers une émotion pure, tout ce que signifie être un humain, depuis la joie, jusqu’à la perte et la douleur ».

L’artiste est né à Oldham et a été élevé dans un environnement spirituel. Il n’a pas forcément envie d’évoquer la religion lorsqu’il parle de son travail. Quand on pense à vitrail, on songe irrémédiablement à église, or ce n’est pas là qu’il puise son inspiration. Il évoque en revanche volontiers le travail de Marc Chagall (dont on peut découvrir les vitraux à la cathédrale de Rheims, ndlr), de Sir Basil Spence ou encore John Piper.

Lorsqu’il était encore un jeune artiste de 21 ans, Brian Clarke est parti pour un long périple en Europe et aux Etats-Unis, en quête de bâtiments modernes dotés de vitraux, essayant d’entrer en relation avec les différents architectes et les artistes à l’origine de ces œuvres. Il n’existait pas d’autre manière, à l’époque, d’apprendre ce type de travail. Brian Clarke évoque ses périples en bus qui le menaient dans de petites villes à la recherche de vitraux contemporains. Ce qui l’intéressait, c’était les artistes et les architectes avant-gardiste. A l’époque, il n’existait aucun livre de référence sur ce sujet, et Instagram n’existait pas. L’architecture est au centre de son univers. A ses yeux, cette exposition possède « une merveilleuse circularité », dit-il, en se remémorant le dessin du bâtiment que son grand ami Norman Foster avait dessiné sur une serviette de table.

Brian Clarke a très souvent collaboré avec Zaha Hadid, Renzo Piano et bien sûr Sir Norman Foster. Son travail est vaste et comprend les vitraux du Pfizer building à New York, du Mémorial de l’Holocauste à Darmstadt, du Victoria Quarter à Leeds, de la cathédrale Linkoping en Suède, de L’Abbaye de la Fille Dieu, à Romont, en Suisse, ou encore du lobby du groupe Apax sur Jermyn Street, à Londres. Il a même travaillé pour le pape!

La plupart de ses travaux de commande concerne ses vitraux, mais il arrive qu’on lui demande aussi des œuvres réalisées avec d’autres médiums: les toiles peintes, la sculpture, la mosaïque ou encore la tapisserie.

Pour citer Brian Clarke de nouveau, la « merveilleuse circularité » dont il parle, ne se résume pas à la boucle que fait le temps en le conduisant à exposer dans un bâtiment qu’il a connu avant même qu’il soit érigé. Il existe une véritable familiarité d’esprit entre son travail, d’une modernité viscérale, et ce bâtiment, qui relève du même mouvement de pensée. Punk? New Romantic? Peu importe… Ce travail n’a besoin d’aucune étiquette. Il est simplement fabuleux.

Brian Clarke, The Art of Light, Sainsbury Centre, Londres, exposition jusqu’au 14 octobre.

Jo Phillips est la directrice du magazine online Cent.

 

Detail de Chill Out, Brian Clarke: The Art of Light, au Sainsbury Centre, organisé en association avec HENI. Photo © Chris Gascoigne.

 

Detail de Grief, Brian Clarke: The Art of Light, au Sainsbury Centre, organisé en association avec HENI. Photo © Matthias Kirchberger.

 

Recent Posts

Leave a Comment