English English French French

A collection between Shogun and manga

November 15 2017

[Click on the image to see the gallery]

Louis Vuitton's 2017 / 18 cruise, which has just arrived in the shop, was decorated with the Miho Museum, an architectural marvel signed Ieoh Ming Pei, one hour from Kyoto. In this greenery, without reference, time stopped the time of a parade. Samurai women, 1970-style bikers, manga and Noh theater characters took possession of the podium. - Isabelle Cerboneschi

P

To access the Miho Museum, which has been dug out of the rock, one can take a winding road on the side of the mountain or pass through the entrance: a small path that leads to a silver tunnel of science fiction beauty, connected at the museum by a suspension bridge. Could this be the forgotten passage, leading to this extraordinary country of which Tao Yuanming speaks in The Source of Peach Flowers? This prose poem tells the story of a fisherman walking along a river when suddenly he found himself in the middle of a peach forest. Wanting to know more, he went back to the source and discovered a passage leading to a marvelous country. Once back home, the fisherman lost track of the path and no one was ever able to find it ...

It is this timeless decor dug in the middle of an opulent forest, this architecture that unites with nature and where the past fuses with the present, that Nicolas Ghesquière chose to unveil its 2017 / 18 Cruise Collection. A collection in the image of this place elsewhere, which makes bridges between East and West and between times. "Nicolas Ghesquière and I am always looking for a place that makes sense in relation to the values ​​of the house: travel, exoticism, authenticity, craftsmanship, all these classic values, explains Michael Burke, the president and CEO of Louis Vuitton. Nicolas's collection is deeply inspired by the place. Kyoto represents the past but Japan embodies the future. And as Nicolas says it very well it is perhaps the country where one combines at the same time the best the technicality, the future, science fiction and the past. It was the theme of the cruise and that's why Kyoto made sense. "

70 biker jackets in leather marquetry worn on white shirts and mini skirts open the parade. Then followed some brocade dresses, prints featuring Kabuki masks designed by the designer Kansai Yamamoto who had created in the 1970 years the stage costumes of David Bowie era Aladdin Sane and Ziggy Stardust, shirt dresses embroidered with silver at the Kitsukuroi, bowls cracked with gold scars, Obi belts transformed into fabrics, revisited kimonos, Samurai women's shell jackets relieved of their Naginata (their curved saber), a whole wardrobe referring to both the manga culture and the Noh theater. Nicolas Ghesquière transported us to an indefinite elsewhere: far, near, future, past, unreality? He invented a vocabulary, a sort of stylistic Esperanto, borrowing from different cultures certain codes to arrange and rewrite them in his own way. And each piece was a journey in itself.

Why a cruise collection?

I asked Michaël Burke, the president and CEO of Louis Vuitton. Let's open the quotation marks.

"The cruise collection is hybrid. It is the link between the two other seasons, arriving in the store when autumn-winter is already here and is still there when the spring-summer arrives. This is the centerpiece.

When we parade in Paris during the week of ready-to-wear, we have 12 minutes to tell the story of our brand, because we are finally storytellers. Cruise is a way to create a more complete, more powerful, understandable and perennial narration.

It's not a marketing operation, it's exactly the opposite. It is the direct encounter between our customers - 400 guests from all over the world, their dream, their desire - and our creations, our point of view expressed fully over a period of 48 h. This is not just a parade: there is a before, after, friends, meetings that are done. It's a way of life. "

English English French French

English English French French

Une collection entre Shogun et manga

15 novembre 2017

[Cliquez sur l’image pour voir la galerie]

La croisière 2017/18 de Louis Vuitton qui vient d’arriver en boutique, avait pour décor le Musée Miho, une merveille architecturale signée Ieoh Ming Pei, à une heure de Kyoto. Au sein de cette verdure, sans repère, le temps s’est arrêté le temps d’un défilé. Des femmes samouraï, des bikeuses façon années 1970, des personnages de manga ou de théâtre Nô ont pris possession du podium. – Isabelle Cerboneschi

P

our accéder au musée Miho, qui a été creusé à même la roche, on peut emprunter une route sinueuse à flanc de montagne ou passer par l’entrée: un petit chemin qui mène à un tunnel argent d’une beauté de science fiction, relié au musée par un pont suspendu. Serait-ce là le passage oublié, menant vers ce pays extraordinaire dont parle Tao Yuanming dans La Source aux Fleurs de Pêcher? Ce poème en prose raconte l’histoire d’un pêcheur qui se promenait le long d’une rivière, lorsque soudain il s’est trouvé au milieu d’une forêt de pêchers. Voulant en savoir plus il est remonté à la source et découvrit un passage menant vers un pays merveilleux. Une fois rentré chez lui, le pêcheur perdit la trace du chemin et personne ne fut jamais à même de la retrouver…

C’est ce décor hors du temps creusé au milieu d’une forêt opulente, cette architecture qui s’unit à la nature et où le passé se fusionne au présent, que Nicolas Ghesquière a choisi pour dévoiler sa collection Croisière 2017/18. Une collection à l’image de ce lieu d’ailleurs, qui fait des ponts entre Orient et Occident et entre les époques. «Nicolas Ghesquière et moi cherchons toujours un lieu qui fasse sens par rapport aux valeurs de la maison: le voyage, l’exotisme, l’authenticité, l’artisanat, toutes ces valeurs classiques, explique Michael Burke, le président-directeur général de Louis Vuitton. La collection de Nicolas s’inspire profondément du lieu. Kyoto représente le passé mais le Japon incarne le futur. Et comme Nicolas le dit très bien c’est peut-être le pays où l’on conjugue à la fois le mieux la technicité, l’avenir, la science fiction et le passé. C’était d’ailleurs le thème de la croisière et c’est pour cela que Kyoto faisait du sens.»

Des vestes de motardes des années 70 en marqueterie de cuir portées sur des chemises blanches et et mini jupes ouvrent le défilé. Puis ont suivi des robes de brocart, des imprimés figurant des masques Kabuki dessinés par le créateur Kansai Yamamoto qui avait créé dans les années 1970 les costumes de scène de David Bowie époque Aladdin Sane et Ziggy Stardust, des robes chemise brodées d’argent à la façon des kintsukuroi, ces bols fêlés aux cicatrices d’or, des ceintures de Obi transformées en tissus, des kimonos revisités, des vestes carapace pour femmes samouraï délestées de leur Naginata (leur sabre recourbé), tout un vestiaire faisant à la fois référence à la culture manga et au théâtre Nô. Nicolas Ghesquière nous a transportés dans un ailleurs indéfini: loin, proche, futur, passé, irréalité? Il a inventé un vocabulaire, une sorte d’espéranto stylistique, empruntant aux différentes cultures certains codes pour les agencer et les réécrire à sa façon. Et chaque pièce était un voyage en soi.

Pourquoi une collection croisière?

J’ai posé la question à Michaël Burke, le président-directeur général de Louis Vuitton. Ouvrons les guillemets.

“La collection croisière est hybride. Elle fait le lien entre les deux autres saisons, arrivant en magasin quand l’automne-hiver est déjà là et est encore là quand le printemps-été arrive. C’est la pièce maîtresse.

Quand nous défilons à Paris pendant la semaine du prêt-à-porter, nous avons 12 minutes pour conter l’histoire de notre marque, car nous sommes finalement des conteurs. La croisière est un moyen de créer une narration plus complète, plus puissante, compréhensible et pérenne.

Ce n’est pas une opération marketing, c’est exactement l’inverse. C’est la rencontre directe entre nos clients – 400 invités du monde entier, leur rêve, leur désir – et nos créations, notre point de vue exprimé pleinement sur une période de 48 h. Ce n’est pas juste un défilé: il y a un avant, un après, les amis, les rencontres qui se font. C’est un art de vivre.”