In the footsteps of Ferdinand Hodler

In ART, PHOTOGRAPHY, VOYAGE

English English French French

Lake Geneva and the Mont-Blanc range: 100x50cm.

To celebrate the centenary of the death of the Swiss painter, the photographer Charly Schwartz chose to put his camera in the same place where the painter placed his easel a hundred years earlier. To discover at the Krisal gallery. - Isabelle Cerboneschi

You have to be endowed with a lot of determination and patience to venture into Ferdinand Hodler's footsteps and to put his camera exactly where the painter had placed his easel a century ago.

For the centenary of the disappearance of the one who is considered the Swiss national painter, the photographer Charly Schwartz, wondered how to integrate in this commemoration. "The easiest thing was to go in the footsteps of Ferdinand Hodler and try to translate his pictures into pictures." What may seem obvious at first glance did not go without saying: "The first difficulty was to find the place where he had placed his easel. Although there were precise indications of the region in the catalog raisonné, they gave neither the angle of view nor the height. We know that he was going to a friend's house in Chesières, that he was going to see his son in a sanatorium in Montana, we know where he did the painting, but not exactly where, at the corner, explains the photographer. To photograph the Aiguilles du midi, it took me five days to find the exact location. Some sectors have disappeared: either buildings were built just in front, or parts of mountains are down and we can not find more place. "

To find the precise places, Charly Schwartz could count on the help of the locals and climbers. "In Chesières someone told me that the painting had been made from his garden. And indeed, it was the case. At the time it was a meadow and putting my camera in this garden, I found exactly the angle of the table. "

The walk in the footsteps of the painter to photograph his landscapes lasted a year. "But all that was left were photos. For me it was not enough, says Charly Schwartz. I wanted to give them a "hodlerian" spirit. So I retouched them, I repainted them with gouache, some landscapes were faded, then I re-photographed them. "The result is quite astonishing indeed. We find in his photos the principle of parallelism that applied the painter, this repetition of forms and lines typical of his style. "What I like in his landscapes are the contrasts, the depth, the intensity of nature," says the photographer.

"I guarantee the accuracy of the width of the images: it is exactly that of the paintings. However, I have not always been able to respect the height: I faced obstacles that did not exist at the time. I deleted the items that were useless. There are two readings of this work: when we are at a distance we believe that it is a painting and when we approach we see that it is a photo. "

Ferdinand Hodler's paintings say Switzerland better than words. "Switzerland, in collective imagery, is mountains, lakes," says Charly Schwartz. The Bernese painter, who died in Geneva, knew how to render the roughness of a place and a people with his brushes and his colors.

"Hodler has translated better than anyone a certain number of qualities peculiar to the people of the Swiss people of his day. He succeeded by this kind of roughness of the line, that impulsive power of drawing, by a sort of rage accumulated against all obstacles, and which extolled itself by this force of drawing, but also by the extraordinary sensibility which one found in his landscapes or in some portraits. So there is not only a national theme, but especially a form that is neither French, nor Italian, nor Germanic, something like a primitive grandeur, a kind of solidity of granite and balance that is due to the alpine landscapes and lacustrine among whom he grew up. " wrote in 1991 the art historian Jura Bruschweiler, specialist of the work of the painter.

When you look at the paintings of Ferdinand Hodler after seeing the exhibition of images that pay tribute to him, one realizes how much his compositions were photographic: "His paintings are built by third, Charly Schwartz note. At home, we always find three elements: the water, the mountain, and the sky. Water is sometimes replaced by fog. "Did he take pictures? " I do not think so. I did not see any pictures made by him. His paintings at the water's edge were thought to be made at the easel, but when he was in the mountains he was thought to draw sketches. "

The Bernese painter died in Geneva on May 19 1918. It remains a year to rediscover his painted work, and why not, walk in his footsteps, and those of Charly Schwartz.

Charly Schwartz, In the Footsteps of Ferdinand Hodler, Krisal Gallery, 25 rue du Pont Neuf, 1227 Carouge. Until February 17. Finissage in the presence of the artist Saturday 10 February.

Jungfrau: 92x68cm.


Great Murevan: 100x50cm.


Rade and salve: 80x60cm.


Three ladies: 92x68cm.


Red hands: 100x50cm.

Recent Posts
Comments

Leave a Comment

Sur les traces de Ferdinand Hodler

 In ART, PHOTOGRAPHIE, VOYAGE

English English French French

Le lac Léman et la chaîne du Mont-Blanc: 100x50cm.

Pour célébrer le centenaire de la mort du peintre suisse, le photographe Charly Schwartz a choisi de poser son appareil photo à l’endroit même où le peintre a placé son chevalet cent ans plus tôt. A découvrir à la galerie Krisal. – Isabelle Cerboneschi

 

Il faut être doté d’une sacrée détermination et d’une bonne dose de patience pour s’aventurer sur les traces de Ferdinand Hodler et de poser son appareil photo exactement là où le peintre plaçait son chevalet un siècle auparavant.

Pour le centenaire de la disparition de celui que l’on considère comme le peintre national suisse, le photographe Charly Schwartz, s’est demandé comment s’intégrer dans cette commémoration. « Le plus simple, c’était d’aller sur les traces de Ferdinand Hodler et tenter de traduire ses tableaux en photo». Ce qui peut paraître une évidence de prime abord n’est pas allé de soi: « La première difficulté était de trouver l’endroit où il avait posé son chevalet. Même s’il y avait des indications précises sur la région dans le catalogue raisonné, elles ne donnaient ni l’angle de vue, ni la hauteur. On sait qu’il se rendait chez des amis à Chesières, qu’il allait voir son fils dans un sanatorium à Montana, on sait où il a fait la peinture, mais pas exactement où, à l’angle près, explique le photographe. Pour photographier les Aiguilles du midi, cela m’a pris cinq jours afin de trouver l’endroit exact. Certains secteurs d’ailleurs ont disparu: soit des constructions ont été bâties juste devant, soit des pans de montagnes sont descendus et on ne peut plus trouver plus l’endroit.»

Pour retrouver les lieux précis, Charly Schwartz a pu compter sur l’aide des gens du coin et des alpinistes.  “A Chesières quelqu’un m’a dit que le tableau avait été fait depuis son jardin. Et effectivement, c’était le cas. A l’époque c’était un pré et en posant mon appareil photo dans ce jardin, j’ai retrouvé exactement l’angle du tableau.”

La balade sur les traces du peintre pour photographier ses paysages aura duré un an.  « Mais cela ne restait que des photos. Pour moi cela ne suffisait pas, dit Charly Schwartz. Je voulais leur donner un esprit “hodlérien”. Je les ai donc retouchées, je les ai repeintes avec de la gouache, certains paysages ont été estompés, puis je les ai re-photographiées.» Le résultat est assez bluffant d’ailleurs. On retrouve dans ses photos le principe du parallélisme qu’appliquait le peintre, cette répétition de formes et de lignes typiques de son style. « Ce que j’aime dans ses paysages, ce sont les contrastes, la profondeur, l’intensité de la nature», dit le photographe.

« Je garantis l’exactitude de la largueur des images: c’est exactement celle des tableaux. En revanche je n’ai pas toujours pu respecter la hauteur: je me suis confronté à des obstacles qui n’existaient pas à l’époque. J’ai supprimé les éléments qui ne servaient à rien. Il y a deux lectures de ce travail: quand on est à distance on croit que c’est un tableau et quand on s’approche on voit que c’est une photo.»

Les tableaux de Ferdinand Hodler disent la Suisse mieux que des mots. « La Suisse, dans l’imagerie collective, c’est les montagnes, les lacs », souligne Charly Schwartz. Le peintre bernois, qui s’est éteint à Genève, a su rendre la rugosité d’un lieu et d’un peuple avec ses pinceaux et ses couleurs.

“Hodler a traduit mieux que quiconque un certain nombre de qualités propres aux gens du peuple suisse de son époque. Il y est parvenu par cette espèce de rudesse du trait, cette puissance impulsive du dessin, par une espèce de rage accumulée contre tous les obstacles et qui s’extériorisait par cette force du dessin, mais aussi par l’extraordinaire sensibilité que l’on trouve dans ses paysages ou dans certains portraits. Donc il y a non seulement une thématique nationale, mais surtout une forme qui n’est ni française, ni italienne, ni germanique, quelque chose comme une grandeur primitive, une espèce de solidité de granit et d’équilibre qui tient aux paysages alpestres et lacustres au milieu desquels il a grandi.”, écrivait en 1991 l’historien d’art Jura Bruschweiler, spécialiste de l’œuvre du peintre.

Quand on regarde les tableaux de Ferdinand Hodler après avoir vu l’exposition d’images qui lui rendent hommage, on se rend compte à quel point ses compositions étaient photographiques: « Ses tableaux sont construits par tiers, note Charly Schwartz. Chez lui on retrouve toujours trois éléments: l’eau, la montagne, et le ciel. L’eau est parfois remplacé par le brouillard.» Faisait-il des photos? « Je ne pense pas. Je n’ai vu aucune photo faite par lui. On pense que ses peintures au bord de l’eau était faites au chevalet, mais quand il était en montagne on pense qu’il dessinait des croquis. »

Le peintre bernois est mort à Genève le 19 mai 1918. Il reste une année pour redécouvrir son oeuvre peint, et pourquoi pas, marcher sur ses traces, et sur celles de Charly Schwartz. 

Charly Schwartz, Sur les traces de Ferdinand Hodler, Galerie Krisal, 25 rue du Pont Neuf, 1227 Carouge. Jusqu’au 17 février. Finissage en présence de l’artiste samedi 10 février.

Jungfrau: 92x68cm.


Grand Murevan: 100x50cm.


Rade et salève: 80x60cm.


Trois dames: 92x68cm.


Aiguilles rouges: 100x50cm.

Recent Posts
Comments

Leave a Comment