A mysterious pink stone born in a coal mine

In JEWELRY, CULTURE, EXHIBITION, NATURE, EXPERTISE, SCIENCE

English English French French

Photo: © David Fraga.

At the GemGenève show, last May, the jeweller Valais Grégoire Maret presented a stone that only exists in one place in the world; a pink gem baptised calcite cobaltifère. It was discovered in an abandoned coal mine in the canton of Valais, inaccessible today. He made a pendant out of it. But the most interesting thing about this story is its story. - Isabelle Cerboneschi.

Imagine two crystalline friends who, who since their childhood, trudged in the Valais mines abandoned since 1943 in the region of Isérable. They sneak into casings barely wider than them, slip between the support beams. And one day, they discover drips of a very intense pink, stalactite and patterns in draperies, that contrast with the black coal. The first time they took that stone out of the mine was in the early 1990. The gem was analyzed by the Lausanne laboratory in 1995 and has been described as being calcite cobaltifère, a new Swiss gem that owes its color to the infiltration of calcareous water laden with cobalt in the mine.

Imagine Grégoire Maret, a young jeweller graduated from L'Ecole Technique de la Vallée de Joux, passionate about the history of his country, Valais, and his Celtic roots. He creates jewels like talismans, inspired by ancient symbols, and gives them power, in any case, to make dream the one who wears them. When these two crystal-hunting friends tell him about their discovery, it's the imagination of the jeweller which is getting carried away. With a cut gem, he created a pendant, a unique piece.

On his stand, during the GemGenève showGrégoire Maret was an outsider with his talisman jewellery and pink stone. At first glance, we did not pay attention. At second glance, we stopped in front of the cartel describing the origin of the stone. In the third, we dipped our eyes in the gem, so strange, so full of colour, so powerful by its uniqueness. A visitor of the show has also bought his ticket, simply to have the opportunity to discover this stone. And he left, without a glance for emeralds, tourmalines paraibathe diamonds sparkling with all their fires around.

"We will not dismantle the aesthetic drips, we will only use the remaining pieces," explains Grégoire Maret. The mines are no longer accessible: there have been major collapses. I went there three times. It was necessary to crawl three hours to reach the zone. It is thanks to the man that this stone exists because if he had not dug these mines, they would not have been infiltrated and one would not have discovered these drips and these stalactites of an intense poetry. It's spectacular! So, the friend who found it named it "Rose de mine": A rose in memory of all the miners who worked in these guts and who sometimes never came back. "

This stone will not be accessible in the future. "Going to these mines today is at your own risk. "

The calcite cobaltifère in possession of  Grégoire Maret became a pendant, like a crescent moon or a point of the Gravette, these projectile points of the Upper Paleolithic. He gave it an equally symbolic name: "l'inattendu".

Recent Posts

Leave a Comment

Une mystérieuse pierre rose née dans une mine de charbon

 In BIJOUX, CULTURE, EXPOSITION, NATURE, SAVOIR-FAIRE, SCIENCE

English English French French

Photo: © David Fraga.

Lors du salon GemGenève, en mai dernier, le bijoutier valaisan Grégoire Maret a présenté une pierre qui n’existe que dans un seul endroit dans le monde: une gemme rose baptisée calcite cobaltifère. Elle a été découverte dans une mine de charbon abandonnée, dans le canton du Valais, aujourd’hui inaccessible. Il en a fait un pendentif. Mais le plus intéressant, dans cette histoire, c’est son histoire justement. –  Isabelle Cerboneschi.

 

Imaginez deux amis cristalliers qui, depuis leur enfance, vont crapahuter dans les mines valaisannes abandonnées depuis 1943 dans la région d’Isérable. Ils se faufilent dans des boyaux à peine plus larges qu’eux, se glissent entre les poutres de soutènement. Et un jour, ils découvrent des coulures d’un rose très intense, des stalactite et des motifs en draperies, qui contrastent avec le noir du charbon. La première fois qu’ils ont sorti cette pierre de la mine, c’était au début des années 1990. La gemme a été analysée par le laboratoire de Lausanne en 1995 et a été décrite comme étant de la calcite cobaltifère, une nouvelle gemme suisse qui doit sa couleur aux infiltrations d’eau calcaire chargée de cobalt dans la mine.

Imaginez Grégoire Maret, jeune bijoutier-joaillier diplômé de l’Ecole Technique de la Vallée de Joux, passionné de l’histoire de son pays, le Valais, et de ses racines celtes. Il crée des bijoux comme des talismans, inspiré des symboles anciens, et leur confère le pouvoir en tout cas de faire rêver celui ou celle qui les porte. Lorsque ces deux amis chasseurs de cristaux lui font part de leur découverte, voilà l’imaginaire du bijoutier qui s’emballe. Avec une gemme taillée, il a créé un pendentif, une pièce unique.

Sur son stand, lors du Salon GemGenève, Grégoire Maret faisait figure d’outsider avec ses bijoux talismans et sa pierre rose. Au premier regard, on n’y prêtait pas attention. Au second regard, on s’arrêtait devant le cartel décrivant l’origine de la pierre. Au troisième on plongeait les yeux dans la gemme, si étrange, si chargée en couleur, si puissante par son unicité. Un visiteur du salon a d’ailleurs acheté son billet d’entrée, simplement pour avoir le loisir de découvrir cette pierre-là. Et il est reparti, sans un regard pour les émeraudes, les tourmalines paraiba, les diamants qui scintillaient de tous leurs feux alentour.

«Nous n’allons pas démonter les coulures esthétiques, nous n’utiliserons que les morceaux restants, explique Grégoire Maret. Les mines ne sont plus accessibles: il y a eu de gros effondrements. Je m’y suis rendu trois fois. Il fallait ramper trois heures pour atteindre la zone. C’est grâce à l’homme que cette pierre existe, car si il n’avait pas creusé ces mines, elles n’auraient pas été infiltrées et l’on n’aurait pas découvert ces coulures et ces stalactites d’une intense poésie. C’est spectaculaire! Du coup, l’ami qui l’a trouvée l’a baptisée “Rose de mine”: une rose en souvenir de tous les mineurs qui ont travaillé dans ces boyaux et qui n’en sont parfois jamais ressortis. »

Cette pierre ne sera plus accessible à l’avenir. « Se rendre dans ces mines aujourd’hui, c’est à ses risques et périls. »

La calcite cobaltifère en possession de Grégoire Maret est devenue un pendentif, comme un croissant de lune ou une pointe de la Gravette, ces pointes de projectile du Paléolithique supérieur. Il lui a donné un nom tout aussi symbolique: « l’Inattendu ».

 

 

 

Recent Posts

Leave a Comment