English English French French

Quantum leap towards the Antique

November 15 2017

[Click on the image to see the gallery]

xchanelcruise1
Photo: Olivier Sailland

For Chanel's latest Cruise collection, Karl Lagerfeld has decided to make a temporary rather than a spatial voyage, taking guests back to antiquity revisited by him. A Greece as he imagines it: pleats of moving statues, short togas in tweed embroidery, sails of modern priestesses. Winter will be hot. - Isabelle Cerboneschi

C

was last June and Paris was gray. Hence this need elsewhere, but a near elsewhere. At the end of the Grand Palais, the security guards checked each person's identity, opened the bags and put them in the X-ray machine. No 714 flight for Sydney in sight, but an immediate tele-transport in the ancient world, destination announced by frescoes reminiscent of those of the villas of Pompeii welcoming the guests.

What strangeness are these broken columns, this copy of a statue that once belonged to Gabrielle Chanel resting there, waiting, and all those false vestiges of a past that only existed in the mind of Karl Lagerfeld, "like the place of origin of beauty and culture, where a tremendous freedom of the body flourishes which has now disappeared, "he says in his note of intent. And that a few hundred meters from the Champs Elysees, in the 21st century.

To present the latest collection Cruise, he invited us to a motionless journey. The taste of a summer in winter.

The option of scrolling in Greece, in a life-size setting was one of the many options chosen by the house, but it wasfinally Paris. "Parade in Paris seemed important to us in the current context, we French house. It is a way of reaffirming the role of Paris, the capital of creation. The cruise collection is for us a space of freedom. The opportunity, too, to carry that word, "explained the day before Bruno Pavlovsky, president of Chanel fashion activities.

The vestals who opened the parade wore short tunic dresses cut in a material that resembled tweed, but which was actually an embroidery of woven ribbons. They were perched on multicolored Spartans with heels in the shape of columns. No doubt to remind us that the statues of antiquity were not white, but polychrome, set with porcelain eyes.

The girls passed as if to go to an imaginary Agora, high forehead, girded with acanthus leaves and amphora-shaped earrings. "For me it was important to make a collection very Chanel but inspired by another world, other centuries," says Karl Lagerfeld. And to do this he used some elements of Greek culture, but without it being like a lesson in costume history.

The long skirts in pleated sun played with the elements, the dresses veiled and unveiled the skin. The jerseys resembled those "wet draperies" found in certain figures of the Parthenon pediment. "The body was not hidden, it was not something to be ashamed of, as it may have been later. says Karl Lagerfeld in the parade interview. Like today, the body was important. The clothes put it in value. Everything was fluid, unhindered. In this sense, Antiquity carried a very modern message. "

And over the passages, we began to forget the present, tossed between past and near future, calling for a saving beauty. The columns stood out against a dawn sky.

"The Aurora with the golden shoe already appears on the horizon ...

All the colors were confused on his face ...

The moon in its full light illuminated the heavens ... "

Sappho, Odes and Fragments, ed. Gallimard.

What are cruise collections?

The cruise collections that have just arrived in stores and will stay there until spring sales, allow to meet the needs of customers who do not live to the rhythm of the four seasons. - Isabelle Cerboneschi

What are cruise collections? A summer cloakroom in jet lag.

Although this definition is only valid if we live in our latitudes. When it's summer in Paris, it's winter somewhere, and this notion of season is no longer necessary.

They are called "Cruise" (or Cruise ou Resort) because these collections were originally intended for wealthy American clients who would take shelter in warmer skies in the winter. It was also a way of reassorting and re-starting the desire in the shops between the two seasons: spring-summer and autumn-winter.

At the time, fashion was bought in Paris and the seasons were in line with those of the French capital. Today, the collections arrive the same day in all the shops of the marks of the whole world, the notion of cruise is obsolete. But the fashion world loves to cultivate its paradoxes and continues to use this word that is more of a code name than a reality. "For the general public, these notions do not exist. People understand that there is spring-summer and fall-winter and that's it. Cruise collections are above all market logic, "said Olivier Saillard, then director of the Musée Galliéra in Paris during an interview.

Even if their name evokes for the general public only a huge boat filled with people, for the professionals, the cruising collections are taking a place more and more  important in the sales calendar: they are delivered in stores in November and some parts can remain on the display until the June sales, a lifetime of 8 months. In this world of fashion where by definition nothing lasts, it is exceptional. No brand wants to articulate figures but according to professionals, the cruise line would represent up to 70% of the turnover of some houses.

The presentation of the collection is a subject in itself: where to invite hundreds of guests (customers, buyers, journalists, VIPs, friends of the house) to make them live a fully placed experience - from breakfast to dinner - under the banner of the brand? The houses compete for ideas to awaken the desire of customers and amaze the blasé pus of journalists, choosing unexpected destinations: Cuba, Rio, Singapore, Palm Springs, Seoul, ... For the 2017 cruise, Chanel has chosen to reinvent the Ancient Greece in the heart of Paris, Louis Vuitton invited his guests to Kyoto, and Dior to Los Angeles, to mention only the traveling brands.

When are the Cruise collections? «I do not know when they appeared in the contemporary sense of the term, certainly in the 1970 years, but in the 1920 years, designers have relocated their shop in Biarritz, Deauville, Cannes. And in these shops, there were clothes a little more adapted to the seaside. This was the case of Chanel, but especially Jean Patou. He participated in the democratization of the garment inspired by the world of sport. Suzanne Lenglen is Jean Patou. He was the first to go outside. The couturiers were then salon designers. He became a designer of the outdoors, good health, vacationing. The different beach pajamas I bought for the museums are all Jean Patou ", entrusted Olivier Saillard.

The cruise might not have been so successful if the women had not agreed to decompartmentalize their cloakroom, no longer hesitating to wear a little summer dress in winter on a turtleneck sweater and under a large coat, ignoring the seasons.

English English French French

English English French French

Saut quantique vers l’Antique

15 novembre 2017

[Cliquez sur l’image pour voir la galerie]

xchanelcruise1
Photo: Olivier Sailland

Pour la dernière collection Croisière de Chanel, Karl Lagerfeld a décidé de faire un voyage temporel, plutôt que spatial, emmenant les invités dans l’Antiquité revisitée par ses soins. Une Grèce telle qu’il l’imagine: des plissés de statues mouvantes, des toges courtes en broderies façon tweed, des voiles de prêtresses modernes. L’hiver sera chaud. – Isabelle Cerboneschi

C

’était en juin dernier et Paris était gris. D’où ce besoin d’ailleurs, mais un ailleurs proche. A l’extrémité du Grand Palais, les agents de sécurité vérifiaient l’identité de chacun, ouvraient les sacs avant de les faire passer dans l’appareil à Rayon X. Contrôles d’usage. Pas de vol 714 pour Sydney en vue, mais une télétransportation immédiate dans le monde antique, destination annoncée par des fresques rappelant celles des villas de Pompéi accueillant les convives.

Quelle étrangeté ces colonnes brisées, cette copie d’une statue ayant appartenu à Gabrielle Chanel posée là, en attente, et tous ces faux vestiges d’un passé qui n’a existé que dans l’esprit de Karl Lagerfeld, «comme le lieu d’origine de la beauté et de la culture, où s’épanouit une formidable liberté des corps qui a désormais disparu », dit-il dans sa note d’intention. Et cela à quelques centaines de mètres des Champs Elysées, en plein XXIe siècle.

Pour présenter la dernière collection Croisière, il nous a conviés à un voyage immobile. L’avant-goût d’un été en plein hiver.

L’option de défiler en Grèce, dans un décor grandeur nature faisait partie des nombreuses options retenues par la maison, mais ce fut finalement Paris. «Défiler à Paris nous paraissait important dans le contexte actuel, nous, maison française. C’est une manière de réaffirmer le rôle de Paris, capitale de la création. La collection croisière est pour nous un espace de liberté. L’occasion, aussi, de porter cette parole-là», expliquait la veille Bruno Pavlovsky, président des activités mode de Chanel.

Les vestales qui ouvraient le défilé portaient des robes-tuniques courtes taillées dans une matière qui ressemblait à du tweed, mais qui était en réalité une broderie de rubans tissés. Elles étaient juchées sur des spartiates multicolores avec des talons en forme de colonnes. Sans doute pour nous rappeler que les statues de l’Antiquité n’étaient pas blanches, mais polychromes, serties de yeux de porcelaine.

Les filles passaient comme pour se rendre dans une Agora imaginaire, le front haut, ceint de diadèmes en feuilles d’acanthe et des boucles d’oreilles en forme d’amphores. «Pour moi il était important de faire une collection très Chanel mais qui s’inspire d’un autre monde, d’autres siècles», souligne Karl Lagerfeld. Et pour ce faire il a utilisé quelques éléments de la culture grecque, mais sans que cela ressemble à une leçon d’histoire du costume.

Les jupes longues en plissé soleil se jouaient des éléments, les robes voilaient et dévoilaient la peau. Les maillots ressemblaient à ces « drapés mouillés » que l’on trouve sur certaines figures du fronton du Parthénon. «Le corps n’était pas caché, ce n’était pas quelque chose dont il fallait avoir honte, comme ça a pu être le cas plus tard. relève Karl Lagerfeld dans l’interview du défilé. Comme aujourd’hui, le corps était important. Les vêtements le mettait en valeur. Tout était fluide, sans entrave. En ce sens l’Antiquité portait un message très moderne.»

Et au fil des passages, on se prenait à oublier le présent, balloté entre passé et futur proche, appelant de nos voeux une beauté salvatrice. Les colonnes de détachaient sur un ciel d’aurore.

“L’Aurore à la chaussure d’or paraît déjà à l’horizon…

Toutes les couleurs se confondaient sur son visage…

La lune dans son plein éclairait les cieux… ”

Sapphô, Odes et Fragments, ed. Gallimard.

Qu’est-ce que les collections croisières?

Les collections croisière qui viennent d’arriver en boutique et vont y rester jusqu’aux soldes du printemps, permettent de répondre aux besoin d’une clientèle qui ne vit pas au rythme des quatre saisons. – Isabelle Cerboneschi

Qu’est-ce que les collections croisières? Un vestiaire d’été en décalage horaire.

Encore que cette définition ne vaut que si l’on vit sous nos latitudes. Quand c’est l’été à Paris, c’est l’hiver quelque part, et cette notion de saison n’a plus de raison d’être.

On les appelle « Croisière » (ou encore Cruise ou Resort) parce que ces collections étaient à l’origine destinées à des clientes américaines fortunées qui partaient s’abriter sous des cieux plus cléments en hiver. C’était aussi une manière de faire du réassortiment et de ré-amorcer le désir dans les boutiques entre les deux saisons: printemps-été et automne-hiver.

A l’époque, la mode s’achetait à Paris et les saisons étaient en accord avec celles de la capitale française. Aujourd’hui, les collections arrivant le même jour dans toutes les boutiques des marques du monde entier, la notion de croisière est désuète. Mais le monde de la mode aime à cultiver ses paradoxes et continue d’utiliser ce mot qui relève plus du nom de code que d’une réalité. «Pour le grand public, ces notions n’existent pas. Les gens comprennent qu’il y a le printemps-été et l’automne-hiver et c’est tout. Les collections croisière relèvent avant tout de la logique marchande», me confiait Olivier Saillard, alors directeur du Musée Galliéra de Paris lors d’une interview. 

Même si leur nom n’évoque pour le grand public qu’un immense bateau rempli de gens, pour les professionnels, les collections croisière sont ont pris une place de plus en plus  importante dans le calendrier des ventes: elles sont livrées en boutiques en novembre et certaines pièces peuvent rester sur les présentoirs jusqu’aux soldes de juin, soit une durée de vie de 8 mois. Dans ce monde de la mode où par définition rien ne dure, c’est chose exceptionnelle. Aucune marque ne souhaite articuler de chiffres mais selon des professionnels, la ligne Croisière représenterait jusqu’à 70% du chiffre d’affaires de certaines maisons.

La présentation de la collection est un sujet en soi: où convier les centaines d’invités (clients, acheteurs, journalistes, VIP, amis de la maison) pour leur faire vivre une expérience entièrement placée – du petit déjeuner jusqu’au dîner – sous la bannière de la marque? Les maisons rivalisent d’idées pour éveiller le désir des clientes et émerveiller les pus blasés des journalistes, choisissant des destinations inattendues: Cuba, Rio, Singapour, Palm Springs, Séoul, … Pour la croisière 2017, Chanel a choisi de réinventer la Grèce Antique en plein Paris, Louis Vuitton a convié ses invités à Kyoto, et Dior à Los Angeles, pour ne parler que des marques voyageuses.

A quand remontent les collections Croisière? «Je ne sais pas quand elles sont apparues au sens contemporain du terme, certainement dans les années 1970, mais dans les années 1920, des couturiers ont délocalisé leur boutique à Biarritz, à Deauville, à Cannes. Et dans ces boutiques-là, on trouvait des vêtements un peu plus adaptés au bord de mer. Ce fut le cas de Chanel, mais surtout de Jean Patou. Il a participé à la démocratisation du vêtement en s’inspirant du monde du sport. Suzanne Lenglen, c’est Jean Patou. Il fut le premier à s’adresser à l’extérieur. Les couturiers alors étaient des couturiers de salons. Lui est devenu un couturier du plein air, de la bonne santé, de la villégiature. Les différents pyjamas de plage que j’ai achetés pour les musées sont tous de Jean Patou », confiait Olivier Saillard. 

La croisière n’aurait peut-être pas connu un tel succès si les femmes n’avaient pas accepté de décloisonner leur vestiaire, n’hésitant plus à porter une petite robe d’été en hiver sur un pull à col roulé et sous un grand manteau, faisant fi des saisons.

English English French French