English English French French

The enchanted carousel of sewing

November 17 2017

xhautecoutureamain
Alexis Mabille

Haute couture is a universe in itself, where the know-how reigns, a world of all the superlatives and all the excesses. Last July, fashion designers' collections paraded in Paris. A season in a few paintings. - Isabelle Cerboneschi

E

Last July, Paris was invaded by a fauna that we do not usually find there, or at least not so concentrated. Attracted by the golds and brilliancy, by the flashes of the photographers and the reflections of the lamé dresses, by the attraction of the crystals transforming the fabrics into starry nights, a whole tribe had gagged in the palaces of the city: the customers haute couture, princesses and artists united under the banner of fashion houses.

And with her the observers, the models, the muses, the journalists, the industrialists, the stylists, the influencers, the students of the fashion schools, all a court attracted like butterflies around the candlesticks of the ice gallery which embellishes all the reflections.

Haute couture is the laboratory where fashion designers can experiment with envy, with only limits imposed by their imagination or the identity of the different houses of which they are the guardians of the style. They can ask everything to the embroiderers, to the plumassiers, knowing that they are addressed to the artisans of the impossible. The "high" is a reservoir, a source of inspiration for upcoming ready-to-wear collections.

High fashion is haute couture! What makes it so special is the know-how, the work, the time spent, the embroidery, everything. (...) Some countries manufacture cars and France has haute couture and the best know-howsays Karl Lagerfeld in the parade interview.

Paris, during the haute couture, is in metamorphosis. It is a city where one dares, where one sings the beauty even if the sky is gray. We create dresses to the extent of the dreams of those who will wear them. Always great, dreams. We felt this season the desire to fight with the gloom.

CHANEL: BACKSTAGE

JEAN PAUL GAULTIER: BACKSTAGE

CHANEL (click to read)

It was not possible to bring the entire Eiffel Tower under the dome of the Grand Palais. So Chanel made a reconstruction that ended in a cloud, like a point on an i. A point tinting the gray sky, color of the first passages of the fall-winter 2017-2018 fashion show. We could see silhouettes both familiar and new, the tweed jacket, turned into a coat with balloon sleeves.

The silhouette is the key word, explains Karl Lagerfeld in the parade interview. Sometimes we add a lot of frills because it's easy. But the seam must have an absolutely perfect structure.

Karl Lagerfeld chose to sing Paris, where haute couture was born, with the desire to reinvent the look of Parisian Gabrielle Chanel, but in a modern way. Moreover, at the end of the parade, the couturier received the order of the medal Grand Vermeil of the City of Paris, which comes to reward people who participated in the influence of the French capital around the world.

What looks like fur borders are colorful feathers and assembled so as to deceive the look. Geometric patterns inspired by Robert Delaunay's paintings were embroidered on the evening dresses. The famous boater who made the first glory of Gabrielle Chanel was almost everywhere. Dresses in black or white silk mikado imposed both rigor and lightness. A dreamed Paris.

JEAN PAUL GAULTIER (click to read)

Courchevel, Cortina d'Ampezzo, Klosters, all the guests were sitting in sections named after ski resorts anthology. The theme of the parade would be winter and the sweetest, the most beautiful, the most precious way to face him.

Jean-Paul Gaultier has the art of sprinkling the eternal snows of glam, magnifying the golden-colored jacket and the high-waisted spindle worn under a satin jacket with silver highlights. The twisted ski sweater is transformed into a mini evening dress and the tuxedo in sari-style dress.

The girls had hair dotted with gold dust and wore Indian jewelry. It was Bollywood dancing up there on the mountain.

GIAMBATTISTA VALLI (click to read)

The haute couture collection of Giambattista Valli is a sweet metaphor, a tribute to the woman in her most poetic and lyrical style. An ode to the garden woman, place of all outbreaks and metamorphoses. Each dress of the parade was dotted with embroidered flowers, the chiffon dresses wore solid colors of delicate petals. It's beautiful a spring in the middle of winter.

ALEXIS MABILLE (click to read)

This season Alexis Mabille gave up the parade preferring the principle of presentation. He was probably right to see the time that guests spent in front of each silhouette. Haute couture is held in details that are not seen at first glance, nor at the second. In a structure, hours of assembly (and disassembly), hidden embroidery as in this jacket resembling a bouquet of golden roses.

A presentation allows you to watch the pieces in detail. There are hundreds of hours of work on this jacket, if you count the flowers making, and the fact that the underside is entirely glittery so that we can see reflections between the petals, Alexis Mabille confided. This is also the madness of haute couture: these tiny details, but that change everything.

ZUHAIR MURAD (click to read)

The parade of Zuhair Murad was an ode to delicacy, trompe l'oeil, illusion. The first black and white looks soon gave way to pastel-hued dresses from mauve to blue through the flesh color. On certain models, one could no longer discern the boundaries of the dress: where did the body begin, where did lace or tulle end? The body was playing hide and seek. A precious game.

ANTONIO GRIMALDI (click to read)

It was his second parade in the official calendar of haute couture and Antonio Grimaldi enchanted us with his precious gowns in velvet with multiple reflections, his embroidery hidden under the arms, on the seams, as if he was drawing the dress with splinters of light. I like the embroidery to emphasize the cut, precisely: make it visible. I am patroness, I can draw, make the boss and cut a dress, I love it. For me, the cut, the material, the embroidery, everything must harmonize. We must feel the dressexplained Antonio Grimaldi right after the show.

The brilliances were as attenuated. The theme this season was the mirrors. The story behind this collection is that of a woman, so beautiful that when she looks at herself, the mirror can not bear its reflection and explodes. And all the little pieces are embedded in the dresshe said, laughing. In fact, when we look at ourselves in the mirror, it is the only moment where we can see ourselves from the inside as well.

English English French French

Le manège enchanté de la couture

17 Novembre 2017

xhautecoutureamain
Alexis Mabille

La haute couture est un univers en soi, où règne le savoir-faire, un monde de tous les superlatifs et de tous les excès. En juillet dernier, les collections des couturiers défilaient à Paris. Une saison en quelques tableaux. – Isabelle Cerboneschi

E

n juillet dernier Paris était envahi d’une faune que l’on n’y trouve pas d’habitude, ou en tout cas, pas à ce point concentrée. Attirée par les ors et les brillances, par les flashs des photographes et les reflets des robes en lamé, par l’attrait des cristaux transformant les tissus en nuits étoilées, tout une tribu s’était égaillée dans les palaces de la ville: les clientes de la haute couture, princesses et artistes réunies sous la bannière des maisons de couture.

Et avec elle les observateurs, les mannequins, les muses, les journalistes, les industriels, les stylistes, les influenceurs, les étudiants des écoles de mode, tout une cour attirée comme des papillons autour des chandeliers de la galerie des glaces qui enjolive tous les reflets.

La haute couture est ce laboratoire où les couturiers peuvent expérimenter à l’envi, avec pour seules limites celles imposées par leur imaginaire ou l’identité des différentes maisons dont ils sont les gardiens du style. Ils peuvent tout demander aux brodeurs, aux plumassiers, sachant qu’ils s’adressent aux artisans de l’impossible. La « haute » est un réservoir, une source d’inspiration pour les collections de prêt-à-porter à venir.

La haute couture, c’est la haute couture! Ce qui la rend si particulière, c’est le savoir-faire, le travail, le temps passé, les broderies, tout. (…) Certains pays fabriquent des voitures et la France a la haute couture et le meilleur savoir-faire, relève Karl Lagerfeld dans l’interview du défilé.

Paris, pendant la haute couture, est en métamorphose. C’est une ville où l’on ose, où l’on chante la beauté même si le ciel est gris. On y crée des robes à la mesure des rêves de celles qui vont les porter. Toujours grands, les rêves. On sentait cette saison l’envie d’en découdre avec la morosité.

CHANEL: BACKSTAGE

JEAN PAUL GAULTIER: BACKSTAGE

CHANEL (cliquez pour lire)

Il n’était pas possible de faire entrer la tour Eiffel tout entière sous la coupole du Grand Palais. Alors Chanel en a fait une reconstitution qui se terminait par un nuage, comme un point sur un i. Un point teintant le ciel de gris, couleur des premiers passages du défilé haute couture automne-hiver 2017-2018. On voyait passer des silhouettes à la fois familières et nouvelles, la  veste de tweed, transformée en manteau avec des manches ballon.

La silhouette, c’est le maître mot, explique Karl Lagerfeld dans l’interview du défilé. Parfois on ajoute beaucoup de fioritures parce que c’est facile. Mais la couture doit avoir une structure absolument parfaite.

Karl Lagerfeld a choisi de chanter Paris, où la haute couture est née, avec le désir de réinventer l’allure des parisiennes façon Gabrielle Chanel, mais de manière moderne. D’ailleurs, à l’issue du défilé, le couturier recevait l’ordre de la médaille Grand Vermeil de la Ville de Paris, qui vient récompenser des personnes ayant participé au rayonnement de la capitale française à travers le monde.

Ce qui ressemble à des bordures de fourrures sont des plumes colorées et assemblées de manière à tromper le regard. Des motifs géométriques, inspirés des tableaux de Robert Delaunay ont été brodés sur les robes du soir. Le fameux canotier qui a fait la première gloire de Gabrielle Chanel était presque partout. Des robes en mikado de soie noires ou blanche, imposaient à la fois leur rigueur et leur légèreté. Un Paris rêvé.

JEAN PAUL GAULTIER (cliquez pour lire)

Courchevel, Cortina d’Ampezzo, Klosters, tous les invités étaient assis dans des sections portant le nom de stations de ski d’anthologie. Le thème du défilé serait donc l’hiver et la plus douce, la plus belle, la plus précieuse manière de lui faire face.

Jean-Paul Gaultier possède l’art de saupoudrer les neiges éternelles de glam’, de magnifier la doudoune couleur d’or et le fuseau à taille haute porté sous un blouson de satin aux reflets d’argent. Le pull de ski torsadé se métamorphose en mini robe du soir et le smoking en robe façon sari.

Les filles avaient les cheveux parsemés de poudre d’or et portaient des bijoux indiens. C’était Bollywood qui dansait là-haut sur la montagne.

GIAMBATTISTA VALLI (cliquez pour lire)

La collection haute couture de Giambattista Valli est une douce métaphore, un hommage à la femme dans ce qu’elle recèle de plus poétique, de plus lyrique. Un ode à la femme jardin, lieu de toutes les éclosions et les métamorphoses. Chaque robe du défilé était parsemée de fleurs brodées, les robes de mousseline de soie arboraient les couleurs unies de délicats pétales. C’est beau un printemps en plein hiver.

ALEXIS MABILLE (cliquez pour lire)

Cette saison Alexis Mabille a renoncé au défilé préférant le principe de la présentation. Il a sans doute eu raison à voir le temps que les invités passaient devant chaque silhouette. La haute couture tient dans des détails qui ne se voient pas au premier regard, ni au deuxième. Dans une structure, des heures de montage (et de démontage), des broderies cachées comme dans ce blouson ressemblant à un bouquet de roses d’or.

Une présentation permet de regarder les pièces en détail. Il y a des centaines d’heures de travail sur cette veste, si vous comptez la fabrication des fleurs, et le fait que le dessous est entièrement pailleté afin que l’on voit des reflets entre les pétales, confiait Alexis Mabille. C’est cela aussi la folie de la haute couture: ces détails infimes, mais qui changent tout.

ZUHAIR MURAD (cliquez pour lire)

Le défilé de Zuhair Murad était une ode à la délicatesse, au trompe l’oeil, à l’illusion. Les premiers looks en noir et blanc ont vite cédé la place à des robes aux teintes pastels allant  du mauve au bleu en passant par la couleur chair. Sur certains modèles, on ne discernait plus les frontières de la robe: où commençait le corps, où s’achevait la dentelle ou le tulle? Le corps jouait à cache-cache. Un jeu précieux.

ANTONIO GRIMALDI (cliquez pour lire)

C’était son deuxième défilé dans le calendrier officiel de la haute couture et Antonio Grimaldi nous a enchantés avec ses robes précieuses en velours aux multiples reflets, ses broderies cachées sous les bras, sur les coutures, comme s’il dessinait la robe avec des éclats de lumière. J’aime que les broderies viennent souligner la coupe, justement: la rendent visible. Je suis patronniste, je sais dessiner, faire le patron et couper une robe, j’adore cela. Pour moi, la coupe, la matière, les broderies, tout doit s’harmoniser. On doit sentir la robe, expliquait Antonio Grimaldi juste après le show. 

Les brillances étaient comme atténuées. Le thème cette saison, c’était les miroirs. La petite histoire derrière cette collection, c’est celle d’une femme, tellement belle que lorsqu’elle se regarde, le miroir ne peut supporter son reflet et explose. Et tous les petits morceaux viennent s’encastrer dans la robe, dit-il en riant. En réalité, quand on se regarde dans le miroir, c’est le seul moment peut-être où l’on se voit aussi de l’intérieur.

English English French French