English English French French

Santa's time

December 21 2017

[Click on the image to see the gallery]

And if Santa Claus offered a watch to better plan the distribution of his gifts around the world, the evening of 24 December, which room would he choose among the existing timepieces? - Vincent Daveau.

D

In this brief history of the time we contribute to writing on a daily basis, the specialized authors have thought of a whole lot of things, sometimes even incongruous, but none have questioned the nature of the watch that Santa Claus would wear. he had to put one on his wrist during his annual distribution of gifts.

Without demystifying the imaginary character that is Santa Claus, we all know that his appearance today is partly the fruit of the communication of a well-known soda company which, in 1931, contributed by its commercials to freeze aesthetic also pre-existing in Anglo-Saxon countries since at least the mid-nineteenth century. This globe-trotter, colorful, bearded, and known for his debonair nature, is one of those floating populations whose home or nationality is not really known. If everyone is interested in his speculations, one remembers this old man dressed all in red and at the certain posh, that he lives in the hostile and snow-covered countries of the polar circle, between Gesunda (for the Swedes) and the North Magnetic Pole. (for Americans). And, if we know of him that he has a sledge pulled by reindeer whose number is variable, we guess that with this hero of our childhood, everything is speculation. And, as such, nothing forbids to imagine that, under the thick sleeves of his red coat lined with fur, hides a quality watch.  It remains to be seen which ...

THE MEANING OF THE SERVICE
Of all the possibilities, only a model dedicated to frequent travelers makes sense, and between all those available, only one instrument with the best is possible: namely the universal time, to know everything that it is at each point of the world. Among the watches adorned with this complication, the latest 5930 Patek Philippe - in other words the famous chronograph Universal Hour - could be part of its range.

This character with magnetic celebrity could also retain an edition as the new 5230 Patek Philippe whose choice of cities references, reported on the rotating disc, has been revised. He could also set his sights on the magnificent and very classic Breguet 5727 Hora Mundi or the timeless Master Geographic from the Jaeger-LeCoultre Manufacture. The ease of use could interest him, he who knows to have a lot to do in the evening of 24 December. Undoubtedly, the easy adjustment of the hour, according to the reference metropolis, will seduce him.

We also guess the charming traveler have a taste for bright colors. He could be tempted to indulge in a few fantasies in private and take an interest in Louis Vuitton's Escale World Time Blue watch. The piece, easy to handle and beautiful bill also offers interesting features for a traveler, a most pleasant aesthetic. Its hand-painted dial of colors and patterns inspired by the colorful monograms affixed to the luggage in order to allow the customers of the House to find them more easily at the descent of the large transatlantic, releases something very fashion that should attract the attention of this character whose dress has not changed for nearly two centuries.

TRAVELS FORM YOUTH AND CARE
However, in terms of color, he can also look at the Montblanc Orbis Terrarum watch. This colorful creation with its planisphere indicating the regions of the world lit and those in the night, associated with its easy setting of the reference time to the dial according to the chosen city, was able to convince the purists at the time of its launch. Indeed,  its price, ultra competitive in terms of its complexity of implementation, has been appreciated by frequent travelers having the need to have such a tool without necessarily having infinite means. In the case of Santa Claus, the choice of this piece is possible because we can imagine the character able to live with the bare necessities in the depths of the Arctic Circle.

This intermittent show, with a stamp of one night per year, is also an emeritus pilot flying sled towed by reindeer. As such, this hero and workaholic could be tempted by versions for aviators and endowed, for two of them, the complication of universal hours. Of course, we think of the powerful IWC Timezoner Chronograph Pilot's Watch, or the Breitling Breitling Breitling Breitling Chronograph which remains, of all these types of timepieces, the one most suitable for pilots of all types of aircraft.

Whatever the choice of Santa Claus may be, all these time measuring instruments will be perfectly adapted to his job and his function. All are waterproof enough to withstand harsh winter conditions. Only scratches on the housing can be caused by too strong descents in chimneys badly cleaned ...

English English French French

L’heure du Père Noël

21 decembre 2017

[Cliquez sur l’image pour voir la galerie]

Et si le Père Noël s’offrait une montre pour mieux planifier la distribution de ses cadeaux à travers le monde, au soir du 24 décembre, quelle pièce choisirait-il parmi les garde-temps existants? – Vincent Daveau.

D

ans cette brève histoire du temps que nous contribuons à écrire au quotidien, les auteurs spécialisés ont pensé à tout un tas de choses parfois même incongrues, mais aucun ne s’est interrogé sur la nature de la montre que le Père Noël porterait, s’il devait en passer une au poignet lors de sa distribution annuelle des cadeaux. 

 

Sans démystifier le personnage imaginaire qu’est le Père Noël, on sait tous que son allure aujourd’hui est partiellement le fruit de la communication d’une société de soda bien connue qui, en 1931, a contribué par ses publicités à en figer l’esthétique par ailleurs préexistante dans les pays anglo-saxons depuis au moins le milieu du XIXème siècle. Ce globe-trotter, haut en couleur, barbu, et connu pour son caractère débonnaire, fait partie de ces populations flottantes dont on ne connaît véritablement ni le domicile, ni la nationalité. Si chacun y va de ses spéculations, on retient de ce vieillard tout vêtu de rouge et à l’embonpoint certain, qu’il habite dans les contrées hostiles et enneigées du cercle polaire, entre Gesunda (pour les Suédois) et le Pôle Nord magnétique (pour les Américains). Et, si on sait de lui qu’il possède un traineau tiré par des rennes dont le nombre est variable, on devine qu’avec ce héros de notre enfance, tout est spéculation. Et, à ce titre, rien n’interdit d’imaginer que, sous les épaisses manches de son manteau rouge doublé de fourrure, se cache une montre de qualité.  Reste à savoir laquelle…

 

LE SENS DU SERVICE 

Parmi tous les possibles, seul un modèle dédié aux grands voyageurs fait sens, et entre tous ceux disponibles, seul un instrument doté du meilleur est envisageable : à savoir l’heure universelle, pour tout savoir de celle qu’il est en chaque point du globe. Au nombre des montres parées de cette complication, la dernière 5930 de Patek Philippe – autrement dit le fameux chronographe à Heure Universelle- pourrait faire partie de sa panoplie.

 

Ce personnage à la célébrité magnétique pourrait également retenir une édition comme la nouvelle 5230 de Patek Philippe dont le choix des villes de références, reporté sur le disque rotatif, a été révisé. Il pourrait également jeter son dévolu sur la magnifique et très classique Breguet 5727 Hora Mundi ou l’indémodable Master Geographic de la manufacture Jaeger-LeCoultre. La facilité d’emploi pourrait l’intéresser, lui que l’on sait avoir beaucoup à faire dans la soirée du 24 décembre. Incontestablement, l’ajustement aisé de l’heure, en fonction de la métropole de référence, saura le séduire.

 

On devine aussi le charmant voyageur avoir du goût pour les couleurs vives. Il pourrait ainsi être tenté de se laisser aller à quelques fantaisies en privé et s’intéresser à la montre Escale World Time Blue de la maison Louis Vuitton. La pièce, aisée à manipuler et de très belle facture offre en sus des fonctionnalités intéressantes pour un grand voyageur, une esthétique des plus plaisantes. Son cadran peint à la main de couleurs et motifs inspirés des monogrammes colorés apposés sur les bagages en vue de permettre aux clients de la Maison de les retrouver plus aisément à la descente des grands transatlantiques, dégage quelque chose de très mode qui devrait attirer l’attention de ce personnage dont la tenue n’a pas varié depuis près de deux siècles.

 

LES VOYAGES FORMENT LA JEUNESSE ET L’ENTRETIENNENT

Toutefois, en matière de couleur, il pourra également se pencher sur la montre Orbis Terrarum de Montblanc. Cette création colorée avec son planisphère indiquant les régions du monde éclairées et celles dans la nuit, associé à son réglage aisé de l’heure de référence au cadran en fonction de la ville choisie, a su convaincre les puristes au moment de son lancement. En effet,  son prix, ultra compétitif eu égard à sa complexité de mise en œuvre, a su se faire apprécier des grands voyageurs ayant la nécessité de disposer d’un tel outil sans nécessairement disposer de moyens infinis. Dans le cas du Père Noël, le choix de cette pièce est envisageable car on imagine bien le personnage capable de vivre avec le strict nécessaire au fin fond du cercle polaire.

 

Cet intermittent du spectacle, avec un cachet d’une seule nuit par an, est aussi un pilote émérite de traîneau volant tracté par des rennes. A ce titre, ce héros et bourreau de travail pourrait se laisser tenter par les versions destinées aux aviateurs et dotées, pour deux d’entres-elles, de la complication d’heures universelle. On pense bien entendu à la puissante Montre d’Aviateur Timezoner Chronographe d’IWC, ou au Chronographe Breitling Transocean Unitime de Breitling qui demeure, de tous ces types de garde-temps, celui le plus adapté aux pilotes d’aéronefs de tout type.

 

Quel que soit finalement le choix du Père Noël, tous ces instruments de mesure du temps se révèleront parfaitement adaptés à son métier et à sa fonction. Toutes sont suffisamment étanches pour résister aux rudes conditions de l’hiver. Seules sont à craindre les rayures sur le boîtier pouvant être occasionnées par des descentes trop énergiques dans des cheminées mal ramonées…