Marisa Pena, or the vintage of character

Marisa Pena created the Boutique Flair No 3 14 years ago in Geneva. The amateur vintage clothes know the address by heart. There are 20 and 90 designer treasures at reasonable prices, and some of the pieces she has redesigned. - Melina Staubitz.

 

As far back as she can remember, Marisa Pena loved the clothes. Whether in Angola, her native country, when she was a child, or later in Portugal, a country of exile and hospitality, the little girl admired the style of the women of her family, those "aesthetes who had to leave behind their lives but have never lost their elegance ". Because taste has nothing to do with money, but rather with education.

But if his parents had to learn to live without the first, they do not miss the second. They transmit to their daughter both their attraction to beauty and resilience to any test. It is therefore in a difficult context of uprooting and precariousness that Marisa makes her stylistic education.

Self-taught, her perception of clothes is more elaborate in contact with the old films she loves passionately: she spends hours watching the characters from 1920 to 1970, gleaning here and there "pieces of style", as she says, that she mentally associates with one another. Never copy-pasted, therefore, but an aesthetic with multiple influences. And a love for fashion: in Portugal, her friends come to ask her for advice, and the girl chooses for them the models they will order to the seamstress.

At 20 years, it is the departure for Switzerland, as an au pair, which concretizes her dreams of travel. When her employee and friend comes back on Wednesday from Plainpalais flea market, Marisa marvels at her finds and begs her to take him to visit this temple with many treasures. Finally comes Saturday and, with him, the stalls of the merchants. Marisa is like a girl in a candy store, and she has been going back ever since. Today, she considers the flea market and the first purchases she made there, "acquisitions by passion, for me, but also clothes too big, that I will not wear," as the starting point of his shop , opened in 2003.

Every piece she sells is a love at first sight, an "amazed purchase". The personal investment shown by Marisa is considerable: for each dress, for each jacket and for each pair of pants, there are hours spent washing, ironing, taking over, pampering. It modernizes, individualizes and brings to its triumph the quality of the vintage, which it admires to the highest point.

The stuffs that go through her hands come out with a little of her, and in return continue to inhabit it long after they leave. In addition, the satisfaction of having found "the woman who makes the dress", the customer whose personality matches the perfection with the individuality of the garment. Because Marisa does not like to hunt: she loves to dress, advise, accompany women off their beaten track. It is here, in this exchange, that she really feels artist and creative.

In a nutshell, she strives to make buying "an act of pleasure - since nothing is needed". It seems that the magic operates: Flair N ° 3, from the top of its 14 years, relies on a loyal clientele that its founder continues to seduce and amaze. And for good reason: the energy and ambition of the one who proclaims loudly that "we must ask the stars to access the moon" are irresistible - almost as much as the pearls of which abounds her shop.

Flair N ° 3, Rue John Grasset 3, 1205 Geneva.

 

 

 

 

Recent Posts

Leave a Comment

English English French French

Marisa Pena, ou le vintage de caractère

 In MODE, PERSONNALITÉ, VINTAGE

English English French French

Marisa Pena a créé la Boutique Flair No 3 il y a 14 ans à Genève. Les amatrice de vêtements vintage connaissent l’adresse par coeur. On y déniche des trésors griffés des années 20 à 90 à des prix raisonnables, et quelques pièces qu’elle a redessinées. – Melina Staubitz.

 

Aussi loin qu’elle se souvienne, Marisa Pena a aimé les vêtements. Que ce soit en Angola, sa patrie natale, lorsqu’elle était toute petite, ou plus tard au Portugal, pays d’exil et d’accueil, la petite fille admirait le style des femmes de sa famille, ces « esthètes qui ont dû laisser derrière elles leur vie mais qui n’ont jamais perdu leur élégance ». Car le goût n’a rien à voir avec l’argent, mais bien plutôt avec l’éducation.

Or, si ses parents ont dû apprendre à vivre sans le premier, ils ne manquent pas de la seconde. Ils transmettent à leur fille à la fois leur attrait pour le beau et une résilience à toute épreuve. C’est donc dans un contexte rude de déracinement et de précarité que Marisa fait son éducation stylistique.

Autodidacte, sa perception des habits se fait plus élaborée au contact des vieux films qu’elle aime passionnément : elle passe des heures à observer les personnages sortis des années 1920 à 1970, glanant par-ci par-là des « morceaux de style », comme elle dit, qu’elle associe mentalement l’un à l’autre. Jamais de copié-collé, donc, mais une esthétique aux influences multiples. Et un amour pour le stylisme : au Portugal, ses amies viennent lui demander conseil, et la jeune fille choisit pour elles les modèles qu’elles commanderont à la couturière.

A 20 ans, c’est le départ pour la Suisse, en tant que jeune fille au pair, qui concrétise ses rêves de voyage. Lorsque son employée et amie revient, un mercredi, du marché aux puces de Plainpalais, Marisa s’émerveille de ses trouvailles et la supplie de l’emmener visiter ce temple aux maints trésors. Enfin arrive le samedi et, avec lui, les étals des marchands. Marisa est comme une gamine dans un magasin de bonbons, et elle ne cesse d’y retourner depuis. Aujourd’hui, elle considère la brocante et les premiers achats qu’elle y a effectués, « des acquisitions par passion, pour moi, mais aussi des vêtements trop grands, que je ne porterai pas », comme le point de départ de sa boutique, ouverte en 2003.

Chaque pièce qu’elle y vend est un coup de foudre, un « achat émerveillé ». L’investissement personnel dont fait preuve Marisa est considérable : pour chaque robe, pour chaque veste et pour chaque pantalon, ce sont des heures passées à laver, repasser, reprendre, bichonner. Elle modernise, individualise et porte à son triomphe la qualité du vintage, qu’elle admire au plus haut point.

Les étoffes qui passent par ses mains en ressortent avec un peu d’elle, et en retour continuent à l’habiter longtemps après leur départ. Avec, en plus, la satisfaction d’avoir trouvé « la femme qui fait la robe », la cliente dont la personnalité s’accorde à la perfection avec l’individualité du vêtement. Car Marisa n’aime pas que chiner : elle adore habiller, conseiller, accompagner les femmes hors de leurs sentiers battus. C’est là, dans cet échange, qu’elle se sent réellement artiste et créative.

En quelques mots, elle s’attache à faire de l’achat « un acte de plaisir – puisqu’on n’a besoin de rien ». Il semble que la magie opère : Flair N°3, du haut de ses 14 ans, compte sur une clientèle fidèle que sa fondatrice continue à séduire et à émerveiller. Et pour cause : l’énergie et l’ambition de celle qui clame haut et fort qu’« il faut demander les étoiles pour accéder à la lune » sont irrésistibles – presque autant que les perles dont regorge sa boutique.

Flair N°3, Rue John-Grasset 3, 1205 Genève.

 

 

 

Recent Posts

Leave a Comment