Gabrielle Chanel, an alchemist who has reinvented her life

 In BEAUTY, FASHION, PERSONALITY

1937: Gabrielle Chanel at the balcony of her suite at the Ritz Paris hotel. Photo: © Roger Schall / Schall Collection

 

She has hidden her origins as a poor child growing up in the orphanage, rewriting the pages of her past as she pleases. But they can be deciphered through the clothes, perfumes and jewels she has created for life. She transformed a material poor in gold. -Isabelle Cerboneschi

 

In spite of the biographies that were devoted to him, Chanel remains a mystery. She created an empire, but her greatest creation is undoubtedly her life, which she invented from a poor and sad raw material. To all her biographers, those who believed her or pretended to believe her, she invented a childhood spent with austere and demanding aunts, a father who left to make a fortune in the Americas. The reality was different.

Gabrielle Chanel was born August 19 1883, at the hospice of Saumur. On the day of his birth, his father, Henry-Albert Chanel, fair merchant of his state, "was not there," she will say years later. Her parents were not married. Her father had already had a child with Eugenie Jeanne Devolle, whom they named Julia, a year before Gabrielle's birth, and decided to flee a life that did not tempt her. Caught up by Jeanne's family, he was forced to assume his role and to recognize his child. The Devolle will compel him, a second time, to marry Jeanne one year after the birth of their second daughter. The wedding took place on May 20 1884.

Six children were born from this union: Julia, Gabrielle, Alphonse, Antoinette, Lucien and Augustin, who will live only a few weeks. The pregnancies, the sadness, the tiredness were right of Jeanne, who died of a respiratory disease in February 1885. Albert Chanel is 39 years old. He is far too young to be widowed and has five children. So he decides to put the two boys on farms - where the children were fit to eat - and to leave the three girls in front of the orphanage.Aubazine, in March 1895.

Gabrielle Chanel lived there until the age of 18 years with her sisters and Aunt Adrienne, barely older than her. So much for the origins. Needless to say, their father, though sometimes visiting the area to visit his sister, never came to see his daughters, let alone look for them.

When they reach the age of 18 years, Gabrielle and Adrienne, who did not intend to novitiate, leave Aubazine for a boarding school, the Institution Notre-Dame, located in Moulin, a garrison town where was stationed the 10e regiment of horse hunters. Two years later, they are placed as committed in a house specialized in trousseaux and layettes. But Gabrielle Chanel's need for freedom is stronger than anything. She wants to escape her destiny and thinks that one of the ways to get there is to sing in a café-concert.

According to the legend, she obtained an honorable success at La Rotonde de Moulins, first, then at Vichy. It is in this city that she meets Etienne Balsan, the first man who will take care of her and the first key actor of her future life. From then on, his fate will follow a completely different course.

The only common point between Etienne Balsan and Gabrielle Chanel is that they are both orphans. But he was lucky to be born in a wealthy family of Châteauroux, owner of a textile factory, the Balsan factories. Chanel moved to his Royallieu property. At home, she meets the world, the half-world and especially Boy Capel, who will become his first love. It will be much more than that: a pygmalion, which will give him a taste for art, esotericism and reading. In 1910, he will help financially install a milliner's workshop upstairs, at 21 rue Cambon and open his first store in Deauville three years later.

The legend Chanel could begin.

A legend whose foundations are based on lack. We must believe that it is in these shortages - love, family, money, everything - that Gabrielle Chanel has the strength to shape a unique destiny to which its origins did not want it. And to afford the luxury of rewriting all the pages of his past that did not suit him.

But those pages, the ones she tried to erase, can be read in spite of her through the clothes, the perfumes and the jewels she created all her life.

Without this particular story, The Chanel style would not have existed. In any case not as we know and recognize. The simple lines, a little suit jacket weighted by a chain, wool cardigans inspired by those of RoyalIieu's grooms, tweed like the jackets of his lover the Duke of Westminster, black, white like the sisters of Aubazine, two-colored ballet flats because it made his big feet appear smaller, the double C, probably the perfect logos that have ever been invented which takes the patterns of Aubazine stained glass, pearls, Byzantine cuffs, some symbols fetishes, the star, the lion, his zodiac sign.

His trajectory fascinates because it is about transformation. In her case, this is even alchemy: Gabrielle Chanel has managed to turn a poor material - its origins - into gold.

 

 

Recent Posts

Leave a Comment

English English French French

Gabrielle Chanel, une alchimiste qui a réinventé sa vie

 In BEAUTÉ, MODE, PERSONNALITÉ

1937: Gabrielle Chanel au balcon de sa suite de l’hôtel Ritz Paris. Photo: © Roger Schall/Collection Schall

 

Elle a dissimulé ses origines d’enfant pauvre grandie à l’orphelinat, réécrivant les pages de son passé à sa guise. Mais on peut les décrypter à travers les vêtements, les parfums et les bijoux qu’elle a créés sa vie durant. Elle a transformé un matériau pauvre en or. – Isabelle Cerboneschi

 

Malgré soutes les biographies qui lui ont été consacrées, Chanel reste un mystère. Elle a créé un empire, mais sa plus grande création reste sans doute sa vie, qu’elle a inventée à partir d’une matière première pauvre et triste. A tous ses biographes, ceux qui l’ont crue ou ont feint de la croire, elle s’est inventé une enfance passée chez des tantes austères et exigeantes, un père parti faire fortune aux Amériques. La réalité était autre.

Gabrielle Chanel est née le 19 août 1883, à l’hospice de Saumur. Le jour de sa naissance, son père, Henry-Albert Chanel, marchand forain de son état, “n’était pas là”, déclarera-t-elle des années plus tard. Ses parents n’étaient pas mariés. Son père avait déjà fait un enfant à Eugénie Jeanne Devolle, qu’ils prénommèrent Julia, une année avant la naissance de Gabrielle, et avait décidé de fuir une vie qui ne le tentait pas. Rattrapé par la famille de Jeanne, il fut contraint d’assumer son rôle et de reconnaître son enfant. Les Devolle le contraindront, une seconde fois, à épouser Jeanne un an après la naissance de leur deuxième fille. Le mariage eut lieu le 20 mai 1884.

Six enfants sont nés de cette union: Julia, Gabrielle, Alphonse, Antoinette, Lucien et Augustin, qui ne vivra que quelques semaines. Les grossesses, la tristesse, la fatigue ont eu raison de Jeanne, qui est morte d’une maladie respiratoire en février 1885. Albert Chanel a 39 ans. Il se trouve bien trop jeune pour être veuf et affublé de cinq enfants. Il décide donc de placer les deux garçons dans des fermes – où les enfants étaient corvéables à merci – et d’abandonner les trois filles devant l’orphelinat d’Aubazine, en mars 1895.

Gabrielle Chanel a vécu là bas jusqu’à l’âge de 18 ans avec ses sœurs et sa tante Adrienne, à peine plus âgée qu’elle. Voilà pour les origines. Inutile de dire que leur père, bien que passant parfois dans la région pour rendre visite à sa sœur, n’est jamais venu voir ses filles et encore moins les rechercher.

Lorsqu’elles atteignent l’âge de 18 ans, Gabrielle et Adrienne, qui ne se destinaient pas au noviciat, quittent Aubazine pour un pensionnat, l’Institution Notre-Dame, situé à Moulin, une ville de garnison où était cantonné le 10e régiment de chasseurs à cheval. Deux ans plus tard, elles sont placées comme commises dans une maison spécialisée en trousseaux et layettes. Mais le besoin de liberté de Gabrielle Chanel est plus fort que tout. Elle veut échapper à son destin et pense qu’une des manières d’y arriver, c’est de chanter dans un café-concert.

D’après la légende, elle obtient un succès honorable à La Rotonde de Moulins, d’abord, puis à Vichy. C’est dans cette ville qu’elle rencontre Etienne Balsan, le premier homme qui s’occupera d’elle et le premier acteur clé de sa vie à venir. Dès lors, son destin va suivre un tout autre cours.

Le seul point commun entre Etienne Balsan et Gabrielle Chanel est qu’ils sont tous deux orphelins. Mais lui a eu la chance de naître dans une famille fortunée de Châteauroux, propriétaire d’une usine de textile, les manufactures Balsan. Chanel s’installe dans sa propriété de Royallieu. Chez lui, elle croise le monde, le demi-monde et surtout Boy Capel, qui deviendra son premier grand amour. Il sera bien plus que cela: un pygmalion, qui lui donnera le goût de l’art, de l’ésotérisme et de la lecture. En 1910, il l’aidera financièrement à installer un atelier de modiste à l’étage, au 21 rue Cambon et à ouvrir sa première boutique à Deauville trois ans plus tard.

La légende Chanel pouvait commencer.

Une légende dont les fondations s’appuient sur le manque. Il faut croire en effet que c’est dans ces manques – d’amour, de famille, d’argent, de tout – que Gabrielle Chanel a puisé la force de se façonner un destin unique auquel ses origines ne la vouaient pas. Et de s’offrir le luxe de réécrire toutes les pages de son passé qui ne lui convenaient pas.

Mais ces pages-là, celles qu’elle a essayé d’effacer, on peut les lire malgré elle à travers les vêtements, les parfums et les bijoux qu’elle a créés sa vie durant.

Sans cette histoire particulière, Le style Chanel n’aurait pas existé. En tout cas pas tel qu’on le connaît et reconnaît. Les lignes simplissimes, une petite veste de tailleur lestée par une chaînette, des cardigans de laine inspirés de ceux des palefreniers de RoyalIieu, du tweed comme celui des vestes de son amant le duc de Westminster, du noir, du blanc comme les sœurs d’Aubazine, des ballerines bicolores parce que cela faisait paraître ses grands pieds plus petits, le double C, sans doute le parfait des logos qui aient jamais été inventés qui reprend les motifs des vitraux d’Aubazine, des perles, des manchettes byzantines, quelques symboles fétiches, l’étoile, le lion, son signe du zodiaque.

Sa trajectoire fascine parce qu’il y est question de transformation. Dans son cas, cela relève même de l’alchimie: Gabrielle Chanel est parvenue à transformer un matériau pauvre – ses origines – en or.

 

 

Recent Posts

Leave a Comment

English English French French