English English French French

How did perfumes become treats?

February 27 2016

[Click on the image to see the gallery]

Gourmet perfumes are leading sales. This family was born in 1992 with the creation ofAngel Thierry Mugler. Addictive and regressive fragrances that refer to the sweetest childhood memories. And besides, it does not make you fat. How to explain this craze? - Isabelle Cerboneschi.

Q

hen Angel came out, it was like an air quake in the world of perfumery. A break. No one had dared add to patchouli notes used in the industry not perfumes, but aromas and create this note of chocolate caramel. It is Olivier Cresp who had the idea and who created, without knowing it and unwillingly, a new family of fragrances: greedy. Since then, these olfactory sweets prance at the top of the polls.

It's been twenty-four years - nothing by the yardstick of the history of perfumery - that perfumers do their little olfactory cooking, handling the aromas, sometimes with dexterity, sometimes with the hand a little too heavy. Do not become pastry chef who wants. All the ingredients are gone. Over the years, we loved to find tonka beans The male by Jean Paul Gaultier, created by Francis Kurkdjian and launched in 1995 (even if this perfume is officially part of the oriental-fern family), just like this note of coffee so pregnant in A Men Thierry Mugler, launched in 1996. The appearance of vanilla licorice in Lolita Lempicka in 1997 was a nice way to let emerge sweet memories: those late afternoon, at the exit of the school, where we rushed into the local tobacco shop to buy a licorice roll with a candy in its center.

The first milky notes, so regressive, appeared in the extraordinary Feu Issey Miyaké, written by Jacques Cavallier, launched in 1998 and unfortunately disappeared. This fragrance was both comforting as a hot milk in which one would have dropped a few drops of rose water and intriguing with notes of pepper and guaiac wood. The same year, we made olfactory orgies bitter almond discovered in Rahät Loukoum Serge Lutens for the Royal Palace Gardens. In 2005, Boom! An explosion of flowers and delicacies with the launch of Flowerbomb from Viktor & Rolf. Perfumers Carlos Banaïm, Domitille Bertier, and Olivier Polge wanted "a profusion of flowers, which is not only olfactory, but also tasty, a delight for all the senses". Hence the agreement around the rose, jasmine, patchouli, caramel, vanilla and white musks of this "floriental gourmand".

The rice steam in Kenzo Love 2006 contrasted its sweetness with a changing world. And what about this amazing accord of lactescent caviar and fig discovered in Womanity Thierry Mugler, launched in 2010? We had to dare ... Not to mention Life is Beautiful Lancôme, launched in 2012 with its greedy notes of orange blossom, jasmine, bitter almond, tonka bean, praline and vanilla, this olfactory dessert is a best seller: he would sell a bottle all the 5 seconds in the world, according to Lancôme.

How to explain this craze for gourmands? In the same way that we explain the children's passion for sweets. A genetic attraction to begin with: the sugar generating energy, the body is fond of it. A cultural attraction then: the sweet is the greed, but also the reward. Gourmet perfumes are regressive and reassuring smells. "Everyone loves sugar. When you put sugar in a perfume, it also makes things sweeter, says perfumer Dominique Ropion, co-author of Life is beautiful, from Lancôme. But done intelligently, one can use it in an aesthetic way and with a coherent construction. In Life is Beautiful or in Angel, the sweet notes have been used as an undeniable and indispensable building element, for a desired aesthetic finish. Gourmands are an extension of semi-oriental, semi-oriental flowers, it starts with Shalimar, Must, Obsession. But with Angelwe went much further with the Veltol notes, those famous caramel notes. "

These scented delicacies also appeal to the olfactory memory: the teenagers of the 70 years carried the eaux de toilette Town, first scents allowed. Playful and colorful juices that smelled of green apple, strawberry, bubble gum and had colors and smells of sour candy. Switch from these regressive scents to Angel it was easy for them. Their daughters, born in the 90 years, grew up with a nose in their mother's neck that smelled of patchouli and caramel. The greedy smell became symbolic of maternal love (lack of love, sometimes too). These children are now 24 years, have become young adults who buy their perfume, and naturally turn to these scents, for the sweetness of memory.

Gourmet perfumes speak to the heart. They are wrapped up in a soft blanket, they lower the anxiety rate and raise morale. Invisible blankets, reassuring, that can be carried everywhere with you.

A version of this article was published in the Hors-Série Beauté du Temps on February 27 2016

Comment les parfums sont-ils devenus des gourmandises?

27 février 2016

[Cliquez sur l’image pour voir la galerie]

Les parfums gourmands caracolent en tête des ventes. Cette famille est née en 1992 avec la création d’Angel de Thierry Mugler. Des fragrances addictives et régressives qui font référence aux souvenirs d’enfance les plus doux. Et en plus, ça ne fait pas grossir. Comment expliquer cet engouement? – Isabelle Cerboneschi.

Q

uand Angel est sorti, ce fut comme un tremblement d’air dans le monde de la parfumerie. Une rupture. Personne n’avait osé adjoindre au patchouli des notes utilisées dans l’industrie non pas des parfums, mais des arômes et créer cette note de caramel chocolaté. C’est Olivier Cresp qui en a eu l’idée et qui a créé, sans le savoir et sans le vouloir, une nouvelle famille de parfums: les gourmands. Depuis, ces douceurs olfactives caracolent au sommet des sondages.

 

Cela fait donc vingt-quatre ans – rien à l’aune de l’histoire de la parfumerie – que les parfumeurs font leur petite cuisine olfactive, maniant les arômes, parfois avec dextérité, parfois avec la main un peu trop lourde. Ne devient pas chef pâtissier qui veut. Tous les ingrédients y sont passés. Au fil des années et des coups de cœur, on a adoré trouver de la fève tonka dans Le Mâle de Jean Paul Gaultier, créé par Francis Kurkdjian et lancé en 1995 (même si ce parfum fait officiellement partie de la famille des orientaux-fougère), tout comme cette note de café si prégnante dans A Men de Thierry Mugler, lancé en 1996. L’apparition de la réglisse à la vanille dans Lolita Lempicka en 1997 fut une jolie manière de laisser émerger de doux souvenirs: ces fins d’après-midi, à la sortie de l’école, où l’on se ruait dans le bureau de tabac du coin pour acheter un rouleau de réglisse avec un bonbon en son centre.

 

Les premières notes lactées, si régressives, sont apparues dans l’extraordinaire Feu d’Issey Miyaké, écrit par Jacques Cavallier, lancé en 1998 et hélas disparu. Ce parfum était à la fois réconfortant comme un lait chaud dans lequel on aurait fait tomber quelques gouttes d’eau de rose et intrigant avec ses notes de poivre et de bois de gaïac. La même année, on faisait des orgies olfactives d’amande amère découverte dans Rahät Loukoum de Serge Lutens pour les Jardins du Palais Royal. En 2005, Boum! Une explosion de fleurs et de gourmandises avec le lancement de Flowerbomb de Viktor & Rolf. Les parfumeurs Carlos Banaïm, Domitille Bertier, et Olivier Polge voulaient «une profusion de fleurs, qui ne soit pas seulement olfactive, mais aussi gustative, un délice pour tous les sens». D’où l’accord autour de la rose, du jasmin, du patchouli, du caramel, de la vanille et des muscs blancs de ce «floriental gourmand».

 

La vapeur de riz dans Kenzo Amour en 2006 opposait sa douceur à un monde en mutation. Et que dire de cet étonnant accord de caviar lactescent et de figue découvert dans Womanity de Thierry Mugler, lancé en 2010? Il fallait oser… Sans oublier La vie est Belle de Lancôme, lancé en 2012 avec ses notes gourmandes de fleurs d’oranger, de jasmin, d’amande amère, de fève tonka, de praline et de vanille, ce dessert olfactif est un best seller: il s’en vendrait un flacon toutes les 5 secondes dans le monde, d’après Lancôme.

 

Comment expliquer cet engouement pour les gourmands? De la même manière que l’on explique la passion des enfants pour les bonbons. Une attirance génétique pour commencer: le sucre générant de l’énergie, l’organisme en est friand. Un attrait culturel ensuite: le bonbon, c’est la gourmandise, mais aussi la récompense. Les parfums gourmands sont des odeurs régressives et rassurantes. «Tout le monde aime le sucre. Quand on met du sucre dans un parfum, ça rend aussi les choses plus douces, relève le parfumeur Dominique Ropion, co-auteur de La vie est belle, de Lancôme. Mais fait intelligemment, on peut l’utiliser d’une façon esthétique et avec une construction cohérente. Dans La vie est Belle ou dans Angel, les notes sucrées ont été utilisées comme un élément de construction indéniable et indispensable, en vue d’un final esthétique voulu. Les gourmands sont une extension des semi-orientaux, des fleuris semi-orientaux, ça commence par Shalimar, Must, Obsession. Mais avec Angel, on est allé beaucoup plus loin avec les notes Veltol, ces fameuses notes caramel.»

 

Ces gourmandises parfumées font aussi appel à la mémoire olfactive: les adolescentes des années 70 portaient les eaux de toilette Village, premières senteurs autorisées. Des jus ludiques et colorés qui sentaient la pomme verte, la fraise, le bubble gum et avaient des couleurs et des odeurs de bonbons acidulés. Passer de ces senteurs régressives à Angel leur fut facile. Leurs filles, nées dans les années 90, ont grandi avec le nez dans le cou de leur mère qui sentait le patchouli et le caramel. L’odeur gourmande devenait symbolique de l’amour maternel (du manque d’amour, aussi parfois). Ces enfants ont désormais 24 ans, sont devenues de jeunes adultes qui achètent leur parfum, et se tournent naturellement vers ces senteurs-là, pour la douceur du souvenir.

 

Les parfums gourmands parlent au cœur. On s’y emmitoufle comme dans une couverture douce, ils font baisser le taux d’anxiété et remontent le moral. Des doudous invisibles, rassurants, que l’on peut emporter partout avec soi.

 

Une version de cet article a été publiée dans le Hors-Série Beauté du Temps le 27 février 2016