English English French French

Matte lips by Pat McGrath

5th June 2018

[Click on the image to see the gallery]

The most influential make-up artist in the world has launched her own make-up line in 2015. The first hue, a gold-tone effect with multiple functions called Gold 001, was exhausted in 6 minutes! It continues to launch both limited and unlimited editions. Hyperpigmented colors that go to all skin tones. – Isabelle Cerboneschi, New York. Photos: Buonomo & Cometti.

The first time I realized the power of Pat McGrath was at a Dior show. In 2003, I believe. The girls had their faces made up like a painting by Alexej von Jawlensky; skin as white as a canvas, eyes underlined by two black lines, eyebrows in the shape of arches defining the shape of the face, a mouth that seemed to have been drawn with pure pigment, an essence.

Why did I talk about her power? Because I remember makeup, but not the ready-to-wear collection, yet designed by John Galliano. I realised that makeup could be more powerful than the clothes it was supposed to support. There was, in these condensed figures, something from theatre and painted faces of New Romantics wandering on King's Road in the early 1980s. Inspiring creatures that this English, born in 1965, certainly crossed in her adolescence.

Each year, Pat McGrath creates the beauty looks of 80s shows with her army of assistants that she sometimes recruits on social networks. She is also the first make-up artist to have received the Founder's Award during CFDA awards in June 2017. Makeup as a definition of oneself? Pat McGrath had herself to bring out.

In an interview published in The GuardianI discovered that she had learned makeup from childhood with her mother, who raised her alone. At the time there was no specific line for black skin and it was necessary to make her own mixtures to avoid the grey look of pigments developed for white skin. Hence her taste for strong makeup pigments.

In 2015, she launched her own range called Pat McGrath Lab, sold first of all on her website. Its first colour, Gold 001 - a multi-purpose product that could be used wet or dry, eyeliner or on the lips, or anywhere on the body - it was sold out in 6 minutes.

In July 2017 she launched her first line of matte lipsticks called Lust; MatteTrance. I took a trip to New York to discover them. Heading to the Sephora store on 5th Avenue, where an African-American saleswoman, with perfect skin, with an ideal eyebrow, made up to the millimetre like a star preparing to walk the red carpet, led me with an unmitigated enthusiasm towards Pat McGrath's collection.

She taught me that the 9 matte lipstick hues, set in a black metal tube set with a golden mouth and launched in July 2017 in limited edition, were sold out since a long time. Just like Lip Fetish lip balm I dreamed of bringing back. Impossible to discover Omi, the nude tint created for Naomi Campbell, the muse of Pat NcGrath no more than Elson, a scarlet hue inspired by the redhead Karen Elson. But the make-up artist took care to launch in January 2018 twenty colors in unlimited edition.

The material? Astonishing, both creamy and matte, very rich in pigments, that doesn't hide the texture of the lips. Nothing to do with the matte reds that stick and dry the lips and give the effect of a waterproof mouth. This one offers real comfort. The perfect red, thought for all women. Jean, Pat McGrath's mother, who died in 1992, would have loved it.

Available on PATMcGRATH.COM and at Sephora in the United States.

English English French French

Une bouche mate signée Pat McGrath

5 juin 2018

[Cliquez sur l’image pour voir la galerie]

La make-up artist la plus influente du monde a lancé sa propre gamme de maquillage en 2015. La première teinte, un fard or aux multiples fonctions baptisé Gold 001, fut épuisée en 6 minutes! Elle continue de lancer à la fois des éditions limitées et illimitées. Des couleurs hyperpigmentées qui vont à toutes les teintes de peau. – Isabelle Cerboneschi, New York. Photos: Buonomo & Cometti.

La première fois que j’ai pris conscience de la puissance de Pat McGrath, c’était lors d’un défilé Dior. En 2003, je crois. Les filles avaient le visage peint comme un tableau d’Alexej von Jawlensky: une peau blanche comme une toile, des yeux soulignés par deux traits noirs, des sourcils en forme d’arches définissant la forme du visage, une bouche qui semblait avoir été dessinée avec du pigment pur, l’essence en somme.

Pourquoi ai-je parlé de sa puissance? Parce que je me souviens du maquillage, mais pas de la collection de prêt-à-porter, pourtant dessinée par John Galliano. Je me suis rendu compte qu’un maquillage pouvait avoir plus de force que les vêtements qu’il était censé accompagner. Il y avait, dans ces condensés de figures, quelque chose qui relevait à la fois du théâtre et des visages peints des New Romantics qui se baladaient sur King’s Road au début des années 1980. Des créatures inspirantes que cette anglaise, née en 1965, a certainement croisées dans son adolescence.

Chaque année, Pat McGrath créée les looks beauté de 80 défilés avec son armée d’assistants qu’elle recrute parfois sur les réseaux sociaux. Elle est d’ailleurs la première make-up artist a avoir reçu le Founder’s Award durant les CFDA awards en juin 2017. Le maquillage comme définition de soi? Pat McGrath avait un soi à faire sortir.

Dans une interview parue dans The Guardian, j’ai découvert qu’elle avait appris le maquillage dès l’enfance avec sa mère, qui l’a élevée seule. A l’époque il n’existait pas de ligne spécifique pour peaux noires et il fallait faire ses propres mélanges si l’on voulait éviter le côté gris des pigments développés pour les peaux blanches. D’où son goût pour le maquillage fort en pigments.

En 2015, elle a lancé sa propre gamme baptisée Pat McGrath Lab, vendue tout d’abord sur son site internet. Sa première couleur, Gold 001 – un produit à multiples usages que l’on pouvait utiliser sec ou mouillé, en eyeliner ou sur les lèvres, ou n’importe où sur le corps – fut épuisée en 6 minutes.

En juillet 2017 elle a lancé sa première gamme de rouge à lèvres mats baptisés Lust: MatteTrance. J’ai profité d’un voyage à New York pour les découvrir. Direction le magasin Sephora sur la 5e Avenue, où une vendeuse d’origine afro-américaine, à la peau parfaite, au sourcil idéal, maquillée au millimètre près telle une star s’apprêtant à arpenter le tapis rouge, m’a conduite avec un enthousiasme non feint vers la gamme de Pat McGrath.

Elle m’a appris que les 9 teintes de rouge à lèvres mats, enchâssées dans un tube de métal noir serti d’une bouche dorée et lancés en juillet 2017 en édition limitée, étaient sold out depuis longtemps.  Tout comme le baume à lèvre Lip Fetish que je rêvais de rapporter. Impossible donc de découvrir Omi, la teinte nude créé pour Naomi Campbell, la muse de Pat NcGrath pas plus qu’Elson, une teinte écarlate inspirée par la rousse Karen Elson. Mais la make-up artist a pris soin de lancer en janvier 2018 une vingtaine de teintes en édition illimitée.

La matière? Etonnante, à la fois crémeuse et mate, très riche en pigments, mais qui ne camoufle pas la texture des lèvres. Rien à voir avec les rouges mats qui collent et dessèchent les lèvres et font l’effet d’un imperméable à bouche. Celui-ci propose un vrai confort. Le rouge parfait, pensé pour toutes les femmes. Jean, la mère de Pat McGrath, décédée en 1992, aurait adoré.

En vente sur son site PATMcGRATH.COM et chez Sephora aux Etats-Unis.