A gold bracelet like a fur

In WATCHMAKING, JEWELLERY, FASHION
English English French French

The mastery of gold bracelets at Piaget goes back to the origins of the Manufacture. For the SIHH 2018, the house launches theExtremely Lady, a model inspired by a historical piece, with a hand-guilloché bracelet. - Isabelle Cerboneschi.

It looks like a fabric, or rather a fur. When you take the watch and turn it over, you discover the stack side of the links in its "u" -shaped bracelet that fit together like a game of Tetris. While the front side, all this construction is hidden under a superb work of hand guilloche.

The watch Extremely Lady looks vintage even though it is today. His bracelet, entirely designed at the Manufacture of Plan-les-Ouates, is inspired by a historical model: the Patrimony. This gold ribbon carries with it a piece of mystery. How does one go from a geometrical assemblage to this abstraction?

It all starts with a thin golden bar of about 150 grams that enters a numerically controlled machine tool from which 500 small links will come out. It takes eight hours of work to make these 500 components, which are then checked one by one, to ensure that they have been perfectly cut.

In the workshops where jeweler-jewelers work, there is silence. All the gold bracelets, at Piaget, are assembled by hand. Heritage pieces, like theExtremely Lady, are manufactured in the same way as they were in the 60 years. A chance that Piaget knew how to preserve this know-how, unlike other houses that left it during the quartz crisis in the 70 years.

To make the bracelet, jeweler-chain link a link in the other using a clamp on a kind of mini-harrow, "a fork", a bit like a Lego. In Switzerland, there is no more training of chain. Piaget being the last manufacturer to manufacture such bracelets, she is forced to train hers.

It takes a week of work to make a bracelet: 9 assembly hours, plus 5 hours of adjustment (the operation thanks to which the bracelet is welded to the box, ed). It is then softened with Marseille soap before being etched. An operation that lasts about three days. To obtain this effect of fur, the engraver gives small scratches on the bracelet with the help of a stall that enters the material, leaving apparently disordered reasons. Each little move gradually masks the work of jewelry.

The links calibrated with the cord do not emerge unscathed from the marks left by the stall. Beauty is born of the scars left in gold, it springs from the passage of order to disorder.

The Patrimony watch inspired by the Extremely Lady

Recent Posts

Leave a Comment

Un bracelet d’or comme une fourrure

 In HORLOGERIE, JOAILLERIE, MODE

La maîtrise des bracelets d’or, chez Piaget, remonte aux origines de la manufacture. Pour le SIHH 2018, la maison lance l’Extremely Ladyun modèle inspiré d’une pièce historique, avec un bracelet guilloché main. – Isabelle Cerboneschi.

 

On dirait un tissu, ou plutôt une fourrure. Quand on saisit la montre et qu’on la retourne, on découvre côté pile les maillons de son bracelet en forme de «u» qui s’emboîtent, comme un jeu de Tetris. Alors que côté face, toute cette construction est masquée sous un superbe travail de guilloché main.

La montre Extremely Lady a des airs vintage bien qu’elle soit d’aujourd’hui. Son bracelet, entièrement conçu à la manufacture de Plan-les-Ouates, est inspiré d’un modèle historique: la Patrimony. Ce ruban d’or porte en lui une part de mystère. Comment passe-t-on d’un assemblage géométrique à cette abstraction?

Tout commence par une fine barre d’or d’environ 150 grammes qui entre dans une machine-outil à commande numérique de laquelle sortiront 500 petits maillons. Il faut compter huit heures de travail pour fabriquer ces 500 composants qui sont ensuite contrôlés un par un, afin de s’assurer qu’ils ont été parfaitement découpés.

Dans les ateliers où œuvrent les bijoutiers-chaînistes, règne le silence. Tous les bracelets en or, chez Piaget, sont assemblés à la main. Les pièces du patrimoine, comme l’Extremely Lady, sont fabriquées de la même manière qu’elles l’étaient dans les années 60. Une chance que Piaget ait su conserver ce savoir-faire, contrairement à d’autres maisons qui l’ont délaissé pendant la crise du quartz dans les années 70.

Pour réaliser le bracelet, le bijoutier-chaîniste encastre un maillon dans l’autre à l’aide d’une pince sur une sorte de mini-herse, « une fourchette», un peu comme un Lego. En Suisse, il n’existe plus de formation de chaîniste. Piaget étant la dernière manufacture à fabriquer de tels bracelets, elle est donc contrainte de former les siens.

Il faut compter une semaine de travail pour réaliser un bracelet: 9 heures d’assemblage, auxquelles s’ajoutent 5 heures d’ajustage (l’opération grâce à laquelle le bracelet est soudé à la boîte, ndlr). Il est ensuite assoupli au savon de Marseille avant d’être gravé.  Une opération qui dure environ trois jours. Pour obtenir cet effet de fourrure, le graveur donne de petits coups de griffes sur le bracelet à l’aide d’une échoppe qui rentre dans la matière, laissant des motifs apparemment désordonnés. Chaque petit coup masque peu à peu le travail de bijouterie.

Les maillons calibrés au cordeau ne ressortent pas indemnes des marques laissées par l’échoppe. La beauté naît des cicatrices laissées dans l’or, elle jaillit du passage de l’ordre au désordre.

La montre Patrimony dont s’inspire l’Extremely Lady

Recent Posts

Leave a Comment

English English French French