English English French French

Preen and the scarlet letter

January 8 2018

xpreen1

Thea Bregazzi and Justin Thornton, the founders of the English brand, designed their spring-summer 2018 collection as a manifesto. They wish to give back their power to women through the grace of a vowel: A. - Isabelle Cerboneschi.

B

launched. The first look of Preen's 2018 Spring-Summer Parade is entirely white: from the cap to the linen shirt, to the seventeenth-century lace cuffs to the pants. With the exception of one thing: a letter A, scarlet, embroidered on the shirt at the chest.

This letter could only be an embroidery, an ornament, half the initials of a person, if it were not a sign of infamy: "A" for adultery.

The collection of Thea Bregazzi and Justin Thornton, the founders of the brand, is inspired by the novel The Scarlet Letter Nathaniel Hawthorne. A work published in 1850 that criticizes the Puritan society in which the author grew up. It is about destiny Hester Prynne, a young woman living in a Puritan Massachusetts community, between 1642 and 1649. Because she is accused of committing adultery with a man from the village, whom she had a child in the absence of her husband, Hester Prynne is sentenced to bear the letter A - for adultery - in red, on the chest. A novel that raises fundamental questions about the nature of sin, about redemption, and about the value of judgment. The witch hunt is not far.

She is not far from us either. A world in which some dark beings have the power to sentence a girl to death because she has been raped, is she still endowed with a semblance of humanity? It's in this world that the two daughters of Thea Bregazzi and Justin Thornton will grow up, and Preen's 2018 spring-summer collection is a painful reminder. With their clothes, the founders of Preen hear their daughters, and all women, to let no one take their natural power.

Men have always loved identifying their supposed enemies with outward signs of recognition. As if, by affixing on the "others" a letter, a symbol, a star, one could succeed in circumscribing them and keeping them at a distance. To impose the separation between oneself and the rest by the stigma.

The last collection of Preen would like to shake our consciences, but smoothly. In the softness of a few ruffles, in the false candor of asymmetrical dresses that veil and unveil the skin, in the immaculate whiteness of wise cotton dresses, in the asymmetry of ties blouses, links that must be overcome, in the subtlety of light lace over-dresses like free thoughts, in the delicacy of flesh-colored underwear-dress, like a revealed skin.

Since they created their brand in 1996, Justin Thornton and Thea Bregazzi have imposed a style that excludes nothing: neither the feminine, the masculine, the lightness, the rigor, the historical references, nor the anchoring in everyday life. They dress Rihanna, Gwyneth Paltrow, Beyonce, the Duchess of Cambridge or Michèle Obama, powerful personalities. Their spring-summer 2018 collection is a sweet way to empower women.

A version of this article appeared on the website of Cent magazine, a digital and TV magazine published four times a year: www.centmagazine.co.uk

English English French French

Preen et la lettre écarlate

8 janvier 2018

xpreen1

Thea Bregazzi et Justin Thornton, les fondateurs de la marque anglaise, ont conçu leur collection printemps-été 2018 comme un manifeste. Ils souhaitent rendre leur pouvoir aux femmes par la grâce d’une voyelle: A. – Isabelle Cerboneschi.

B

lanc. Le premier look du défilé printemps-été 2018 de Preen est entièrement blanc: du bonnet à la chemise de lin, en passant par les poignets de dentelle façon XVIIe siècle, jusqu’au pantalon. A l’exception d’une seule chose: une lettre A, écarlate, brodée sur la chemise au niveau de la poitrine.

Cette lettre pourrait n’être qu’une broderie, un ornement, la moitié des initiales d’une personne, si se ce n’était pas un signe d’infamie: « A » pour adultère.

La collection de Thea Bregazzi et Justin Thornton, les fondateurs de la marque, s’inspire du roman The Scarlet Letter de Nathaniel Hawthorne. Un ouvrage publié en 1850 qui critique la société puritaine dans laquelle l’auteur a grandi. Il y est question du destin d’Hester Prynne, une jeune femme vivant dans une communauté puritaine du Massachusetts, entre 1642 et 1649. Parce qu’elle est accusée d’avoir commis un adultère avec un homme du village, dont elle a eu un enfant en l’absence de son époux, Hester Prynne est condamnée  à porter la lettre A – pour adultère – en rouge, sur la poitrine. Un roman qui pose des questions fondamentales sur la nature du péché,  sur la rédemption, et sur la valeur du jugement. La chasse aux sorcières n’est pas loin.

Elle n’est pas très éloignée de nous non plus. Un monde dans lequel certains êtres obscurs ont le pouvoir de condamner à mort une jeune fille parce qu’elle a été violée, est-il encore doté d’un semblant d’humanité? C’est dans ce monde-là que les deux filles de Thea Bregazzi et Justin Thornton vont grandir, et la collection printemps-été 2018 de Preen en est un douloureux rappel. Avec leurs vêtements, les fondateurs de Preen entendent dire à leurs filles, et à toutes les femmes, de ne laisser personne s’emparer de leur pouvoir naturel. 

Les hommes ont toujours adoré identifier leurs supposés ennemis par des signes extérieurs de reconnaissance. Comme si, en apposant sur « les autres » une lettre, un symbole, une étoile, on pouvait réussir à les circonscrire et les tenir à distance. Imposer la séparation entre soi et le reste par le stigmate.

La dernière collection de Preen voudrait secouer nos consciences, mais sans heurt. Dans la douceur de quelques volants, dans la fausse candeur de robes asymétriques qui voilent et dévoilent la peau, dans la blancheur immaculée de robes de coton sage, dans l’asymétrie de chemisiers à liens, des liens dont on doit s’affranchir, dans la subtilité de sur-robes de dentelle légères comme les pensées libres, dans la délicatesse de robe-lingerie couleur chair, comme une peau révélée.

Depuis qu’ils ont créé leur marque en 1996, Justin Thornton and Thea Bregazzi ont imposé un style qui n’exclue rien: ni le féminin, ni le masculin, ni la légèreté, ni la rigueur, ni les références historiques, ni l’ancrage dans le quotidien. Ils habillent Rihanna, Gwyneth Paltrow, Beyonce, la Duchesse de Cambridge ou Michèle Obama, des personnalités puissantes. Leur collection printemps-été 2018 est une manière douce de rendre leur pouvoir aux femmes.

Une version de cet article est parue sur le site de Cent magazine, un magazine digital et TV publié quatre fois par an: www.centmagazine.co.uk

English English French French