English English French French

Saul Goldberg; in his blood runs a river of diamonds ...

May 9

[Click on the image to see the gallery]

Diamond negotiators and dealers are absolutely discrete and do not open their doors easily. Saul Goldberg, the president of the William Goldberg company, is showing his jewels at GemGenève as early as the 10th of May, has agreed to raise slightly the veil on the Diamond District in New York, and on this so secret business. Isabelle Cerboneschi , New York.

When William Goldberg, Saul Goldberg's father, started in the diamond industry, in XNUMX, he could not imagine that one day a street in New York would bear his name. Today, the William Goldberg company, of which Saul Goldberg is the president, has sprung up on William Goldberg Way. So chic!

William Goldberg was not born with a silver spoon in his mouth, let alone with a diamond. This is what makes its trajectory so interesting. "We lived in the same neighbourhood in Williamsburg, Brooklyn," says Lili Goldberg, his widow. Her parents had a candy shop just around the corner, I could not afford to buy them: we lived at 11 in a three-room apartment. "

Lili Goldberg is the matriarch; today she still spends four days a week in the office. Luckily, she was present the day of my visit.

Lili and William met at the beginning of the 1950; they danced together, started again, "He danced the mambo very well and he was nicknamed Mambo Willie". They got married in 1955. It was three years later that William Goldberg joined forces with Irving Weiss to create Goldberg & Weiss, and then the William Goldberg Diamond Corporation in 1973.

"When he was a child, William went to a local religious school that had connections with the stone industry," says Lili Goldberg. He did an apprenticeship to become a diamond dealer, but he was not a very good cutter, he was the worst of all! On the other hand, he was an excellent seller. To avoid spoiling the money his mother had invested in him by making him do his apprenticeship, he decided to become a merchant. Then in 1952 he joined with Irving Weiss, an excellent diamond dealer. "

William Goldberg never offered an engagement ring to his wife but he christened a blue 30,06 carat diamond that was cut by his company, the Blue Lili. "It did not do much to be honest," she said disinterested. I never wore it. It was too fat. I think it is in a collection today. If my husband had not been in the diamond industry, I do not think I would have worn jewellery. And especially not having grown up in the family from which I came! "

When I ask her if she had thought that one day her life could change so much she replies, "I has not changed! I am the same person that I have always been. But I like this business; it gave us enough to support ourselves."

Today, the patriarch, who holds the reins of the company, is Saul Goldberg. The president works with his family, his mother of course, his sister Eve, his brother-in-law Barry Berg, and his son Benjamin. As early as the XNUMX May, visitors to the show GemGenève will be able to discover their exceptional diamonds on their stand.

But that day, we were in New York, and I had a thousand questions to ask him about this secret job. I could hardly contain myself...

IC: How do you manage to see inside a rough diamond its inherent qualities and hidden beauty that will be revealed by the size?
Saul Goldberg: It's a long training. You have to travel, see many rough diamonds in many countries, see them again and again, and gradually you feel what the stone can become. There is always a risk, but ...

Is this a form of intuition?
Yes, I think, to a certain extent. But it's mostly a matter of experience. For example, I used to buy rough diamonds from Botswana that looked a little greenish, but with the experience of pruning, you could imagine that this aspect was only on the surface. It was a gamble to buy these rough khaki-cut diamonds, but none of the diamonds obtained after the cut remained green. Some have become H, A, and some even C-coloured diamonds. But there is no machine that can tell you what a rough diamond will become, apart from your intuition, and courage.

Of all the most exceptional diamonds that have passed through this office, which has given you the most intense emotion?
At my wedding, my mother wore a round and blue diamond pendant. He was blue as ink. If you had seen it, you would have thought it was a sapphire. For me it's a very symbolic piece. I had asked my father to keep it, but eventually he sold it. This diamond has always stayed in my mind. Later we had in our hands a lilac diamond of 3 carats. I had never seen this color of my life. And we sold it. Of course we happen to have the chance to put some stones aside and be able to keep them, but we are first and foremost merchants, not collectors. Selling stones is our business. Colored diamonds affect me more particularly. White diamonds are fantastic of course, but these colors! I saw a lot of white diamonds D flawless in my life, but a single lilac diamond, and a single purple diamond.

In 1975 your father was able to buy the Queen of Holland, a blue diamond of 136,25 carats and the exchange was done in the coffers of a Swiss bank. It looks like a movie. Can you tell us this story?
We should make a novel of this adventure! I was 20 years old. I was still going to college and to my eyes it was like a treasure hunt. We went to a small town in the north of Switzerland, where a river was flowing, we went down into the vaults of a bank, in the basement, the stone was taken out of a pocket. We bought it, brought to the Gemological Institute of America (GIA), it was the original Queen of Holland! A bit like a James Bond movie. At the time this whole operation was top secret.

Did the person who sold it to you keep it in that safe?
Even if so, it was a very long time ago, this type of transaction is very discreet and is done under ta veil of secrecy; we never talk about it. I do not know if this piece came from a person of royal rank, a Maharajah, I do not even know if the person who sold it is still alive, but we can assume that the origins of the stone come from India.

How did you feel when your eyes first focused on the 265,82 carats rough diamond from which Beluga, the largest oval D flawless diamond to emerge?
The crude had been bought in Israel, this sale was a team effort. The stone was sumptuous! We saw immediately that we could turn it into a big oval diamond. It was a unique piece at that time. A piece of rock!

When you hold such a stone in your hands, do you feel anything?
Yes, it's fantastic to be able to hold large diamonds in the hand; because they are rough, they have emerged from the earth, they are destined to be cut, polished, and will come out a marvel, which will in turn adorn a piece of jewellery, a unique collector's item.

Do you wear diamonds?
Yes (he said showing a ring), I received that one from my father. A brown diamond, with orange tones.

You love coloured diamonds, so what did you think when you saw the crude one that became the Red Shield, a red diamond of great rarity*?
It was a huge job! When we saw the arrival of the Brazil raw diamond, we immediately knew that it was a special piece. Brazilian raws of pink or reddish colour, can take many directions. They are responsible for many sleepless nights. We go to bed at night with a stone that we think is a vivid rose, and wake up after the cut with a diamond much less rich than we had thought. These stones are not very reliable; they are capricious. And sometimes even another colour can appear, they can turn pink-purple. The crude that gave the Red Shield was pure red, but getting the colour after cutting was not easy.

How did your family come up with the idea of ​​registering in 1999 the Ashoka® cup that takes its name from a 41.37 carat D flawless diamond found in the Golconde mines?
This idea was born after many discussions between our family and people in the trade. There was a renewed interest in vintage stones, cushion sizes, "old mine" diamonds. The market was thirsty for something rare, unique, fresh. Why not bring up to date an old size? We started by doing experiments with the Ashoka size, the stones were beautiful and started to sell slowly. The name was available, so we introduced this brand and this cut which, in our eyes, had a great future. Gradually, the Ashoka collection began to exist as such. We have chosen some of the clients with whom we have negotiated exclusive contracts: if you want to buy Ashoka diamonds, whether in London, Hong Kong or Paris, you can only do this in a few specific shops. In a sense, it protects our customers and the brand, and it allows the brand to grow. But the beauty of the stone speaks for itself: it sells itself.

This adventure could begin with a historic diamond.
Yes, there is an original Ashoka diamond of 41.37 carat, D flawless which belonged to the actress Maria Félix. One day, this diamond appeared at a Sotheby's auction at Saint-Moritzwe tried to buy it, but we did not succeed. I think we improved the cut of the original, in terms of shine and life. Ashoka diamonds are big, they look bigger than they really are. They attract me, I find them sexy, and it's not because it's our brand. A diamond must speak to you. That's what my father said.

The Diamond District on 47e Street has evolved a lot since the time your father worked there. How was it back then?
It was very busy, there was a lot of business, sales, shopping. A salesman came to see my father every morning, at 9h, he stayed an hour, an hour and a half, they talked about business, then they did business, buying one to the other and vice versa. I think with the arrival of the internet and the ease with which we now get information, something of this tradition has been lost. The dynamic, it has continued, but today we send the certificates, the photos of the stones by e-mail, and it has nothing to do with the way old school to close deals that I had the chance to know.

Why did the diamond industry move to Israel and India?
It's a question of technology, of price too. In India, the banking conditions are much more advantageous than in New York, loans are easy to obtain, it is easier to conduct your business there. This job requires a lot of money, transactions are carried out at very high levels.

But you are still here in New York.
Because we have a loyal clientele and a very healthy business.

Few can claim to have given their name to a street. In 2006, the street where your building is located has been called the William Goldberg Way. How was this made possible?
When my father died (in 2003, ed), I thought that with what he had brought to New York and this industry, he could deserve to give his name to a street. I met some politicians, they told me it was legitimate and they tabled a motion. In a very secret industry like diamonds, my father was not afraid to answer interviews, talk about our job, try to make it understood. Most actors prefer to stay behind the scenes and not be visible, sometimes for security reasons as well. But that was not the case with my father.

What feelings do you have when you walk down that street and see your father's name up there?
I feel something very strong. I go under this sign every day to come to the office. Besides, we planted one on our terrace.

William Goldberg was very concerned about theconflict diamonds, blood diamonds / war. Today, thanks to the Kimberley Process, 99% of the diamonds on the market are clean, or are supposed to be. How can we be certain when we know that in some African countries, for example, today's rebels may officially reign over the state tomorrow?
How to be sure? We can never be sure that there will be no more dishonest and corrupt people in the world ... Our industry is doing everything in its power to protect themselves and ensure the origin of diamonds. But there will always be someone to defy the rules ... In fact, customers buy diamonds from people they trust in their comfort zone. If they come to us, or if they go to see a big name in the place, it's for a reason. You can have as many certificates as you want, it's a story of trust, it's eye to eye.

Your father said that a diamond should bring joy. Do they make you happy?
Yes! They make me happy. They make people happy. They add a little light, a shine, a fire, I do not know how to explain it ...

GemGeneve from 10 to 13 Mai, Palexpo, François-Peyrot Road 30, 1218 Le Grand-Saconnex, Switzerland. https://gemgeneve.com

* According to statistics, for every one million carats of diamonds mined from the mines, only one carat will be a pink diamond. And real red diamonds are even rarer.

English English French French

Saul Goldberg, dans son sang coule une rivière de diamants…

9 mai 2017

[Cliquez sur l’image pour voir la galerie]

Les diamantaires et les négociants sont d’une absolue discrétion  et n’ouvrent pas facilement leurs portes. Saul Goldberg, le président de la société William Goldberg, qui expose ses joyaux à GemGenève dès le 10 mai, a accepté de lever légèrement le voile sur le Diamond District à New York, et sur ce métier si secret. Isabelle Cerboneschi, New York.

Quand William Goldberg , le père de Saul Goldberg, a commencé dans l’industrie du diamant, en 1952, il ne pouvait imaginer qu’un jour, une rue de New York porterait son nom. Aujourd’hui, la société William Goldberg, dont Saul Goldberg est le président, a pignon sur la William Goldberg Way. So chic!

William Goldberg n’est pas né avec une cuillère en argent dans la bouche, et encore moins avec un diamant. C’est ce qui fait d’ailleurs tout l’intérêt de sa trajectoire. «Nous habitions le même quartier à Williamsburg, dans Brooklyn, confie Lili Goldberg, sa veuve. Ses parents avaient une boutique de bonbons juste au coin de la rue, Je n’avais pas les moyens de m’en acheter: nous vivions à 11 dans un appartement de trois pièces.»

Lili Goldberg, c’est la matriarche: aujourd’hui encore elle passe quatre jours par semaine au bureau. Par chance, elle était présente le jour de ma visite.

Lili et William se sont rencontrés au début des années 1950: ils ont dansé ensemble, ont recommencé, « Il dansait très bien le mambo: on l’avait surnommé Mambo Willie ». Et ils se sont mariés en 1955. Cela faisait trois ans que William Goldberg s’était associé avec Irving Weiss pour créer la Goldberg & Weiss, puis la William Goldberg Diamond Corporation en 1973.

«Quand il était enfant, William allait dans une école religieuse du quartier qui avait des connexions avec l’industrie des pierres, explique Lili Goldberg. Il a fait un apprentissage pour devenir diamantaire, mais il n’était pas un très bon tailleur, c’était même le pire de tous! En revanche, c’était un excellent vendeur. Pour éviter de gâcher l’argent que sa mère avait misé sur lui en lui faisant faire son apprentissage, il a décidé de devenir marchand. Puis en 1952 il s’est associé avec Irving Weiss, un excellent diamantaire, lui.»

William Goldberg n’a jamais offert de bague de fiançailles à son épouse mais il a baptisé un diamant bleu de 30,06 carats qui fut taillé par son entreprise, le Blue Lili. «Cela ne m’a pas fait grand chose, pour être honnête, dit la principale désintéressée. Je ne l’ai jamais porté. Il était trop gros. Je pense qu’aujourd’hui il est dans une collection. Si mon mari n’avait pas été dans l’industrie du diamant, je ne crois pas que j’aurais porté des bijoux. Et surtout pas en ayant grandi dans la famille dont je suis issue!»

Quand je lui demande si elle avait songé qu’un jour sa vie pourrait changer à ce point elle répond: « Elle n’a pas changé! Je suis toujours la même personne que j’ai été. Mais j’aime ce business: il nous a donné suffisamment pour assurer notre subsistance.»

Aujourd’hui, le patriarche, celui qui tient les rênes de l’entreprise, c’est Saul Goldberg. Le président travaille en famille, avec sa mère bien sûr, sa soeur Eve, son beau-frère Barry Berg, et son fils Benjamin. Dès le 10 mai, les visiteurs du salon GemGenève pourront découvrir leurs damants exceptionnels sur leur stand.

Mais ce jour-là, nous étions à New York, et j’avais mille questions à lui poser sur ce métier si secret. Je m’en suis difficilement tenue à une vingtaine…

I.C: Comment réussissez vous à voir à l’intérieur d’un diamant brut ses qualités inhérente et sa beauté cachée qui sera révélée par la taille?
Saul Goldberg: C’est un long entrainement. Il faut voyager, voir beaucoup de diamants bruts dans de nombreux pays, en voir encore et encore, et petit à petit vous ressentez ce que la pierre peut devenir. Il y a toujours un risque, mais…

Est-ce que cela relève d’une forme d’intuition?
Oui, je pense, dans une certaine mesure. Mais c’est surtout une question d’expérience. Par exemple j’avais l’habitude d’acheter une qualité de brut du Botswana qui avait l’air un peu verdâtre, mais avec l’expérience de la taille, on pouvait imaginer que cet aspect n’était qu’en surface. C’était un pari d’acheter ces diamant bruts tirant sur le kaki, mais aucun des diamants obtenus après la taille n’est resté vert. Certains sont devenus des diamants de couleur H, A, et certains même des C. Mais il n’existe aucune machine qui puisse vous dire ce qu’un diamant brut va devenir, à part votre intuition, et du courage.

De tous les  diamants les plus exceptionnels qui sont passés dans ce bureau, lequel vous a procurée l’émotion la plus intense?
Lors de mon mariage, ma mère portait un diamant rond et bleu en pendentif. Il était bleu comme de l’encre. Si vous l’aviez vu, vous auriez vraisemblablement pensé qu’il s’agissait d’un saphir. Pour moi c’est une pièce très symbolique. J’avais demandé à mon père qu’on le garde, mais finalement il l’a vendu. Ce diamant est toujours resté dans mon esprit. Plus tard on a eu entre les mains un diamant lilas de 3 carats. Je n’avais jamais vu cette couleur de ma vie. Et on l’a vendu. Bien sûr il nous arrive d’avoir la chance de pouvoir mettre quelques pierres de côté et pouvoir les garder, mais nous sommes avant tout des marchands, pas des collectionneurs. Vendre des pierres, c’est notre business. Les diamants de couleur me touchent plus particulièrement. Les diamants blancs sont fantastiques bien sûr, mais ces couleurs! J’ai vu beaucoup de diamants blancs D flawless dans ma vie, mais un seul diamant lilas, et un seul diamant violet.

En 1975 votre père a pu acheter le Queen of Holland, un diamant bleu de 136,25 carats et l’échange s’est fait dans les coffres d’une banque suisse. Cela ressemble à un film. Pouvez-vous nous raconter cette histoire?
On devrait en faire un roman de cette aventure! J’avais 20 ans. J’allais encore à l’université et à mes yeux cela s’apparentait à une chasse au trésor. Nous nous sommes rendus dans une petite ville du nord de la Suisse, où coulait une rivière, nous sommes  descendus dans les coffres d’une banque, en sous-sol, la pierre a été sortie d’une pochette. Nous l’avons achetée, apportée au Gemological Institute of America (GIA), c’était le Queen of Holland original! Un peu comme un film de James Bond. A l’époque toute cette opération était top secret.

La personne qui vous l’a vendue l’avait-elle cachée dans ce coffre?
Même si c’était il y a très longtemps, ce genre de transactions sont très discrètes et se font sous le sceau du secret: on n’en parle jamais. Je ne sais pas si cette pièce provenait d’une personne de rang royal, d’un Maharajah, je ne sais même pas si la personne qui l’a vendue est encore en vie, mais on peut supposer que les origines de la pierre proviennent de l’Inde.

Qu’avez-vous ressenti quand vos yeux se sont portés pour la première sur le diamant brut de 265,82 carats dont a émergé le Beluga, le plus gros diamant oval D flawless?
Le brut avait été acheté en Israël, cette vente fut un travail d’équipe. La pierre était somptueuse! Nous avons vu immédiatement que nous pourrions la transformer dans un gros diamant oval. C’était une pièce unique à cette époque. Un sacré morceau de roc!

Quand vous tenez une telle pierre dans les mains, est-ce que vous ressentez quelque chose?
Oui, c’est fantastique de pouvoir tenir de gros diamants dans sa main: du fait qu’ils sont bruts, qu’ils ont émergé de la terre, qu’ils sont destinés à être taillés, polis, et qu’il en sortira une merveille, qui ornera à son tour une pièce de joaillerie, un objet de collection unique.

Portez-vous des diamants?
Oui (dit-il en montrant une bague), j’ai reçu celui-là de mon père. Un diamant brun, avec des tons orangers.

Vous qui aimez les diamants de couleur, qu’avez-vous pensé en voyant le brut qui est devenu le Red Shield, un diamant rouge d’une grande rareté*?
Ce fut un travail énorme! Quand on a vu arriver le brut du Brésil, on a tout de suite su que c’était une pièce spéciale. Les bruts du Brésil de couleur rose ou rougeâtre, peuvent prendre de nombreuses directions. Elles sont responsables de nombreuses nuits sans sommeil. On se couche le soir avec une pierre que l’on pense être d’un rose vivid, et on se réveille après la coupe avec un diamant beaucoup moins riche que l’on avait pensé. Ces pierres ne sont pas très fiables: elles sont capricieuses. Et parfois une autre couleur peut apparaître: elles peuvent se révéler rose-pourpre. Le brut qui a donné le Red Shield était rouge pur, mais parvenir après la taille à cette couleur n’est de loin pas automatique.

Comment votre famille a-t-elle eu l’idée de déposer la coupe Ashoka® en 1999 qui prend son nom d’un diamant de 41.37 carat D flawless découvert dans les mines de Golconde?
Cette idée est née suite à de nombreuses discussions entre notre famille et des personnes du métier. Il y avait un regain d’intérêt pour les pierres vintage, les tailles coussin, les diamants « old mine ».  Le marché avait soif de quelque chose de rare, d’unique, de frais. Pourquoi ne pas remettre au goût du jour une taille ancienne? Nous avons commencé par faire des expériences avec la taille Ashoka, les pierres étaient belles et ont commencé doucement à se vendre. Le nom étant disponible, nous avons déposé cette marque et cette coupe qui, à nos yeux, avait un grand avenir. Peu à peu, la collection Ashoka a commencé à exister en tant que telle. Nous avons choisi quelque clients avec qui nous avons négocié des contrats d’exclusivité: si vous voulez acheter des diamants Ashoka, que ce soit à Londres, à Hong Kong ou à Paris, vous ne pouvez le faire que dans quelques boutiques spécifiques. En un sens, cela protège nos clients ainsi que la marque, et cela permet à celle-ci de grandir. Mais la beauté de la pierre parle pour elle-même: elle se vend toute seule.

Cette aventure a pu commencer grâce à un diamant historique.
Oui, il existe un diamant Ashoka original de 41.37 carat, D flawless qui a appartenu à l’actrice Maria Félix. Un jour, ce diamant est apparu lors d’une vente aux enchères de Sotheby’s à Saint-Moritz, nous avons essayé de l’acheter, mais nous n’avons pas réussi. Je pense que nous avons amélioré la coupe de l’original, en terme de brillance et de vie. Les diamants Ashoka sont imposants, ils ont l’air plus gros qu’ils ne sont en réalité. Ils m’attirent, je les trouve sexy, et ce n’est pas parce que c’est notre marque. Un diamant doit vous parler. C’est ce que mon père disait.

Le Diamond District sur la 47e rue a beaucoup évolué depuis le temps où votre père y travaillait. Comment était-ce à l’époque?
C’était très animé, on y faisait beaucoup d’affaires, des ventes, des achats. Un vendeur venait voir mon père tous les matins, à 9h, il restait une heure, une heure et demi, ils parlaient du business, puis ils faisaient affaire, l’un achetant à l’autre et vice versa. Je pense qu’avec l’arrivée d’internet et la facilité que l’on a désormais d’obtenir des informations, quelque chose de cette tradition a été perdue. La dynamique, elle a perduré, mais aujourd’hui on s’envoie les certificats, les photos des pierres par e-mail, et cela n’a plus rien à voir avec manière old school de conclure des affaires que j’ai eu la chance de connaître.

Pourquoi l’industrie du diamant s’est elle déplacée en Israël et en Inde?
C’est une question de technologie, de prix aussi. En Inde, les conditions bancaires sont beaucoup plus avantageuses qu’à New York, les prêts sont faciles à obtenir, c’est plus aisé de mener vos affaires là-bas. Ce métier demande d’avoir à disposition beaucoup d’argent, les transactions s’effectuent à des niveaux très élevés.

Mais vous êtes toujours là, à New York.
Parce que nous avons une clientèle loyale et un business très sain.

Peu de personnes peuvent se targuer d’avoir donné leur nom à une rue. Or en 2006, la rue où se situe votre immeuble a été baptisée la William Goldberg Way. Comment cela fut-il rendu possible?
Quand mon père est décédé (en 2003, ndlr), j’ai pensé qu’avec ce qu’il avait apporté à New York et cette industrie, il pouvait mériter de donner son nom à une rue. J’ai rencontré quelques hommes politiques, ils m’ont dit que c’était légitime et ont déposé une motion. Dans une industrie très secrète comme celle du diamant, mon père n’avait pas peur de répondre aux interviews, de parler de notre métier, d’essayer de le faire comprendre. La plupart des acteurs préfèrent rester en coulisses et ne pas être visibles, parfois aussi pour des raisons de sécurité. Mais ce n’était pas le cas de mon père.

Quels sentiments vous habitent lorsque vous marchez sur cette rue et voyez le nom de votre père là-haut?
Je ressens quelque chose de très fort. Je passe sous ce panneau tous les jours pour venir au bureau. D’ailleurs nous en avons planté un sur notre terrasse.

William Goldberg était très préoccupé par les conflict diamonds, les diamants du sang/ de la guerre. Aujourd’hui, grâce au Kimberley Process, 99% des diamants sur le marché sont clean, ou sont censés l’être. Comment peut-on en être certain quand on sait que dans certains pays d’Afrique par exemple, les rebelles d’aujourd’hui règneront peut-être officiellement sur l’état demain?
Comment être sûr? On ne peut peut jamais être sûr qu’il n’y aura plus de personnes malhonnêtes et corrompues dans le monde… Notre industrie fait tout ce qui est en son pouvoir pour se protéger et s’assurer de l’origine des diamants. Mais il y aura toujours quelqu’un pour détourner les règles… En réalité, les clients achètent des diamants chez des personnes en qui ils ont confiance, dans leur zone de confort. Si ils viennent chez nous, ou s’ils vont voir un grand nom de la place, c’est pour une raison. Vous pouvez avoir autant de certificats que vous voulez, c’est une histoire de confiance, cela se passe yeux dans les yeux.

Votre père disait qu’un diamant doit apporter de la joie. Est-ce qu’ils vous rendent heureux?
Oui! Ils me rendent heureux. Ils rendent les gens heureux. Ils ajoutent un peu de lumière, une brillance, un feu, je ne sais comment l’expliquer…

GemGenève du 10 au 13 Mai, Palexpo, Route François-Peyrot 30, 1218 Le Grand-Saconnex, Suisse. https://gemgeneve.com

* Selon les statistiques, pour chaque million de carats de diamants extraits des mines, seulement un carat sera un diamant rose. Et les vrais diamants rouges sont encore plus rares.