English English French French

Cream in trompe-l'oeil

November 15 2017

[Click on the image to see the gallery]

The Shiseido brand has launched Waso, a range of products targeted for Millennials and for all those who make fun of these age limitations. Cosmetics in the movement of products chub, which do not contain ingredients harmful to health. - Isabelle Cerboneschi

W

aso, let's start with the name: it is pronounced like "bird" and suddenly it makes you smile.

The packaging then: very simple, with a cap with a hole, easy to catch with a finger, to open when you have your hands full of soap, to hang in his bag, to hang in his bathroom, in short, useful .

The next target: the famous Millenials whose ears we are rebuffed, to the point that we do not know if they really exist or if it is a marketing invention. In short, a product for Millennials, perfect for young people from 7 to 77 years.

The product then: magic! A kind of white cream, with an SPF 30 protection, which, when applied to the skin, takes the exact color of it, but better: the goal is to sublimate it while erasing imperfections ( what imperfections?).

Content: a moisturizing and protective cream that looks good. Technically speaking, it is a short formula containing a carrot derivative. But that's not the point. That's what it does not contain that is interesting: no parabens (these preservatives considered as endocrine disruptors), no mineral oil (resulting from petroleum refining *) that forms an occlusive layer on the skin.

Range Waso is in the direct line of these more and more sought-after cosmetics so-called chub in the USA. These are not organic products, but cosmetics that are defined by default: they do not contain ingredients whose harmful effects on health have been proven (including precisely parabens, phthalates and mineral oils).

Consumers have become "consumers" in all areas of their lives, not just food. We want pure, natural, traceable and harmless. The Millennials are sensitive to it, the Generation Z that comes right behind too, and the X, the Y and the Baby Boomers. From 7 to 77 years.

How do you know if your favorite cosmetic product contains mineral oils?  Just the lwrite the list of ingredients written in lower case on the label. Mineral oils appear under these names:

• Cera Microcrystalline• Ceresin• Mineral Oil• Ozokerite• Paraffinum liquidum• Petrolatum• And all words ending in "methicone" or "siloxane".

English English French French

Crème en trompe-l’oeil

15 novembre 2017

[Cliquez sur l’image pour voir la galerie]

La marque Shiseido a lancé Waso, une gamme de produits ciblés pour les Millennials et pour tous ceux qui se moquent de ces limitations d’âge. Des cosmétiques dans la mouvance des produits clean, qui ne contiennent pas d’ingrédients néfastes pour la santé. – Isabelle Cerboneschi

W

aso, commençons par le nom: ça se prononce comme “oiseau” et du coup ça fait sourire. 

Le packaging ensuite: simplissime, avec un bouchon pourvu d’un trou, facile à attraper avec un doigt, à ouvrir quand on a les mains pleines de savon, à accrocher dans son sac, à suspendre dans sa salle de bain, bref, utile.

La cible ensuite: ces fameux Millenials dont on nous rebat les oreilles, au point que l’on ne sait plus si ils existent vraiment ou si c’est une invention marketing. Bref, un produit pour les Millennials, parfait pour les jeunes de 7 à 77 ans.

Le produit ensuite: magique! Une sorte de crème blanche, dotée d’un indice de protection SPF 30, qui, une fois appliquée sur la peau, prend la couleur exacte de celle-ci, mais en mieux: le but étant de la sublimer tout en effaçant les imperfections (quelles imperfections?).

Le contenu: une crème hydratante et protectrice qui donne bonne mine. Techniquement parlant, il s’agit d’une formule courte contenant un dérivé de carotte. Mais là n’est pas l’essentiel. C’est ce qu’elle ne contient pas qui est intéressant: pas de parabènes (ces conservateurs considérés comme des perturbateurs endocriniens), pas d’huile minérale (issue du raffinage pétrolier*) qui forme une couche occlusive sur la peau. 

La gamme Waso est dans la droite ligne de ces cosmétiques de plus en plus recherchés que l’on appelle clean aux Etats-Unis. Ce ne sont pas des produits bio, mais des cosmétiques qui se définissent par défaut: ils ne contiennent pas d’ingrédients dont il a été prouvé les effets néfastes sur la santé (dont justement les parabènes, les phthalates et les huiles minérales).

Les consommateurs sont devenus des «consomacteurs» dans tous les domaines de leur vie, et pas seulement l’alimentation. On veut du pur, du naturel, du traçable et de l’innocuité. Les Millennials y sont sensibles, la Génération Z qui vient juste derrière aussi, et les X, les Y et les Baby Boomers. De 7 à 77 ans.

Comment savoir si son produit cosmétique préféré contient des huiles minérales?  Il suffit de lire la liste des ingrédients écrite en lettres minuscules sur l’étiquette. Les huiles minérales apparaissent sous ces noms:

• Cera Microcristallina • Ceresin • Mineral Oil • Ozokerite • Paraffinum liquidum • Petrolatum • Et tous les mots finissant en “methicone” ou “siloxane”.

English English French French