English English French French

Singer Reimagined, the shooting star

November 15 2017

[Click on the image to see the gallery]

It took the risky encounter of three characters - Rob Dickinson, the boss of Singer Vehicle Design, Marco Borraccino the designer, and Jean-Marc Wiederrecht the watchmaker - to create a brand and a revolutionary movement. Now just out of the workshops, this reinvented chronograph is already selected for the Grand Prix of the Geneva Watchmaking. A tale of facts. - Isabelle Cerboneschi

L

a meeting between the three characters at the origin of the watch brand Singer Reimagined is it chance, determinism, or something else? Listening to Rob Dickinson, the boss of Singer Vehicle Design, Marco Borraccino the designer, and Jean-Marc Wiederrecht the watchmaker designer, we feel that their meeting is the result of a great machination of the destiny that made them meet each other. a specific moment when their personal research converged.

To understand what is at stake, let's take a leap in time and place the cursor on the moment of their meeting.

Rob Dickinson and Marco Borracino meet in 2014. The first has two trades: singer and songwriter Catherine Wheel group, and "re-imagineur" of classic cars, with a weakness for the Porsche 911. From his fascination was born in 2009 Singer Vehicle Design, a company dedicated to rethink this model. How? By taking into account the car in its entirety and by questioning each of its constituent elements in order to reinvent them. It uses contemporary technologies and materials to rethink the engine, brakes, suspension, air conditioning, while respecting the spirit of the original model. «A way to celebrate the classic era of Porsche», notes Rob Dickinson, at the launch of the Singer Track 1 which was linked last June at Angenhor (Geneva Watchmaking Workshop), the company created by Jean-Marc Wiederrecht in 1996.

"In the 70 years I was still a child and I began to discover the cars that ran the Grands Prix. My passion was born at that time. And at the same time, my love of chronos was born: I admired Jack Heuer, I was fascinated by the Daytona and all the watches that had a link with motorsport. Moreover, our watch is a tribute to Jack Heuer: in addition to being a visionary designer, he was a great entrepreneur with a real sense of marketing. He was one of the first to have the idea of ​​associating a watch with a personality. And especially during a car race. It set fire to my imagination, "says Rob Dickinson.

Marco Borracino shares the same passion for vintage cars, music and watches, including the sport chronographs of the 1960 and 1970 years.  Three years ago, the designer decided to contact Rob Dickinson. "I love what you do with Porsche, would you be interested in creating a watch?" He asks. "Yes, of course, but she has better be very special!" Says Rob Dickinson. And they decide to meet in Geneva. We are in 2015.

"I collect antique watches and chronos fascinate me but I always found that they had a problem of legibility, says MarcoBorracino. I started to look at this problem by redesigning great classics, with the idea of ​​removing as much information as possible from the center of the dial to make the chrono more readable. There are iconic elements in a watch: the bezel and the hands in the center, among others. And I said to myself: why not use the telescope to display the time and thus keep the center for the chronograph function, with a huge counter that would be much more readable than the three small counters? So I made a drawing corresponding to my idea and I went in search of a motorist: it's fine to draw a model but if you can not make it work, it is useless! "

One day, while they were having lunch together, Marco Borracino unveiled his project to Jean-Marc Wiederrecht. The watch designer remains speechless: it has been almost ten years since he worked relentlessly in the same direction, on a new chronograph system with hands in the center. A top secret project named AgenGraphe. "He suspected me of getting information from someone. He was very angry. We explained ourselves and we decided to work on this project together, "says Marco Borracino. We owe the birth of the Singer Track 1 to this wonderful synchronicity.

A chronograph is a horological complication intended to measure time intervals. But on all current times, the display of functions is divided into three small counters, not always very readable. The Agengraph is built around a series of spiral cams and allows a central display of chronograph functions. As for the reading of the hour, it is stored on the periphery, on the telescope. "It's a totally different design. There is nothing left of a traditional chrono ", comments Jean-Marc Wiederrecht.

"With the Singer Track1 we have reinvented the traditional chronograph, in the same way that we reimagine Porsche, says Rob Dickinson. We worked on the smallest details until 2016. It is a collaboration of sensibilities. We are happy to participate in this birth alongside two great watchmaking professionals. This makes us legitimate. To start a watch today without this level of expertise would be crazy! "When I ask him which models will follow the Singer Track1 he answers without answering:" You'll see! We have plans for the next 5 years. "

With its neo-retro look, as if she had always been part of the watchmaking landscape, la Singer Track1won the Grand Prix of the contest The Watch of the Yearin Warsaw last October. And if the team won the Aiguille d'Or of the Geneva Watchmaking Grand Prix, the November 8?

Singer Track 1

Cascade of gears on mechanical box base

The new-generation chronograph designed by Jean-Marc Wiederrecht for Singer Reimagined, the watchmaking arm of the company specializing in the customization of Porsche 911, is the mechanical outcome of two virtually identical visions. - Vincent Daveau

Click to read

This titanium piece with a design very inspired by the watchmaking products of seventies, is part of the family of instruments of new watchmaking: it pushes the limits of pure mechanics while exploiting components drawn from the great classical mechanic, but redesigned in a new architecture.

Today, technology provides the opportunity to overcome the codes of yesteryear and to recompose mechanical mobiles in other plans. It offers minds that think in three dimensions to design in 3D. This way of doing things frees creativity and allows you to reconsider classic complications such as tourbillon, bell watches and chronographs.

With Singer Reimagined Track 1, it's a bit of a mix of the primordial instrument imagined by Jean-Marc Wiederrecht known as AgenGraphe (contraction of Agenhor and chronograph) and a vision of the designer Marco Borraccino, that the we find formatted. It is also the materialization of a questioning of the classic complications in the light of the modern tools offered to the watchmakers of today.

Reinventing the complications of classical watchmaking is one of the technical expressions of the new grammar that creators like Jean-Marc Wiederrecht have been able to develop from the tools made available to them by computer-assisted design programs. The ancients designed their movements in two dimensions in horizontal layers, because the way to implement them was a drawing table. Today, 3D thought-through modeling using super-high-powered computers supported by high-performance programs like Katia or CREO, allows engineers to get away from normative codes to dare assemblies that the brain may have imagined. be 15 years ago, but that the reason forbade to try because still lacked methods of feasibility calculations and multi-dimensional machining technologies like systems DRIE or LIGA.

To fully understand how the chronograph complication built into a completely original self-winding mechanical caliber complements the Singer Track 1 Chronograph, it has to be grasped in separate, three-dimensional elements.

The whole purpose of the system is to make it possible to give priority to the measurement of short times and to make them occupy the center of the dial. Therefore, the entire caliber is designed to allow the chronograph mechanism to occupy the physical center of the movement. If one had to compare its mode of construction with an already existing architecture, one could say that it is structured in the manner of a device of bell-ring which also makes use of the snails to transmit information which, of rotation, must be translated into translation.

But it seems clear that all of this movement has been reflected a bit like a car gearbox. This central body is coupled to the assembly via a vertical clutch with friction wheels (diamond wheels as it would be a nail file, but in infinitely finer) and toothed wheels in protection to prevent accidental jumps in case of shocks.

Once connected to the motion without stray jumps, as can happen in conventional constructions, the seconds wheel starts rotating while a probe glides without friction (or very low due to an optimized surface treatment) on the so-called "snail" cam in watchmaking language, whose profile resembles that of the Fibonacci curve.

At the end of 60 seconds, this probe which progressively armed a driving mechanism of the jumper type falls and triggers its implementation allowing the jump of a tooth of the minute wheel.

After 60 minutes, the probe sliding on the snail minutes falls in turn in the recess provided for this purpose and triggers the jump of a tooth of the hour wheel and so on.

This very sophisticated system, designed not to have any impact on the smooth running of the movement (isochronism), makes every minute a jump to the minute hand. And every hour the mechanism makes two jumps instantaneous and synchronized causing at the same time the hands of minutes and hours to jump a notch and until the chronograph mechanism engaged by the wearer of the watch is stopped then, possibly reset by means of special hammers, as would be a normal chronograph.

English English French French

Singer Reimagined, l’étoile filante

15 novembre 2017

[Cliquez sur l’image pour voir la galerie]

Il aura fallu la rencontre hasardeuse de trois personnages – Rob Dickinson, le patron de Singer Vehicle Design, Marco Borraccino le designer, et Jean-Marc Wiederrecht le concepteur horloger – pour que naisse une marque et un mouvement révolutionnaire. Or à peine sorti des ateliers, ce chronographe réinventé est déjà sélectionné pour le Grand Prix de l’Horlogerie de Genève. Un conte de faits. – Isabelle Cerboneschi

L

a rencontre entre les trois personnages à l’origine de la marque horlogère Singer Reimagined relève-t-elle du hasard, du déterminisme, ou d’autre chose? A écouter Rob Dickinson, le patron de Singer Vehicle Design, Marco Borraccino le designer, et Jean-Marc Wiederrecht le concepteur horloger, on a le sentiment que leur réunion est le fruit d’une grande machination du destin qui les a fait se rencontrer à un moment précis où leurs recherches personnelles convergeaient.

Pour bien comprendre ce qui est en jeu, faisons un saut dans le temps et plaçons le curseur sur le moment de leur rencontre.

Rob Dickinson et Marco Borracino font connaissance en 2014. Le premier a deux métiers: chanteur et compositeur du groupe Catherine Wheel, et « ré-imagineur” de voitures classiques, avec un faible pour la Porsche 911. De sa fascination est née en 2009 Singer Vehicule Design, une entreprise dédiée à repenser ce modèle. Comment? En prenant en compte la voiture dans sa globalité et en remettant en question chacun de ses éléments constitutifs afin de les réinventer. Il utilise des technologies et des matériaux contemporains pour repenser le moteur, les freins, la suspension, l’air conditionné, tout en respectant l’esprit du modèle d’origine. «Une manière de célébrer l’ère classique des Porsche», relève Rob Dickinson, lors du lancement de la Singer Track 1 qui eut lien en juin dernier chez Angenhor (Atelier Genevois d’Horlogerie), la société créée par Jean-Marc Wiederrecht en 1996.

«Dans les années 70 j’étais encore un enfant et je commençais à découvrir les voitures qui couraient les Grands Prix. Ma passion est née à cette époque-là. Et en parallèle est né mon amour des chronos: j’admirais Jack Heuer, j’étais fasciné par la Daytona et toutes les montres qui avaient un lien avec le sport automobile. D’ailleurs notre montre est un hommage à Jack Heuer: en plus d’être un designer visionnaire, c’était un grand chef d’entreprise doté d’un vrai sens du marketing. Il fut un des premiers à avoir l’idée d’associer une montre à une personnalité. Et notamment lors d’une course automobile. Cela avait mis le feu à mon imagination», confie Rob Dickinson.

Marco Borracino partage la même passion pour les voitures vintage, la musique et les montres, notamment les chronographes sportifs des années 1960 et 1970.  Il y a trois ans, le designer décide de contacter Rob Dickinson. «J’adore ce que vous faites avec les Porsche, seriez-vous intéressé à créer une montre?», lui demande-t-il. «Oui, bien sûr, mais elle a intérêt à être très spéciale!», lui répond Rob Dickinson. Et ils décident de se rencontrer à Genève. Nous sommes en 2015.

«Je collectionne les montres anciennes et les chronos me passionnent mais j’ai toujours trouvé qu’ils avaient un problème de lisibilité, confie Marco Borracino. J’ai commencé à me pencher sur ce problème en redessinant de grands classiques, avec l’idée d’enlever le plus possible d’informations du centre du cadran pour rendre le chrono plus lisible. Il y a des éléments iconiques dans une montre: la lunette et les aiguilles au centre, notamment. Et je me suis dit: pourquoi ne pas utiliser la lunette pour afficher l’heure et ainsi garder le centre pour la fonction chronographe, avec un énorme compteur qui serait beaucoup plus lisible que les trois petits compteurs? J’ai donc fait un dessin correspondant à mon idée et je me suis mis en quête d’un motoriste: c’est bien beau de dessiner un modèle mais si vous ne pouvez pas le faire marcher, cela ne sert à rien!»

Un jour, tandis qu’ils déjeunais ensemble, Marco Borracino dévoile son projet à Jean-Marc Wiederrecht. Le concepteur horloger reste sans voix: cela faisait presque dix ans qu’il travaillait avec acharnement dans la même direction, sur un nouveau système de chrono avec les aiguilles au centre. Un projet top secret baptisé l’AgenGraphe. «Il m’a soupçonné d’avoir obtenu l’information par quelqu’un. Il était très fâché. On s’est expliqué et on a décidé de travailler sur ce projet ensemble», relate Marco Borracino. On doit la naissance de la Singer Track 1 à cette merveilleuse synchronicité.

Un chronographe est une complication horlogère destinée à mesurer des intervalles de temps. Or sur tous les chronos actuels, l’affichage des fonctions est répartie sur trois compteurs de petite taille, pas toujours très lisibles. L’Agengraph, lui, est construit autour d’une série de cames en colimaçon et permet un affichage central des fonctions du chronographe. Quant à la lecture de l’heure, elle est remisée en périphérie, sur la lunette. “C’est une conception totalement différente. Il ne reste plus rien d’un chrono traditionnel”, commente Jean-Marc Wiederrecht.

«Avec la Singer Track1 on a réinventé le chronographe traditionnel, de la même manière que nous réimaginons les Porsche, dit Rob Dickinson. On a travaillé sur les moindres détails jusqu’en 2016. C’est une collaboration de sensibilités. Nous sommes heureux de participer à cette naissance aux côtés de deux grands professionnels de l’horlogerie. Cela nous rend légitime. Lancer une montre aujourd’hui sans ce niveau d’expertise, ce serait une folie!» Quand je lui demande quels modèles vont suivre la Singer Track1 il répond sans répondre: “Vous verrez! Nous avons des plans pour les 5 prochaines années.”

Avec son look néo-rétro, comme si elle avait toujours fait partie du paysage horloger, la Singer Track1 a gagné le Grand Prix du concours The Watch of the Year, à Varsovie, en octobre dernier. Et si l’équipe gagnait l’Aiguille d’Or du Grand Prix de l’Horlogerie de Genève, le 8 novembre?

Singer Track 1

Cascade de pignons sur base de boîte mécanique

Le chronographe de nouvelle génération conçu par Jean-Marc Wiederrecht pour Singer Reimagined, l’antenne horlogère de la société spécialisée dans la customisation de Porsche 911, est l’aboutissement mécanique de deux visions pratiquement identiques. – Vincent Daveau

Cliquez pour lire

Cette pièce en titane au design très inspiré des produits horlogers des seventies, fait partie de la famille des instruments de nouvelle horlogerie: elle repousse les limites de la pure mécanique tout en exploitant des composants tirés du grand mécano classique, mais repensé dans une architecture nouvelle.

Aujourd’hui, la technologie apporte la possibilité de s’affranchir des codes d’antan et de recomposer les mobiles mécaniques dans d’autres plans. Elle offre aux esprits qui pensent en trois dimensions de concevoir en 3D. Cette façon de faire libère la créativité et permet de reconsidérer les complications classiques comme le tourbillon, les montres à sonnerie et les chronographes.

Avec Singer Reimagined Track 1, c’est un peu un savant mélange de l’instrument primordial imaginé par Jean-Marc Wiederrecht connu sous le nom d’AgenGraphe (contraction de Agenhor et de chronographe) et une vision du designer Marco Borraccino, que l’on retrouve mis en forme. C’est aussi la matérialisation d’une remise en cause des complications classiques à la lumière de la modernité des outils offerts aux horlogers d’aujourd’hui.

Réinventer les complications de l’horlogerie classique est l’une des expressions techniques de la nouvelle grammaire que les créateurs comme Jean-Marc Wiederrecht ont pu élaborer à partir des outils mis à leur disposition par les programmes informatiques de conception assistée par ordinateur. Les anciens ont conçu leurs mouvements en deux dimensions par couches horizontales, parce que le moyen de les mettre en œuvre était une table à dessin. Aujourd’hui, la modélisation réfléchie en 3D à l’aide d’ordinateurs sur-vitaminés soutenus par des programmes ultra performants comme Katia ou CREO, autorise les ingénieurs à s’abstraire des codes normatifs pour oser des assemblages que le cerveau imaginait peut-être il y a 15 ans, mais que la raison interdisait de tenter car manquaient encore les méthodes de calculs de faisabilité et les technologies d’usinage multi-dimensionnels comme les systèmes DRIE ou LIGA.

Pour bien comprendre comment fonctionne la complication de chronographe intégrée à un calibre mécanique à remontage automatique totalement original qui donne vie au chronographe Singer Track 1, il faut l’appréhender par éléments séparés et en trois dimensions.

Tout le but du système est de permettre de donner la priorité à la mesure des temps courts et de leur faire occuper le centre du cadran. C’est pourquoi, tout le calibre est conçu de façon à permettre au mécanisme de chronographe d’occuper le centre physique du mouvement. Si l’on devait comparer son mode de construction avec une architecture déjà existante, on pourrait dire qu’il est structuré à la façon d’un dispositif de sonnerie de pendule qui fait également usage des limaçons pour transmettre une information qui, de rotative, doit se transformer en translation.

Mais il semble clair que l’ensemble de ce mouvement a été réfléchi un peu comme le serait une boite de vitesse de voiture. Cet organe central est couplé à l’ensemble via un embrayage vertical avec roues à frictions (roues diamantées comme le serait une lime à ongle, mais en infiniment plus fin) et roues dentées en protection pour empêcher les sauts intempestifs en cas de chocs.

Une fois raccordé au mouvement sans sauts parasites, comme cela peut se produire dans les constructions classiques, la roue de secondes se met en rotation tandis qu’un palpeur glisse sans friction (ou très faible en raison d’un traitement de surface optimisé) sur la came dite « limaçon » en langage horloger, dont le profil reprend celui de la courbe de Fibonacci.

Au bout de 60 secondes, ce palpeur qui armait progressivement un mécanisme d’entrainement de type sautoir chute et déclenche sa mise en œuvre permettant le saut d’une dent de la roue des minutes.

Au bout de 60 minutes, le palpeur glissant sur le limaçon des minutes tombe à son tour dans le décrochement prévu à cet effet et déclenche le saut d’une dent de la roue des heures et ainsi de suite.

Ce système très sophistiqué, conçu pour ne pas engendrer d’incidences sur le bon fonctionnement du mouvement (isochronisme), fait effectuer toutes les minutes un saut à l’aiguille des minutes. Et toutes les heures le mécanisme effectue deux sauts instantanés et synchronisés entraînant du même coup les aiguilles de minutes et d’heures à sauter d’un cran et ce, jusqu’à ce que le mécanisme de chronographe enclenché par le porteur de la montre soit arrêté puis, éventuellement remis à zéro par l’entremise de marteaux spéciaux, comme le serait un chronographe normal.

English English French French