English English French French

For a hundred years, the Tank undresses

November 15 2017

[Click on the image to see the gallery]

On the occasion of the centenary of this iconic watch, Cartier launches a Limited Edition Skeleton Tank. How does a watch become timeless?

I

It takes a start at all. Even in old age we are not immune to a stroke of madness. Take the Cartier Tank for example. Launched in 1917, it celebrates this year its 100 years. Beautiful longevity for a watch that was born in the midst of a worldwide conflagration. Over the years, according to the evolution of society and history, it has had some variations. To celebrate the jubilee of the original model, the Tank Cintrée, created in 1921, reveals its wheels.

The Tank appeared at a time when the wristwatch was in full swing, taking over the pocket watch. A period politically troubled especially. Impossible to forget its origins: its name already is an evocation of the tanks of the allied forces which intervened in 1917 during the First World War. Its shape then, according to legend, is inspired by a British Mark IV tank seen from above: the tracks are represented by the stretchers and the cabin by the case. Louis Cartier would have also offered one of the first prototypes of the Tank to General John Pershing, in 1918.

The particularity of the Tank Cintrée, which was born in 1921, is its rectangle dial and a curved case. The 2017 version is a skeleton model that also takes this pure aesthetic of the early twentieth century. It exists in two versions - pink gold and platinum -  both limited to 100 copies. The 9917 ™ manual winding movement, which drives this model, adapts to the shape of the case. The set, with its symmetrical structure, evokes, in its form, the painting titled rhythms of Robert Delaunay (1934), but whose colors would have been removed.

How to explain that a hundred years later, this model has lost none of its modernity? It's primarily a design story. The more refined a form is, the less it may be attached to a given epoch. At the time of its launch, this shape watch marked a stylistic break: it was part of the tradition of round watches to which a bracelet was attached. Its fasteners were integrated into the case using two stretchers that became a signature. Completely marrying the Art Deco aesthetic, the case plays between the square and the rectangle over the variants.

The addition of timeless classic elements also plays a role: the round of hours, traversed by two sword needles, is written in Roman numerals around the railroad which is the minute scale. These elements are now part of the aesthetics of the Tank, as a code.

Finally, there is the quality of the movement: from the beginning Louis Cartier has called on the watchmaker Edmond Jaeger, who joined the Manufacture LeCoultre from 1903, to provide the engines of his watches.

The success of the Tank is a combination of harmoniously united elements: aesthetics, design, know-how and technology. But not only.

Marketing before the time

For a model to go through the decades, it must be desirable and desired. This is the subjective part of the case. It turns out that with its modernity and its clean lines, the Tank pleases the artists: it was found on the wrist of Gary Cooper, who wore a model of Tank Basculante, Alain Delon and the director Jean-Pierre Melville, Andy Warhol and Yves Saint Laurent, Catherine Deneuve and Madonna, billionaire Gunter Sachs and Lady Diana the Princess of Wales ... The list goes on.

But well before them and well before the appearance of the ambassadors of the brands and the product placement, the Tank has benefited from free and phenomenal advertising on the big screen. Lovers of silent movies remember this scene from George Fitzmaurice's movie - The Son of the Sheik - from 1926 where we see Rudolph Valentino disguising himself by opening his two-handed oriental costume with his Tank left on his left wrist.

He had simply refused to remove it during the filming, offering the vision of a delicious anachronism. Note that on one of the drawn posters of the film, which takes the same scene, the watch has been replaced by a gold cuff bracelet.

To understand the impact of this story, it must be put in context. If the name of Rudolph Valentino does not evoke much for the majority of people today, at the time, he was considered the most beautiful man, the most desirable, the sexiest on the planet: an ideal erotic for a whole generation, men and women alike.

The 23 August 1926, the day of his funeralHe had 31 years, more than 100'000 people came to pass in front of his coffin in a fabulous chaos. There were nervous fits, people crushed by the crowd, fights, tears, fainting. In short, a lot of hysteria.

Rudolph Valentino, with his face of a Roman statue, whose beauty crosses the times, was undoubtedly the best ambassador in spite of himself of the Tank.

English English French French

English English French French

Pour ses cent ans, la Tank se déshabille

15 novembre 2017

[Cliquez sur l’image pour voir la galerie]

A l’occasion du centenaire de cette montre emblématique, Cartier lance une Tank Cintrée Squelette en édition limitée. Comment une montre devient-elle intemporelle?

I

l faut un début à tout. Même à un âge avancé on n’est pas à l’abri d’un coup de folie. Prenons la Tank de Cartier par exemple. Lancée en 1917, elle fête cette année ses 100 ans. Belle longévité pour une montre qui a vu le jour en pleine conflagration mondiale. Au fil des ans, au gré des évolutions de la société et de l’histoire, elle a connu quelques variantes. Pour fêter le jubilé du modèle d’origine, la Tank Cintrée, créée en 1921, dévoile ses rouages.

La Tank est apparue à une époque où la montre bracelet était en plein essor, prenant le pas sur la montre de poche. Une période politiquement troublée surtout. Impossible d’oublier ses origines: son nom déjà est une évocation des chars des forces alliées qui sont intervenues en 1917 pendant la Première Guerre mondiale. Sa forme ensuite qui, selon la légende, s’inspire d’un char britannique Mark IV vu de dessus: les chenilles sont représentées par les brancards et l’habitacle par le boîtier. Louis Cartier aurait d’ailleurs offert l’un des premiers prototypes de la Tank au Général John Pershing, en 1918.

La particularité de la Tank Cintrée, qui a vu le jour en 1921, c’est son cadran rectangle et un boîtier galbé. La version 2017 est un modèle squelette qui reprend lui aussi cette esthétique pure du début du XXème siècle. Elle existe en deux versions – or rose et platine –  toutes deux limitées à 100 exemplaires. Le mouvement à remontage manuel 9917 MC qui anime ce modèle, s’adapte au galbe du boîtier. L’ensemble, avec sa structure symétrique, évoque, dans sa forme, le tableau intitulé Rythmes de Robert Delaunay (1934), mais dont on aurait ôté les couleurs.

Comment expliquer que cent ans plus tard, ce modèle n’a rien perdu de sa modernité? C’est d’abord une histoire de design. Plus une forme est épurée et moins elle peut-être rattachée à une époque donnée. Lors de son lancement, cette montre de forme a marqué une rupture stylistique: elle s’inscrivait hors de la tradition des montres rondes auxquelles on attachait un bracelet. Ses attaches ont été intégrées au boîtier à l’aide de deux brancards devenus une signature. Epousant pleinement l’esthétique Art déco, le boîtier joue entre le carré et le rectangle au fil des variantes.

L’ajout d’éléments classiques intemporels joue aussi un rôle: la ronde des heures, parcourue de deux aiguilles glaives, s’inscrit en chiffres romains autour du chemin de fer qui figure l’échelle des minutes. Ces éléments font désormais partie de l’esthétique de la Tank, tel un code.

Enfin, il y a la qualité du mouvement: dès l’origine Louis Cartier a fait appel à l’horloger Edmond Jaeger, qui s’était associé à la manufacture LeCoultre dès 1903, pour lui fournir les moteurs de ses montres.

Le succès de la Tank tient en un ensemble d’éléments harmonieusement réunis: esthétique, design, savoir-faire et technologie. Mais pas seulement.

Du marketing avant l’heure

Pour qu’un modèle traverse les décennies, il faut qu’il soit désirable et désiré. C’est la partie subjective de l’affaire. Il se trouve qu’avec sa modernité et ses lignes épurées, la Tank plaît aux artistes: on l’a retrouvée au poignet de Gary Cooper, qui portait un modèle de Tank Basculante, d’Alain Delon et du réalisateur Jean-Pierre Melville, d’Andy Warhol et d’Yves Saint Laurent, de Catherine Deneuve et de Madonna, du milliardaire Gunter Sachs et de Lady Diana la princesse de Galles,… La liste est longue.

Mais bien avant eux et bien avant l’apparition des ambassadeurs des marques et du product placement, la Tank a bénéficié d’une publicité gratuite et phénoménale sur grand écran. Les amateurs de cinéma muet se souviennent de cette scène du film de George Fitzmaurice – Le Fils du Cheik – de 1926 où l’on voit Rudolph Valentino qui se dépoitraille en ouvrant à deux mains son costume de prince oriental, portant à son poignet gauche sa Tank.

Il avait tout simplement refusé de l’ôter pendant le tournage, offrant la vision d’un délicieux anachronisme. A noter que sur l’une des affiches dessinées du film, qui reprend la même scène, la montre a été remplacée par un bracelet-manchette doré.

Pour comprendre l’impact de cette histoire, il faut la replacer dans son contexte. Si le nom de Rudolph Valentino n’évoque plus grand chose pour la majorité des gens aujourd’hui, à l’époque, il était considéré comme l’homme le plus beau, le plus désirable, le plus sexy de la planète: un idéal érotique pour tout une génération, hommes et femmes confondus.

Le 23 août 1926, le jour de ses funérailles, il avait 31 ans, plus de 100’000 personnes sont venues défiler devant son cercueil dans un fabuleux chaos. Il y eut des crises de nerfs, des personnes écrasées par la foule, des rixes, des larmes, des évanouissements. Bref, pas mal d’hystérie.

Rudolph Valentino, avec son visage de statue romaine, dont la beauté traverse les temps, fut sans doute le meilleur ambassadeur malgré lui de la Tank.

English English French French