English English French French

The new escapades of Yvan Arpa

January 17 2018

[Click on the image to see the gallery]

At the headquarters of a Swiss bank, where does not enter, the watchBye Bye EuroYvan Arpa has something incongruous about it. Like the sulphurous series Magma of Respectwhere are found traces of five mythical watchmaking timepieces that were previously melted. Fusion of genres. - Joel A. Grandjean.

A

was he allowed to use real bills to line the dial of a watch? Yvan Arpa launched this watch on the occasion of a vertiginous fall of the European currency against the Swiss franc. On his dial, real cuts of Euro piled up in a happy striated graphic. Since then, this piece comes out from time to time, every time the Euro takes the broth. There is even a version with dollars.

EXHIBITION AT THE HEART OF THE BANK
The troublemaker of watchmaking is there, without complex, in the heart of a universe which has, at first sight, nothing of rock'n roll. He receives, he is received. The UBS, the big banking sign, has reserved for him on the secure floor of its Geneva headquarters, one of these spaces to make envious all those who are thirsty for exposure in these times of SIHH 2018. One thousand square meters, a VIP area. All his creations are represented: his mechanical impulses, including an ArtyA automobile, his passions, his laboratory wanderings, as well as his successful projects.

Yvan Arpa introduces himself as a designer who creates as much for the other brands - Samsung and QoQa.ch, for the most recent -  only for himself, for his own brand which contains his initials mixed with the word "art": ArtyA. A block of letters erected in a logo whose aesthetic recalls some anarchist claim.

This creator, a former math teacher, flanked by his wife, a painter turned miniaturist, has a particularity. Wherever he operates, he creates watches whose name or slogan becomes more famous than the brand that houses them, forcing the latter to run after a meteoric fame. There was the slogan no limits for the Sector brand, a kind of 'Do not Crack Under Pressure ' before the hour. There was especially the Titanic Romain Jerome, the Five Time Zone of Jacob's & Co and, just before Christmas 2017, the Magma from Q & A ...

Note that this phenomenon, although it normally takes years to build, remains the fantasy of watchmakers. There is no one who does not dream of having a reference to his catalog so famous that it forces the brand to fight to impose new models. It's both boosting and paralyzing. Jaeger LeCoultre struggles to make as famous as its legendary Reverso another model of the catalog, ditto for Audemars Piguet and his iconic Royal Oak, Rolex and his indétronable Oyster or Cartier and his legendary Tank.

SACRILY ACT AND SALE
His creations subscribed to the register of the unusual, have an "added media value» real as they are predisposed to run ink. So has he just made one of those blows of which he has the secret. Approached by Pascal Meyer, the founder of a website specializing in online sales with a reputation and methods tinged with disruptivité, Yvan Arpa launches on the market, the time of a sale of a few hours as well as a flash promo on the Swiss national television, a series of 1482 watches Q & A (QoQa & Arpa) divided into three models of 494 parts. Beaded timepieces Magma whose accuracy is validated by 16 days of tests entrusted to the COSC, the Swiss Official Chronometer Testing.

To make them, the designer has literally sacrificed five luxury timepieces on the altar of fusion, whose point of no return is the 1482 degrees bar. At this temperature, even the steel is flowing. 1482, so it will also be the number of watches produced, numbered, offered to CHF 999.00 instead of CHF 5'999.00 they would be supposed to be worth.

The next day, and even though the exhibition punctuated by the arrival of his house template exploded in a block of Plexiglas should have fueled the conversations, all guests were distracted by the real-time performance of this marketing operation unprecedented. They had their eyes riveted on this Swiss-Swiss flash sale. In these bad times, who could sell so many watches in such a short time? On the flank of each watch, a steel plate from this sacrilegious flow was affixed. It bears the inscription, like plaque affixed to old factory machines, "Magma of Respect". Unconditional respect for a handful of the most institutional watchmaking names, respectable brands that may have gone well with this sacrificial act taking their sacred models to the pyre: a Patek Philippe Nautilus, a Rolex Daytona, a Royal Oak d 'Audermars Piguet, A Panther by Cartier.

Obviously, double-reading is necessary. And if a parcel of inaccessible luxury embodied by these sacred monsters of haute-horlogerie allowed itself to be acquired at less than 1'000 francs?

FROM THE STREET TO THE BANK, FRAGRANCE HOUNDS
Inspired by the artistic expressions of a street culture Smartly introduced into the micromechanical universe of watchmaking excellence, without ever falling into trash, Yvan Arpa will always defend himself to be a provocateur. Bad faith? When using butterfly wings to better color his dials, do not imagine that he smudges the SPA. When he puts real bullets in the dials of his watches, it is not by apology of the war, but to emphasize that such munitions are much better at this place, tamed by an improbable esthete, than to stroll in the open air on battlefields. When he transcends the rich veins of a piece of Cropolite, fossilized dinosaur droppings, and he exclaims in a memorable slogan Is it cheat, yes it is! it is as if to revolt, in the middle of the watchmaking fair, against the surrounding creative monotonies. So, to top it off, he will serve his precious timepieces on leather toad-buffalo the most beautiful effect, the nose to the noble alligator generously dubbed. He will even enter the museum, the Vallée de Joux, time for an exhibition dedicated to design: his collection stylizing the end of a guitar has a silhouette that is recognizable from afar.

During the week that the SIHH 2018 lasts, on the sidelines of the highways of the agreed attendance, sure that some sorted visitors, customers, retailers, distributors and journalists, will offer the detour by this exhibition as complete as it is instructive. A living homage and, in passing, a message from Swissness to the address of these great fortunes who could have an appointment with their banker in one of the adjoining private rooms. And who could, after an interview on the management of their assets, acquire a parcel of horological magic.

ArtyA exhibition, 1er floor. Geneva headquarters of the UBS, 35 rue des Noirettes, Acacias Geneva. Until February 2018.

http://www.artya.com

https://magma.qa

English English French French

Les nouvelles frasques d’Yvan Arpa

17 janvier 2018

[Cliquez sur l’image pour voir la galerie]

Au siège d’une banque suisse, là où n’entre pas qui veut, la montre Bye Bye Euro d’Yvan Arpa a quelque chose d’incongru. Tout comme la sulfureuse série Magma of Respect où se retrouvent des traces de cinq garde-temps mythiques de l’horlogerie qui ont été préalablement fondus. Fusion des genres. – Joël A. Grandjean.

A

vait-il le droit d’utiliser de vrais billets pour tapisser le cadran d’une montre? Yvan Arpa avait lancé cette montre à l’occasion d’une chute vertigineuse de la monnaie européenne face au franc suisse. Sur son cadran, des coupures véritables d’Euro s’empilaient en un joyeux graphisme strié. Depuis, cette pièce ressort de temps à autre, chaque fois que l’Euro prend le bouillon. Il en existe même une version avec des dollars.

EXPOSITION AU CŒUR DE LA BANQUE
Le trublion de l’horlogerie est là, sans complexe, au cœur d’un univers qui n’a, à première vue, rien de rock’n roll. Il reçoit, il est reçu. L’UBS, la grande enseigne bancaire, lui a réservé à l’étage sécurisé de son siège genevois, un de ces espaces à rendre jaloux tous ceux qui ont soif d’exposition en ces temps de SIHH 2018. Mille mètres carrés, une zone VIP. Toutes ses créations y sont représentées: ses pulsions mécaniques, y compris une automobile ArtyA, ses passions, ses errances de laboratoires, comme ses projets aboutis.

Yvan Arpa se présente comme un designer qui crée autant pour les autres marques – Samsung et QoQa.ch, pour les plus récents –  que pour lui-même, pour sa propre marque qui contient ses initiales mêlées au mot «art»: ArtyA. Un bloc de lettres érigé en logo dont l’esthétique rappelle quelque revendication anarchiste.

Ce créateur, ancien prof de mathématiques, flanqué de son épouse, une artiste peintre devenue miniaturiste, a une particularité. Partout où il sévit, il crée des montres dont le nom ou le slogan deviennent plus célèbres que la marque qui les abrite, obligeant cette dernière à courir après une fulgurante notoriété. Il y eut le slogan no limits pour la marque Sector, un genre de ‘Don’t Crack Under Pressure’ avant l’heure. Il y eut surtout la Titanic de Romain Jerome, la Five Time Zone de Jacob’s & Co et, juste avant Noël 2017, la Magma de Q&A…

Remarquez que ce phénomène, bien qu’il prenne normalement des années à se construire, reste le fantasme des horlogers. Il n’en est pas un qui ne rêve d’avoir à son catalogue une référence si célèbre qu’elle oblige la marque à se battre pour imposer de nouveaux modèles. C’est à la fois boostant et paralysant. Jaeger LeCoultre peine à rendre aussi célèbre que sa mythique Reverso un autre modèle du catalogue, idem pour Audemars Piguet et son iconique Royal Oak, Rolex et son indétronable Oyster ou Cartier et sa légendaire Tank.

ACTE SACRILÈGE ET VENTE  ÉCLAIR
Ses créations abonnées au registre de l’insolite, disposent d’une « valeur médiatique ajoutée » réelle tant elles sont prédisposées à faire couler de l’encre. Ainsi vient-il de réaliser un de ces coups d’éclat dont il a le secret. Approché par Pascal Meyer, le fondateur d’un site internet spécialisé dans des ventes online jouissant d’une réputation et de méthodes teintées de disruptivité, Yvan Arpa lance sur le marché, le temps d’une vente de quelques heures ainsi que d’une promo éclair à la télévision nationale suisse, une série de 1482 montres Q&A (QoQa & Arpa) réparties en trois modèles de 494 pièces. Des garde-temps baptisés Magma dont la précision est validée par 16 jours de tests confiés au COSC, le Contrôle Officiel Suisse des Chronomètres.

Pour les fabriquer, le créateur a sacrifié au sens propre cinq garde-temps de luxe sur l’autel de la fusion, dont le point de non-retour est la barre de 1482 degrés. A cette température, même l’acier se fait coulant. 1482, ce sera donc aussi le nombre des montres produites, numérotées, proposées à CHF 999.00 au lieu des CHF 5’999.00 qu’elles seraient censées valoir.

Le lendemain, et quand bien même l’exposition ponctuée par l’arrivée de son calibre maison en éclaté dans un bloc de plexiglas aurait dû nourrir les conversations, tous les invités eurent l’attention détournée par les performances en temps réel de cette opération marketing sans précédent. Ils eurent les yeux rivés sur cette vente éclair swisso-helvétique. En ces temps malmenés, qui pourrait vendre tant de montres en si peu de temps? Sur le flanc de chaque montre, une plaque en acier issue de cette coulée sacrilège a été apposée. Elle porte l’inscription, façon plaque apposée sur vieilles machines de fabrique, «Magma of Respect». Respect inconditionnel pour une poignée de noms horlogers parmi les plus institutionnels, des marques respectables qui se seraient peut-être bien passées de cet acte sacrificiel emmenant au bûcher leurs modèles sacrés: une Nautilus de Patek Philippe, une Daytona de Rolex, une Royal Oak d’Audermars Piguet, Une Panthère de Cartier.

Evidemment, la double-lecture s’impose. Et si une parcelle du luxe inaccessible incarné par ces monstres sacrés de la haute-horlogerie se laissait acquérir à moins de 1’000 francs?

DE LA RUE À LA BANQUE, HUMEURS FRONDEUSES
Inspiré par les expressions artistiques d’une street culture intelligemment introduite dans l’univers micromécanique de l’horlogerie d’excellence, sans jamais sombrer dans le trash, Yvan Arpa se défendra toujours d’être un provocateur. Mauvaise foi? Lorsqu’il utilise des ailes de papillons pour mieux colorer ses cadrans, n’imaginez pas qu’il nargue la SPA. Lorsqu’il met des balles réelles dans les cadrans de ses montres, ce n’est pas par apologie de la guerre, mais pour souligner que de telles munitions sont bien mieux à cet endroit, domptées par un esthète improbable, qu’à se balader à l’air libre sur des champs de bataille. Lorsqu’il transcende les riches nervures d’un morceau de cropolite, des excréments de dinosaure fossilisé, et qu’il s’exclame en un mémorable slogan Is it cheat, yes it is! c’est comme pour s’insurger, en pleine foire horlogère, contre les monotonies créatives alentours. Alors, pour couronner le tout, il servira ses précieux garde-temps sur du cuir crapaud-buffle du plus bel effet, pied de nez au noble alligator généreusement adoubé. Il entrera même au musée, à la Vallée de Joux, le temps d’une exposition dédiée au design: sa collection stylisant l’extrémité d’une guitare dispose d’une silhouette qui se reconnaît de loin.

Durant la semaine que dure le SIHH 2018, en marge des autoroutes de la fréquentation convenue, sûr que quelques visiteurs triés, clients, détaillants, distributeurs et journalistes, s’offriront le détour par cette exposition aussi complète qu’instructive. Un hommage vivant et au passage, un message de suissitude à l’adresse de ces grandes fortunes qui pourraient avoir rendez-vous avec leur banquier dans l’un des salons privés attenant. Et qui pourraient donc, au sortir d’un entretien sur la gestion de leurs avoirs, acquérir une parcelle de magie horlogère.

Exposition ArtyA, 1er étage. Siège genevois de l’UBS, 35 rue des Noirettes, Acacias Genève. Jusqu’en février 2018.

http://www.artya.com

https://magma.qa