English English French French

INTERVIEWS: LIVIA FIRTH

"Before buying a garment ask yourself: will I wear it 30 once?"

17 September 2016

[Click on the image to see the gallery]

Livia Firth, the founder of the consulting agency Eco Age is trying to convince the world to consume more consciously and brands to produce fairly. She calls for a revolution in the world of fashion and denounces the false myths of the fast fashion. Meeting with a charming eco-warrior. - Isabelle Cerboneschi

L

On the day of our meeting, Livia Firth wore a coral-colored dress slightly shaded with thin straps and embroidery on the front. It was in Cannes, on the terrace occupied by Chopard, with whom she collaborates very closely, during the festival where all the women, all the actresses are the standard bearer of their favorite brands. Wearing this dress, which had belonged to his mother, Livia Firth, the wife of the actor Colin Firth, was the spokesperson of fair fashion. "This dress is 60 years old," she says. She belonged to my mother ". How many times has she been worn? No doubt much more than 30 times ...

Livia Firth began her fight for responsible trade in 2009 when she opened with her brother Nicola Giuggioli and her husband, Colin Firth, a shop in London called Eco-Age, where one could find objects of design and eco-friendly decoration.

Then there was this revelation, when her husband was appointed to Golden Globes for his role in A single man, from Tom Ford. It started as a game: the English journalist Lucy Siegle had sent her a challenge: why would not she wear an eco-responsible clothing for the ceremony? Livia Firth arrived at the evening in a wedding dress reconverted in evening dress. This challenge gave birth to Green Carpet Challenge, or how to transform the rise of steps and the red carpet evenings into an eco-conscious act.

FASHION AND ECO-CONSCIOUSNESS
The agency Eco-Age, today, works as a consulting firm that supports companies towards an eco-responsible business model, and this, at all levels of the production chain. The agency works with companies like the Gucci Group, Stella McCartney, Net-à-Porter, Erdem, Marks & Spencer, to name a few. Chopard too. Caroline Scheufele, vice-president of the house, was the first to have adopted Livia Firth's speech in the field of fine jewelery. Since 2013, it launches every year on the occasion of the Cannes Film Festival a collection Green Carpet, ethical jewels made with gold Fairmined, an ore extracted from a sustainable Colombian mine supported by theAlliance for Responsible Mining and diamonds from an operator certified by the Responsible Jewelery Council. And this year, Chopard has announced a collaboration with Gemfields, the leading producer of responsible color stones.

The battle horse of Livia Firth? Push the marks of the fast fashion to change models and slow down their production until they produce only half. Every year, 1,5 billion garments are sewn by about 40 million people working in 250'000 factories installed mainly in the least developed countries of the world. An industry that would bring 3 trillions of dollars. At this rate, it is not surprising to learn that the fourth richest man in the world is Amancio Ortega Gaona, the owner of Zara, according to Forbes.

Livia Firth has a motto: "Whenever you want to give yourself a dress, ask yourself if you are going to wear it at least 30 times. You will see that you will leave the store very often empty-handed ". It does not condemn fashion, it just tries to put a little more awareness in this universe: whether on the side of buyers, or the side of brands that produce, including subcontractors.

Livia Firth does not just give advice, interviews, and attend conferences. She goes on the field, meets the workers and the workers. She has also produced the documentary The True Cost, by Andrew Morgan,who denounces precisely the system of the fast fashion. "In 2009, I went to Bangladesh with journalist Lucy Siegle and I understood the impact of what I was wearing on my back. It was like a cold shower, "she says. Livia Firth visited factories in Ethiopia, Zambia, Kenya. She met these women who produce 100 parts per hour, for a ridiculous salary. "Clothing with an average life of five weeks!"

IC: Last May, at the 2016 Fashion Summit in Copenhagen, you mentioned the bastardisation, the popularization of fashion. what do you mean?
Livia Firth:
With the advent of the last twenty years of the fast-fashion and the monopoly of the marks high street, we were sold the myth that this fashion was democratic, because it would be our right to be able to buy us a T-shirt for 5 euros, a dress for 15 or 40 euros. However, by buying these products, nobody thinks of the repercussions of this gesture. Fashion has become so cheap that, paradoxically, we do not really save money, we spend a lot, because this fashion is disposable: we buy a garment, we wear it a few times and then we get rid of it . If you look at the list of the biggest fortunes of the magazine Forbes, the fourth richest man in the world is Amancio Ortega Gaona founder of Inditex, who owns Zara, and Sweden's richest man is Stefan Persson of H & M (who owns 28% stake in the company created by his father, ed). These brands have not become multi-billion dollar companies thanks to poor people who have a hard time buying clothes. They have become multimillionaires because we keep buying, it's a compulsion. If you see the documentary The True Cost, you understand that this is today part of our culture. These myths must be desacralized: what seems to be democratization is not democratic.

In what sense is this cheap fashion not democratic?
It's the democracy of whom? Certainly not that of women in Bangladesh or Burma who produce for brands of fast-fashion. These companies make us believe that this system is good for the development of the poor countries, that they create many opportunities, generate a lot of money for the countries, and that without them these people would live in precariousness. But in fact these people are poor and manipulated: they are the slaves of a circle of poverty from which they can not go out. There is no possible progression for the workers who make clothes in these factories. It is impossible for them to evolve from simple cadres to managers, or even why not directors. There is no future, no advancement possible. The turnover of the company increases at their expense.

Many closets are full of compulsive shopping. What is your advice before buying a garment?
For my part, I buy very little. For years, I invested in pieces that I knew I could wear all my life. All my clothes are old. And if I buy something new today, I first wonder if the quality is good, if I will want to wear it for several years, if I still want to put it when I have 60 years, for how many occasions I could put it ...

It's a very wise, very old school to consume.
We have to go back, think about how we spend our money. A friend of mine, an Italian economist who appears in the documentary The True Costexplains how sad today is, because we do not always have enough money to provide training, education, health, for many things in our lives, but we still have enough to buy us crap that gives us the illusion of being good, of feeling rich. Our economic system and the business world are completely biased, distorted. And it has become extremely difficult to get out. Instead of talking about "green initiatives," "recycling weeks," "organic collections," the brands of the fast fashion should take the lead, lead the way and completely change their business model. Instead of presenting 50 collections a year, they would have to produce only half of them, to increase prices a little, to prove that their clothes are durable. These brands can not continue to produce this volume and do it in an ethical and sustainable way, that's impossible.

You know the underworld of fashion, we talked a lot about the collapse of Rana Plaza in 2013 in Bangladesh where 1134 people died while working for the fast fashion but how to make consumers aware of all this and make them understand that the cheap can kill?
Two things: the first, we must continue to have these conversations. Fashion is a feminist issue: as women, we should support women at the very bottom of the supply chain. We should all realize that behind a garment we bought, there is another woman who sewed it, who embroidered it for us. We must respect this woman, so we must take this as a feminist issue. At the Copenhagen Fashion Summit, the Princess of Denmark raised the fact that everyone is talking about gender equality, but gender equality must also exist in the clothing industry. In this world of fashion, 80% of the working force is composed of women, 80% on 40 million employees! So if you want to solve the problem of gender equality in the world, you have to start at the bottom, through the production lines. Women must create a bond of feminine solidarity. Second, we have to change the way we buy, and that's why we launched the campaign Thirty wears.

What is this campaign, Thirty wears?We must become active citizens again. When you are about to buy a garment telling you I love it, I must!, stop and ask yourself this question: will I wear it at least 30 times? If the answer is yes, buy it. But you will be surprised how many times the answer will be no. And at that moment, put it on the shelves. The hashtag from the campaign on Instagram, is #thirtywears.If you want to participate, you must commit to wearing each piece of clothing at least 30 times. Otherwise, give up. This is THE solution. We must stop consuming without thinking. We started to wonder about the food we put in our body, but not yet about what we put on our body. We want to know where our chicken, our beef, our vegetables come from: we have to start thinking the same way about our clothes. Because every day we do two things, whatever happens: we eat and we dress. So we have tremendous power! The world is not led by naked people. When you think of fashion in this way, you feel invested with a force. We can influence the course of things. It's up to us to take control.

A very moving short film was presented at the Copenhagen conference: you could see a woman who was dressing in front of a mirror and in this mirror, while she was putting on her clothes she saw the faces of all those who had participated in the development of her dress.
Oh yes, it was called Hand Print, the imprint of the hand. Instead of talking about footprintswe chose to talk about the print of all the little hands behind each dress. There are so many people, so many women, behind a garment! Why, God, do we make them suffer all this? On the 1134 people who died when the Rana Plaza collapsed, the majority were women. They died for us, for our clothes! When we think about that, we really want to cry forever. This should never happen.

You told me that the dress you were wearing belonged to your mother.
Yes. I did not show you the picture of my mother? We see her here dancing with my father. She kept a lot of clothes that my sister and I kept. In this photo, taken in 1968, she is wearing the dress I'm wearing. She had it made by a Florence tailor, it was a cocktail dress that was worth a certain amount at that time, but it still exists and I always put it! If you divide the price of this dress by the number of times it was worn, finally it was not so expensive! My Stella McCartney pants, for example, are much cheaper than my H & M pants. Those of Stella McCartney, I keep them at least ten years, the others, a few months at best. This is called the Cost per wear: the price of the piece divided by the number of days it was worn.

When we talk about fashion vintage, some people consider that this term is antinomic, because fashion must show the present and anticipate the future and not the past. What do you think?
Fashion is a reflection of who we are. We should never wear something that someone imposes on us just because it's fashionable. I have never been TrendyI always dressed with things that I loved, and that they were vintage or futuristic, I do not care. Moreover, fashion knows cycles and a tendency always ends up returning. Last year, we saw the return of fashion elephant-style trousersEventies, but I had those of my mother dating back to the 70 years. Fashion goes and comes back. Something you buy today can become vintage in twenty years. The dress I wore for an evening last night is signed Alice Temperley and date 2003. In a sense, it's a dress vintage. When I bought it, it cost me a lot, but I love it: she is thirteen and I love her just as much. It is a dress that I will put with pleasure. We manufacture our own vintage.

But if all women go shopping in their own closets, who will buy the fashion that arrives in the stores?
I am 46 years old. When I was young, there were no marks of fast-fashion. There were ready-to-wear fashion designers and more commercial brands that offered quality things, but cheap clothes did not exist. How did we dress, how did this branch make money? It was different. Today, we consume resources equivalent to two planets, and this movement has accelerated over the last twenty years. So if we want to be concerned about climate change, about the refugee crisis, we have to stop consuming as we do. Today, do our socks have a hole? We throw them away. We want to eat mashed potatoes? We go to the supermarket to buy ready-made mashed potatoes. We are losing our cell phone charger? We buy a new one. It's too much! We must stop and rethink our system as a whole. We must all do it or we will be gone in twenty years.

Is there a brand, a group that already takes this issue into account?
A few years ago, François-Henri Pinault launched at the level of the whole Kering Group a sustainability strategy integrated into his business plan. Last year, it was the first company in the world to publish an environmental-based profit and loss statement called EP & L (Environmental profit and loss account, an environmental profit and loss account, editor's note). They calculated the impact of their activities on the environment at all levels of the supply chain. This impact has been translated into monetary value and reported as profit or loss. That's what each company should do. Mr. Pinault has a long-term vision, because he knows that if he wants his business to generate profits in twenty years, we must take into account these issues today. Many companies are starting to understand the issues, realize that they have to change their model, evolve, otherwise their business will be finito!

You hope things change? The future is very gloomy, but I have children so I must be optimistic, I must.

A version of this article has been published in the Special Occasion of the Time Mode on 17 September 2016

"Every day we do two things, whatever happens: we eat and dress. So we have a huge influence: the world is not led by naked people. When we think of fashion in this way we feel invested with enormous power. It's up to us to take control. "

INTERVIEWS: LIVIA FIRTH

“Avant d’acheter un vêtement demandez-vous: vais-je le porter 30 fois?”

17 septembre 2016

[Cliquez sur l’image pour voir la galerie]

Livia Firth, la fondatrice de l’agence de consulting Eco Age essaie de convaincre le monde de consommer de manière plus consciente et les marques de produire de manière équitable. Elle appelle de ses vœux une révolution dans l’univers de la mode et dénonce les faux mythes de la fast fashion. Rencontre avec une éco-guerrière de charme. – Isabelle Cerboneschi

L

e jour de notre rencontre, Livia Firth portait une robe couleur corail à la teinte légèrement passée avec de fines bretelles et des broderies sur le devant. C’était à Cannes, sur la terrasse occupée par Chopard, avec qui elle collabore très étroitement, pendant le festival où toutes les femmes, toutes les actrices se font le porte-drapeau de leurs marques favorites. En portant cette robe-là, qui avait appartenu à sa mère, Livia Firth, l’épouse de l’acteur Colin Firth, se faisait, elle, la porte-parole d’une mode équitable. “Cette robe a 60 ans, dit-elle. Elle a appartenu à ma mère”. Combien de fois a-t-elle été portée? Sans doute bien plus de 30 fois…

 

Livia Firth a commencé sa lutte pour le commerce responsable en 2009 lorsqu’elle a ouvert avec son frère Nicola Giuggioli et son mari, Colin Firth, une boutique à Londres baptisée Eco-Age, où l’on pouvait trouver des objets de design et de décoration éco-responsables.

 

Puis il y eut cette révélation, lors de la nomination de son époux aux Golden Globes pour son rôle dans A Single Man, de Tom Ford. Cela a commencé comme un jeu: la journaliste anglaise Lucy Siegle lui avait lancé un défi: pourquoi ne porterait-elle pas un vêtement éco-responsable pour la cérémonie? Livia Firth est ainsi arrivée à la soirée dans une robe de mariée reconvertie en robe de soirée. Ce défi a donné naissance au Green Carpet Challenge, ou comment transformer la montée des marches et les soirées tapis rouge en acte éco-conscient.

 

MODE ET ÉCO-CONSCIENCE

L’agence Eco-Age, aujourd’hui, fonctionne comme un cabinet de consulting qui accompagne les entreprises vers un business modèle éco-responsable, et ce, à tous les niveaux de la chaîne de production. L’agence travaille avec des compagnies comme le Gucci Group, Stella McCartney, Net-à- porter, Erdem, Marks & Spencer, pour ne citer qu’eux. Chopard aussi. Caroline Scheufele, vice-présidente de la maison, fut la première à avoir fait sien le discours de Livia Firth dans le domaine de la haute joaillerie. Depuis 2013, elle lance chaque année à l’occasion du Festival de Cannes une collection Green Carpet, soit des parures éthiques fabriquées avec de l’or fairmined, un minerai extrait d’une mine colombienne durable soutenue par l’Alliance for Responsible Mining et des diamants provenant d’un exploitant certifié par le Responsible Jewellery Council. Et cette année, Chopard a annoncé une collaboration avec Gemfields, le principal producteur de pierres de couleur responsables.

 

Le cheval de bataille de Livia Firth? Pousser les marques de la fast fashion à changer de modèle et à ralentir leur production jusqu’à ne produire que la moitié. Chaque année, ce sont 1,5 milliard de vêtements qui sont cousus par environ 40 millions de personnes travaillant dans 250’000 usines installées principalement dans les pays les moins développés du monde. Une industrie qui rapporterait 3 billions de dollars. A ce rythme, on ne s’étonne pas d’apprendre que le quatrième homme le plus riche du monde soit Amancio Ortega Gaona, le propriétaire de Zara, selon Forbes.

 

Livia Firth a un mot d’ordre: “Chaque fois que vous voulez vous offrir une robe, demandez-vous si vous allez la porter au moins 30 fois. Vous verrez que vous repartirez très souvent du magasin les mains vides”. Elle ne condamne pas la mode, elle essaie juste de mettre un peu plus de conscience dans cet univers: que ce soit du côté des acheteurs, ou du côté des marques qui produisent, y compris les sous-traitants.

 

Livia Firth ne se contente pas de donner des conseils, des interviews, et de participer à des conférences. Elle va sur le terrain, rencontre les ouvriers et les ouvrières. Elle a d’ailleurs produit le documentaire The True Cost, d’Andrew Morgan, qui dénonce justement le système de la fast fashion. “En 2009, je me suis rendue au Bangladesh avec la journaliste Lucy Siegle et j’ai compris l’impact de ce que je portais sur le dos. Cela a été comme une douche froide”, dit- elle. Livia Firth a visité des usines en Ethiopie, en Zambie, au Kenya. Elle a rencontré ces femmes qui produisent 100 pièces par heure, pour un salaire ridicule. “Des vêtements dont la durée de vie moyenne est de cinq semaines!”

 

I.C: En mai dernier, lors du Sommet de la Mode 2016 de Copenhague, vous avez évoqué la bastardisation, la vulgarisation de la mode. Qu’entendez-vous par là? Livia Firth: Avec l’avènement ces vingt dernières années de la fast-fashion et le monopole des marques high street, on nous a vendu le mythe que cette mode-là était démocratique, parce que ce serait notre droit de pouvoir nous acheter un T-shirt pour 5 euros, une robe pour 15 ou 40 euros. Or, en achetant ces produits, personne ne pense aux répercussions de ce geste. La mode est devenue tellement bon marché que, paradoxalement, nous n’économisons pas vraiment d’argent, nous en dépensons beaucoup, car cette mode-là est jetable: nous achetons un vêtement, nous le portons quelques fois et ensuite nous nous en débarrassons. Si vous regardez la liste des plus grandes fortunes du magazine Forbes, le quatrième homme le plus riche du monde est Amancio Ortega Gaona fondateur d’Inditex, à qui appartient Zara, et l’homme le plus riche de Suède est Stefan Persson de H&M (qui possède 28% des parts de la société créée par son père, ndlr). Ces marques ne sont pas devenues des compagnies multimilliardaires grâce à des gens démunis qui ont du mal à pouvoir s’acheter des vêtements. Elles sont devenues multimilliardaires, car nous n’arrêtons pas d’acheter, c’est une compulsion. Si vous voyez le documentaire The True Cost, vous comprenez que cela fait aujourd’hui partie de notre culture. Il faut désacraliser ces mythes: ce qui semble être une démocratisation n’est pas démocratique.  

Dans quel sens cette mode pas chère n’est-elle pas démocratique?

C’est la démocratie de qui? Certainement pas celle des femmes au Bangladesh ou en Birmanie qui produisent pour les marques de fast-fashion. Ces entreprises nous font croire que ce système est bon pour le développement des pays pauvres, qu’elles créent beaucoup d’opportunités, génèrent beaucoup d’argent pour les pays, et que sans elles ces gens vivraient dans la précarité. Mais en fait ces gens sont pauvres et manipulés: ils sont les esclaves d’un cercle de pauvreté dont ils ne peuvent sortir. Il n’y a aucune progression possible pour les ouvriers qui fabriquent des vêtements au sein de ces fabriques. Il est impossible pour eux d’évoluer de simples ouvriers à cadres, ou même pourquoi pas directeurs. Il n’y a aucun avenir, aucun avancement possible. Le chiffre d’affaires de l’entreprise augmente à leurs dépens.

 

Beaucoup de placards sont remplis d’achats compulsifs. Quel est votre conseil avant d’acheter un vêtement?

Pour ma part, j’achète très peu. Durant des années, j’ai investi dans des pièces que je savais pouvoir porter toute ma vie. Tous mes habits sont vieux. Et si j’achète quelque chose de neuf aujourd’hui, je me demande d’abord si la qualité est bonne, si je vais avoir envie de le porter pendant plusieurs années, si j’aurai encore envie de le mettre quand j’aurai 60 ans, pour combien d’occasions je pourrais le mettre…

 

C’est une manière très sage, très old school de consommer.

On doit revenir en arrière, réfléchir à la manière dont nous dépensons notre argent. Un de mes amis, un économiste italien qui apparaît dans le documentaire The True Cost, explique à quel point ce qui se passe de nos jours est triste, car nous n’avons pas toujours assez de moyens pour assurer la formation, l’éducation, la santé, pour beaucoup de choses dans nos vies, mais nous en avons toujours assez pour nous acheter des saloperies qui nous donnent l’illusion d’être bien, de nous sentir riches. Notre système économique et le monde des affaires sont complètement biaisés, faussés. Et il est devenu extrêmement complexe d’en sortir. Au lieu de parler «d’initiatives vertes», de «semaines du recyclage», de «collections organiques», les marques de la fast fashion devraient prendre les devants, montrer la voie et modifier complètement leur modèle d’entreprise. Au lieu de présenter 50 collections par année, il faudrait qu’elles n’en produisent que la moitié, qu’elles augmentent un peu les prix, qu’elles prouvent que leurs habits sont durables. Ces marques ne peuvent pas continuer à produire ce volume et le faire d’une manière éthique et durable, c’est impossible.

 

Vous connaissez les dessous du monde de la mode, on a beaucoup parlé de l’effondrement du Rana Plaza en 2013 au Bangladesh où 1134 personnes sont mortes en travaillant pour la fast fashion mais comment faire prendre conscience de tout ceci aux consommateurs et leur faire comprendre que le pas cher peut tuer?

Deux choses: la première, nous devons continuer à avoir ces conversations. La mode est une problématique féministe: en tant que femmes, nous devrions soutenir celles qui sont tout en bas de la chaîne d’approvisionnement. Nous devrions toutes réaliser que derrière un vêtement que nous avons acheté, il y a une autre femme qui l’a cousu, qui l’a brodé pour nous. Nous devons respecter cette femme, donc nous devons prendre ceci comme une question féministe. Lors du Sommet de la Mode de Copenhague, la princesse du Danemark a soulevé le fait que tout le monde parle d’égalité des sexes, mais l’égalité des sexes doit aussi exister dans l’industrie du vêtement. Dans cet univers de la mode, 80% de la force ouvrière est composée des femmes, 80% sur 40 millions d’employés! Donc si vous voulez régler le problème de l’égalité des genres dans le monde, il faut commencer tout en bas, par les chaînes de fabrication. Les femmes doivent créer un lien de solidarité féminine. Deuxièmement, il faut changer la manière d’acheter, et c’est pour cela que nous avons lancé la campagne Thirty wears.

 

Qu’est-ce que cette campagne, Thirty wears? Nous devons redevenir des citoyens actifs. Quand vous vous apprêtez à acheter un vêtement en vous disant je l’aime, il me le faut!, arrêtez-vous et posez-vous cette question: vais-je le porter au minimum 30 fois? Si la réponse est oui, achetez-le. Mais vous serez surprise du nombre de fois où la réponse sera non. Et à ce moment-là, reposez-le dans les rayons. Le hashtag de la campagne sur Instagram, est #thirtywears. Si vous voulez y participer, vous devez vous engager à porter chaque vêtement au moins 30 fois. Sinon renoncez. C’est LA solution. Nous devons arrêter de consommer sans réfléchir. Nous avons commencé à nous interroger sur la nourriture que nous mettions dans notre corps, mais pas encore sur ce que nous mettons sur notre corps. Nous voulons savoir d’où viennent notre poulet, notre viande de bœuf, nos légumes: nous devons commencer à penser de la même manière vis-à-vis de nos vêtements. Car chaque jour, nous faisons deux choses, quoi qu’il arrive: nous mangeons et nous nous habillons. Nous avons donc un pouvoir énorme! Le monde n’est pas dirigé par des gens nus. Quand on pense à la mode de cette façon, on se sent investi d’une force. Nous pouvons influencer le cours des choses. C’est à nous de prendre le contrôle.  

Un court métrage très émouvant a été présenté lors de la conférence de Copenhague: on y voyait une femme qui s’habillait devant un miroir et dans ce miroir, tandis qu’elle enfilait ses vêtements elle voyait les visages de tous ceux qui avaient participé à l’élaboration de sa robe.

Ah oui, cela s’appelait Hand Print, l’empreinte de la main. Au lieu de parler de footprints, on a choisi de parler de l’empreinte de toutes les petites mains derrière chaque robe. Il y a tellement de gens, tellement de femmes, derrière un vêtement! Pourquoi, mon Dieu, leur faisons-nous subir tout cela? Sur les 1134 personnes qui sont mortes lorsque le Rana Plaza s’est écroulé, la majorité était des femmes. Elles sont mortes pour nous, pour nos vêtements! Quand on pense à ça, on a vraiment envie de pleurer pour toujours. Ceci ne devrait jamais arriver.

 

Vous m’avez dit que la robe que vous portez avait appartenu à votre mère. Oui. Je ne vous ai pas montré la photo de ma mère? On la voit ici qui danse avec mon père. Elle gardait beaucoup d’habits que ma sœur et moi avons conservés. Sur cette photo, prise en 1968, elle porte la robe que je porte. Elle l’avait fait réaliser par un tailleur de Florence, c’était une tenue de cocktail qui valait une certaine somme à cette époque, or elle existe encore et je la mets toujours! Si vous divisez le prix de cette robe par le nombre de fois où elle aura été portée, finalement elle n’était pas si chère! Mes pantalons signés Stella McCartney par exemple me reviennent bien moins cher que mes pantalons de H&M. Ceux de Stella McCartney, je les garde au moins dix ans, les autres, quelques mois au mieux. C’est ce qu’on appelle le Cost per wear: le prix de la pièce divisé par le nombre de jours où elle aura été portée.  

Quand on parle de mode vintage, certaines personnes considèrent que ce terme est antinomique, car la mode doit montrer le présent et anticiper le futur et non le passé. Qu’en pensez-vous?

La mode est le reflet de la personne que nous sommes. Nous ne devrions jamais porter quelque chose que quelqu’un nous impose rien que parce que c’est à la mode. Je n’ai jamais été trendy, je me suis toujours habillée avec des choses que j’aimais, et qu’elles soient vintage ou futuriste, je m’en fiche. Par ailleurs, la mode connaît des cycles et une tendance finit toujours par revenir. L’année dernière, on a vu revenir la mode des pantalons à pattes d’éléphant style seventies, or j’avais ceux de ma mère qui dataient des années 70. La mode va et revient. Quelque chose que vous achetez aujourd’hui pourra devenir vintage dans vingt ans. La robe que j’ai portée pour une soirée hier soir est signée Alice Temperley et date de 2003. Dans un sens, c’est une robe vintage. Quand je l’ai achetée, elle m’a coûté très cher, mais je l’adore: elle a treize ans et je l’aime tout autant. C’est une robe que je remettrai avec plaisir. Nous fabriquons notre propre vintage.

 

Mais si toutes les femmes se mettent à faire du shopping dans leurs propres placards, qui achètera la mode qui arrive dans les magasins? J’ai 46 ans. Quand j’étais jeune, il n’y avait pas de marques de fast-fashion. Il y avait le prêt-à-porter des couturiers et des marques plus commerciales qui proposaient des choses de qualité, mais les vêtements bon marché n’existaient pas. Comment faisions-nous pour nous habiller, comment cette branche faisait-elle son argent? C’était différent. Aujourd’hui, nous consumons des ressources équivalentes à deux planètes, et ce mouvement s’est accéléré ces vingt dernières années. Donc si nous voulons nous préoccuper du changement climatique, de la crise des réfugiés, il faut que nous arrêtions de consommer comme nous le faisons. Aujourd’hui, nos chaussettes ont un trou? Nous les jetons. Nous avons envie de manger de la purée de pommes de terre? Nous allons au supermarché acheter de la purée toute prête. Nous perdons notre chargeur de téléphone portable? Nous en achetons un nouveau. C’est trop! Il faut que nous nous arrêtions et repensions notre système dans sa globalité. Nous devons tous le faire sinon nous aurons disparu dans vingt ans.  

Y-a-t-il une marque, un groupe qui prenne déjà cette problématique en compte? Il y a déjà quelques années, François-Henri Pinault a lancé au niveau de tout le groupe Kering une stratégie de durabilité intégrée dans son business plan. L’année dernière, c’était la première compagnie au monde à publier un bilan de pertes et profits basé sur l’environnement appelé EP&L (Environmental profit and loss account, soit un compte de résultat environnemental, ndlr). Ils ont calculé l’impact de leurs activités sur l’environnement à tous les niveaux de la chaîne d’approvisionnement. Cet impact a été traduit en valeur monétaire et reporté en tant que profit ou perte. C’est d’ailleurs ce que chaque compagnie devrait faire. Monsieur Pinault a une vision à long terme, car il sait que s’il souhaite que son business dégage des profits dans vingt ans, il faut prendre en compte ces problématiques aujourd’hui. De nombreuses entreprises commencent à comprendre les enjeux, prennent conscience qu’ils doivent changer de modèle, évoluer, sinon leur business sera finito!  

Vous avez l’espoir que les choses changent? Le futur est très morose, mais j’ai des enfants donc je dois être optimiste, je le dois.    

Une version de cet article a été publiée dans le Hors-Série Mode du Temps le 17 septembre 2016

“Chaque jour, nous faisons deux choses, quoi qu’il arrive: nous mangeons et nous nous habillons. Donc nous avons une énorme influence: le monde n’est pas dirigé par des gens nus. Quand on pense à la mode de cette façon on se sent investi d’un énorme pouvoir. C’est à nous de prendre le contrôle.”