English English French French

GemGeneva, carats and wonders

April 10 2018

[Click on the image to see the gallery]

The first edition of GemGeneve will take place from 10 to 13 in Geneva. Initiated by two dealers in precious stones and antique jewelry, Ronny Totah and Thomas Faerber, the show is already a success: about 150 exhibitors and the waiting list is growing. Merchants and lapidaries met in New York are eagerly awaiting their arrival in Geneva. - Isabelle Cerboneschi, back from New York.

For decades, Ronny Totah and Thomas Faerber did what they did best; buy antique jewellery, Burmese sapphires, natural pearls, jewels of royal provenance, precious stones, they exposed them at fairs and shows, sold them, sometimes kept.

For decades, Ronny Totah and Thomas Faerber have built their reputation as they build a solid home for future generations. They have done their job with the passion that drives them, with their intuitions, trying to get a chance on their side, because every purchase is a risk taking. They made some mistakes too, "because the one who does not make it is not a good merchant," confides Thomas Faerber.

That's what Ronny Totah and Thomas Faerber have done for decades. They have known each other since 40 years. This makes for many fairs shared. And then in 2016, tired of not finding a fair that takes into account the real needs of their profession, they had the idea to create it. They talked; with partners, traders, friends, and without insurance, without guarantee of result, all followed them. They are highly respected names in the jewellery world, William Goldberg, Michael Gad, Yafa, Maria Canale, the GIA, the Gübelin Gem Lab, to name but a few of the 150 exhibitors.

The Genesis of GemGeneva?

"GemGeneva was born from two wills that had not at first, agreed says Ronny Totah. But it was in the air. Thomas and I, each on our side, thought it was time to create a tailor-made show for our job and we ended up talking about the same thing. "" And this adventure, this madness could we say, is coming to fruition! Thomas Faerber continues. It's exciting because we learnt so much. Even if we were organising an event; we were previously in our offices, each working for ourselves, and here we are united in order to achieve something for our entire profession. "

The two men have been working tirelessly for eight months on this project, with the enthusiasm of two young people startuppers who hope that the show will live up to their dream and the expectations of the exhibitors. I had the privilege of being able to follow them for a few days in New York, in the discreet offices of the merchants of 48th Street. Ronny Totah and Thomas Faerber have admired some of the pieces that will be presented at GemGeneva, Colombian emerald suites at Emco, Ashoka®-size diamond trinkets at William Goldberg, "if they are not sold by then" , historical jewelry signed Cartier, Van Cleef & Arpels, Boucheron. But contrary to their habits, they did not come to New York to do business: just to talk about GemGeneva.

This show will highlight merchants and stonecutters, antique jewellery sellers, treasure hunters. "We travel all around the world, in Switzerland, in Hong Kong, all over the United States, we go to shows, auctions, we meet private customers to find all these pieces. It happens that we come across a jewel by chance. It's a quest, "says Maurice Moradof, the founder of Yafa, who we met at the offices of William Goldberg.

"All the exhibitors are small and medium-sized family businesses, with a boss, a philosophy, an ethics behind it" says Faerber. We created this salon to support our brotherhood, we occupy niches and we bring knowledge that only individuals can bring to our area. "

"I think GemGeneva is going to be an exceptional show, a great experience," says Moradof. The quality of the exhibitors that the organisers have chosen is really high. And when you put so many great people in one place, wonderful things happen".

All this adventure did not start in 2016, but well before. "It started in 1970 for Thomas, 1980 for me, says Ronny Totah. These are all the years in which we have built relationships of trust with the players in this industry that have allowed us to think up GemGenève and ensure that they follow us. As well as alongside our four internationally renowned gemological laboratories: GIA, Gübelin Gem Lab, SSEF and GemTechLab. "

The waiting of the exhibitors is great. "The previous shows have disappointed us and we are all looking forward to GemGeneve: all the traders in our industry are hyper optimistic and we look forward to doing great business together," said Justin Sachmechi of Michael Gad, presenting me a finery set with diamonds and 13 emeralds from Colombia carved in pear totaling 58,36 carats.

These shows are just the only way this industry has to open up and show themselves to the world. However, confronting "organisers who must sell square meters" almost every month and who do not do much to meet the needs of the exhibitors, can't exist in the long run. "We designed this show by putting ourselves in the shoes of those who organise, those who visit, but above all those who exhibit," says Ronny Totah. We now all have an exhibition created by two people who are organising it from the inside out. Our adventure is a family affair. "

Geneva, the beating heart of the world of jewellery

Between the International Salon of Haute Horlogerie (SIHH) in January, GemGeneve in May, The EPHJ-EPMT-SMT - the World Fair of High-precision that brings together the subcontractors of watchmaking, in June, with 850 exhibitors gathered on 36'000 m2 exhibition, and auctions in May and November, it is the whole of a profession that is represented in Geneva. "It puts the city back in the place it should never have lost," says Ronny Totah. "If Basel is a focal point for presenting watches, jewellery needs to be displayed in a different environment Geneva. is the place to be"says Ursula Piekut, director of sales and marketing at Maria Canale Jewellery.

The show will be held the same week as the auctions and there will be a GemGeneve desk at Christie's. The two big houses Christie's and Sotheby's will offer some visibility to this new event. A virtuous circle in short: the customers of one are the customers of others.

Seventeen countries and all religions will be represented, and "we will all be peacefully together," says Faerber. "Together" is a word that we hear very little in salons, nowadays ...

Given the enthusiasm generated by such an initiative, one can reasonably believe in the success of an economic model that would be based not on cynicism, arrogance, short-term vision and profitability at all costs, but on the future. experience, union, shared passion and respect for the word given.

* NB: I wanted so much to discover this secret world and to discover in preview of the exceptional jewels, that I took charge of my trip.

English English French French

GemGenève, des carats et des merveilles

10 avril 2018

[Cliquez sur l’image pour voir la galerie]

La première édition du salon GemGenève aura lieu du 10 au 13 mai à Genève. Initié par deux négociants en pierres précieuses et bijoux anciens, Ronny Totah et Thomas Faerber, le salon s’annonce déjà un succès: environ 150 exposants et la liste d’attente s’allonge. Les marchands et lapidaires rencontrés à New York attendent avec impatience leur venue à Genève. – Isabelle Cerboneschi, de retour de New York.

Pendant des dizaines d’années, Ronny Totah et Thomas Faerber ont fait ce qu’ils savaient faire le mieux: acheter des parures anciennes, des saphirs birmans, des perles naturelles, des bijoux de provenance royale, des pierres précieuses, ils les ont exposés lors de foires et de salons, les ont vendus, parfois gardés.

Pendant des décennies, Ronny Totah et Thomas Faerber ont construit leur réputation comme on bâtit une maison solide destinée à abriter les générations futures. Ils ont fait leur métier avec la passion qui les anime, avec leurs intuitions, essayant d’avoir la chance de leur côté, car chaque achat est une prise de risque. Ils ont fait quelques erreurs aussi, «car celui qui n’en fait pas n’est pas un bon marchand », confie Thomas Faerber.

Voilà ce que Ronny Totah et Thomas Faerber ont fait pendant des dizaines d’années. Ils se connaissent depuis 40 ans. Cela fait de nombreuses foires partagées. Et puis en 2016, las de ne trouver un salon qui prenne en compte les besoins réels de leur métier, ils ont eu l’idée de le créer. Ils en ont parlé autour d’eux, aux partenaires, aux négociants, aux amis, et sans assurance, sans garantie de résultat, ces derniers les ont suivis. Il s’agit de noms très respectés de la planète joaillière, William Goldberg, Michael Gad, Yafa, Maria Canale, le GIA, le Gübelin Gem Lab, pour ne citer qu’eux parmi quelques 150 exposants.

La génèse de GemGenève?

«GemGenève est né de deux volontés qui ne s’étaient pas concertées au début, souligne Ronny Totah. Mais c’était dans l’air. Thomas et moi, chacun de notre côté, nous pensions qu’il serait temps de créer un salon sur mesure pour notre métier et nous nous sommes retrouvés à parler de la même chose.» «Et cette aventure, cette folie pourrait-on dire, est en train de se concrétiser! poursuit Thomas Faerber. C’est passionnant car nous apprenons tellement de choses. Ne serait-ce que le fait d’organiser un évènement: nous étions auparavant dans nos bureaux, chacun travaillant pour soi, et là nous sommes unis afin de réaliser quelque chose pour l’ensemble de notre métier.»

Les deux hommes travaillent sans relâche depuis huit mois sur ce projet, avec l’enthousiasme de deux jeunes startuppers qui espèrent que le salon sera à la hauteur de leur rêve et des espérances des exposants. J’ai eu le privilège* de pouvoir les suivre pendant quelques jours à New York, dans les bureaux discrets des négociants de la 48ème rue. Ronny Totah et Thomas Faerber ont admiré certaines des pièces qui seront présentées à GemGenève, des suites d’émeraudes colombiennes chez Emco, des parures de diamants taille Ashoka® chez William Goldberg, « s’ils ne sont pas vendus d’ici-là », des bijoux historiques signées Cartier, Van Cleef & Arpels, Boucheron. Mais contrairement à leurs habitudes, ils ne sont pas venus à New York pour y faire des affaires: juste pour parler de GemGenève.

Ce salon va mettre en lumière des négociants et des tailleurs de pierres précieuses, des vendeurs de bijoux antiques, des chasseurs de trésor. «Nous voyageons tout autour du monde, en Suisse, à Hong Kong, dans tous les Etats-Unis, nous allons dans les salons, les ventes aux enchères, nous rencontrons des clients privés pour réussir à trouver toutes ces pièces. Il arrive que l’on tombe sur un bijou par hasard. C’est une quête», explique Maurice Moradof, le fondateur de Yafa, rencontré dans les bureaux de William Goldberg.

«Tous les exposants sont des petites et moyennes entreprises familiales, avec un patron, une philosophie, une éthique derrière, souligne Thomas Faerber. Nous avons créé ce salon pour faire vivre notre confrérie, nous occupons des niches et nous apportons des connaissances que seuls des individualités peuvent amener à notre branche.»

«Je pense que GemGenève va être un salon exceptionnel, une formidable expérience, confie Maurice Moradof. La qualité des exposants que les organisateurs ont choisis est vraiment très élevée. Et quand vous mettez autant de personnes formidables dans un même endroit, des choses magnifiques adviennent.»

Toute cette aventure n’a pas commencé en 2016, mais bien avant. «Elle a commencé en 1970 pour Thomas, en 1980 pour moi, relève Ronny Totah. Ce sont toutes ces années pendant lesquelles nous avons noué des relations de confiance avec les acteurs de cette industrie qui nous ont permis de penser GemGenève et faire en sorte que ces derniers nous suivent. De même que quatre laboratoires mondialement reconnus de gemmologie: GIA, Gübelin Gem Lab, SSEF et GemTechLab.»

L’attente des exposants est grande. «Les précédents salons nous ont déçus et nous sommes tous dans l’expectative de GemGenève: tous les négociants de notre industrie sont hyper optimistes et nous nous réjouissons de faire de belles affaires ensemble», explique Justin Sachmechi de Michael Gad, en me présentant une parure sertie de diamants et de 13 émeraudes de Colombie taillées en poire totalisant 58,36 carats.

Les foires et les salons, c’est un peu la seule manière que cette industrie a de s’ouvrir au monde. Or se confronter quasiment une fois par mois à des «organisateurs qui doivent surtout vendre des mètres carrés» et qui ne font pas grand chose pour répondre aux besoins des exposants, peut excéder à la longue. «Nous avons conçu ce salon en nous mettant à la fois dans la peau de ceux qui organisent, de ceux qui visitent mais avant tout de ceux qui exposent, souligne Ronny Totah. Ceux-ci ont désormais un salon organisé par deux personnes qui pensent comme eux. Notre aventure, c’est une family affair

Genève, le coeur battant du monde de la joaillerie

Entre le Salon International de la Haute Horlogerie (SIHH) en janvier, GemGenève en mai, L’EPHJ-EPMT-SMT – le Salon mondial de la haute-précision qui réunit les sous-traitants de l’horlogerie, en juin, avec 850 exposants réunis sur 36’000 m2 d’exposition, et les ventes aux enchères de mai et de novembre, c’est l’ensemble d’une profession qui est représentée à Genève. «Cela remet la ville à la place qu’elle n’aurait jamais dû perdre», dit Ronny Totah. «Si Bâle est un point central pour présenter les montres, les bijoux ont besoin d’être exposés dans un environnement différent, or Genève est The place to be, confie Ursula Piekut, directrice des ventes et du marketing chez Maria Canale Jewelry.

Le salon se tiendra la même semaine que les ventes aux enchères et il y aura un desk GemGenève chez Christie’s. Les deux grandes maisons que sont Christie’s et Sotheby’s offriront une certaine visibilité à ce nouvel évènement. Un cercle vertueux en somme: les clients des uns sont les clients des autres.

Dix-sept pays et toutes les religions seront représentées, et «nous serons tous paisiblement réunis ensemble», souligne Thomas Faerber. «Ensemble», voilà un mot que l’on entend très peu dans les salons, de nos jours…

Vu l’enthousiasme généré par une telle initiative, on peut raisonnablement croire à la réussite d’un modèle économique qui serait basé non pas sur le cynisme, l’arrogance, la vision à court terme et la rentabilité à tout prix, mais sur l’expérience, l’union, la passion commune et le respect de la parole donnée.

 

NB: J’avais tellement envie de découvrir ce monde secret et découvrir en avant-première des bijoux exceptionnels, que j’ai pris en charge mon voyage.